We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duckin' excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rye Restaurant

Rye Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rye Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cal Elliott's Rye is at heart a classic neighborhood restaurant. Rye's casual elegance offers something excellent for everyone, from an intimate dining experience to a festive group feast. Rye embodies Brooklyn's living and breathing history - a poignant example of how both past and present continue to coexist harmoniously on Williamsburg's south side. Rye, free from outside investors, remains true to the DIY spirit and history of the Brooklyn neighborhood in which it resides.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Duckin' excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Been here twice (on two separate NYC trips), excellent both times. Food, wine, cocktails, service all superb (thanks Danielle) – and if you come here and don't have the Long Island duck breast, you are seriously missing out.

We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I visited Rye with 6 friends recently. The cocktails are excellent and the bearded barmen (well they hall had beards the night we were there) know their drinks. Excellent food and very good service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Photografter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sets a high bar in Williamsburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently spent a week in Brooklyn and this was the first place we tried. It was great from start to finish and set the bar for the week of great food. Our waiter, David I think, was friendly, knowledgeable and totally professional. The food was delicious, fresh and innovative interpretations of classics. David's wine suggestions were spot on for the food. The restaurant was quirky and interesting with a great vibe. Definitely a go again spot !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutAndAbout1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Rye was recommended to us by the people we were staying with in Williamsburg. It turns out that this place happens to be an absolute gem of a place for a lazy brunch. Service was on point and the food was excellent in terms of taste, value and speed (in the event your brunch isn't so lazy)!!

Try the English style doughnuts!! A dozen!!

Helpful?
2 Thank MaidaValeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went for a drink only during happy hour - the old fashioned was very nice and they also did good non-alcoholic cocktails. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere was lively. It was a shame we had burgers for lunch as the $5 cheeseburger looked fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rye Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rye Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing