We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Reynard's

Reynard's
Ranked #65 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Was fortunate enough to celebrate my birthday in NY and started the dining experience on the rooftop terrace of Wythe hotel and in that hotel they have this restaurant on the ground floor.
The dinner was wonderful and so was the service!
Like everything in NY and especially Brooklyn it's in cool factory like facilities.
Start with a cocktail on the rooftop terrace.
You will not be dissapointed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good venue, shame about the food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The venue is good, nice relaxing environment and the staff are typically welcoming and helpful. But the menu is over-engineered and lacks choice - there was a lot of food left uneaten in our party either because it was incorrectly cooked to order or just odd and unworkable combinations. The saving grace was the upstairs hotel bar which had great views of Manhattan - without that it doesn't have a huge amount to offer. Shame, because the venue has a good feeling to it, so great for drinks but they have to work on the menus

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The look of a pub or rustic country restaurant with space between tables. We ate there for
lunch on a Monday and it was not crowded. We started with Bloody Marys, very icy with horseradish so specify if you don't like it that way. The menu was eclectic with a fish (wahoo) and a chicken dish cooked with Ethiopian spicing and grains. My friends enjoyed the dishes. Cold cucumber soup was a knock-out for all of us. I opted for my favorite lunch, smoked ham (smoked on premises), cheddar cheese (also made by them I think), pickles, grainy mustard and crusty toasted bread - heavenly. Hamburgers at table next to us looked and smelled yummy. Roasted olives were nothing special. Our waiter recommended the olive oil ice cream sandwich - not a hit and one friend described it as "eating soap." I would definitely recommend this restaurant and want to go back again as their menu is always changing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nange25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Most hotels have restaurants. Some are very good, most are not. Reynard Restaurant, inside the Wythe Hotel, is simply wonderful. The rooms are large and bright, with high ceilings and casually elegant decor. Seating is comfortable, with good spacing between tables. The noise level was acceptable, even with a full house.

The menu is very creative, with some interesting takes on well known dishes. We were a table of six, and sampled almost every dish offered. Everything was wonderful - nicely plated, obviously prepared with high quality ingredients, and delicious.

The service was exemplary. There is a large and obviously well-trained floor staff. Our servers were friendly, efficient, and familiar with the menu. We were very well looked after, and never felt rushed as we lingered over coffee and dessert.

As an added attraction, there is a roof top bar with large patios on two sides, and a beautiful view of the manhattan skyline. All in all, we had a relaxed evening enjoying world class cuisine. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
1 review
“Overcharge on my credit card !”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

i went here last monday with my brother, and they made an overcharge of 10.00 on my credit card (bill was $99.08, and they charged us $109.08), even though we left a tip of $11. i really hate dishonest business that overcharge smalls amounts that don't deserve the effort of complaining with my bank. they just suck ! ....and need to be avoided !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hernancarranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reynard's also viewed

 

Been to Reynard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing