We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful Brooklyn B&B.”
Review of Dekoven Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dekoven Suites
Ranked #11 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Characterful Brooklyn B&B.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for a week and enjoyed our stay. Susan and Chalo were very welcoming and willing to give their time to explain the delights of Brooklyn. They have an extensive knowledge of New York and all the sights which is invaluable for first time visitors to the city. And you really feel that you are living in the house of a friend. This traditional Brooklyn house in a quiet neighbourhood is cosy and characterful, the bedrooms spacious and the shower good. There is easy access to to nearby subway lines B and Q to Manhatten, but the rumble from the occasional night train can be disturbing to a light sleeper. And an easy chair in the bedroom would be great for tired legs!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed for three nights in the master bedroom (note: there are two bedrooms on the second floor of the house, which doesn't seem to be reflected on the website). Susan was a complete pleasure to work with in the lead up to my visit and while I stayed. Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this B&B to others mostly because I feel that the home needs some updating in order to be more comfortable for guests. To me the house felt a little run-down and cluttered. Also, because it is an old house, noise traveled far and I often felt I could hear everything that was happening in the rooms above and below me. There wasn't really a sense of privacy even when I was in my room. I also found the bed to be quite uncomfortable. I will say that it did seem to be the most affordably priced B&B in the neighborhood, so perhaps it is fair to have less comfort for a lower cost. Nevertheless, were I to be in the area again, I would pay the extra $25/night to stay in one of the other B&B's nearby in hopes that the accommodations would be a little nicer and make for a more pleasant and relaxing visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I hesitate to write this review only because I don't want to give away our hidden "gem" secret. However, it wouldn't be fair to keep information about Dekoven Suites to ourselves, though I would love to. That said, you will feel upon entering this fabulous home that you are not paying customers, but their one and only honored and invited guests. Truly Chalo and Susan are just that kind and welcoming.

This was my husband's and my second stay at the DS and like some of the other reviewers said, it will be the only place we will stay while in Brooklyn. Let all the other NYC visitors stay in Manhattan...for us there is no place else we'd rather come "home" to after a full day being out and about. It's quiet, private and just gorgeous. Everywhere you look there is interesting artwork, antiques, and lots and lots of printed materials informing visitors on not only Manhattan (where to go,eat, see, etc.), but also about Brooklyn itself. While staying at the DS you will have all the comforts of home and will congratulate yourself for being such a savvy traveler!

Don't miss the opportunity to stay in one of the warmest, most comfortable and most charming locations in the city. You will not be dissappointed.

Cheers to your continued success Chalo and Susan. We'll see you soon!

Michele (nee Schaffer) and Don Downey

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelleysch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

You know that when you walk in the door of the Dekoven you will be greeted with sincere warmth and kindness, information about the city, great places to eat, drink, walk, experience. And when you return you will sleep well in a comfy bed, spacious room, shower in a wonderful space and have lovely breakfast and good strong cup of coffee. Icing on the cake - great conversation with the owners who make you wish that not only did you live nearby, but that you were their best friends. Stay there. You will love it.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phbrazill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was at Dekoven Suites, a B / B in Brooklyn

Upon reaching the area, the first thing that impressed me were the elderly and splendid trees that created a peaceful and quiet ambiance, which was seldom interrupted by the sounds of the subway. I immediately fell in love with the cozy, American décor when I entered the house, which created a very warm, "at home" feeling.

The place is located in a quiet tree lined cul-de-sac just three blocks from the subway with grocery stores, pharmacies, mini markets, and fast food places all nearby.

I stayed in the large Master Bedroom, whose pillows and sheets were amazingly comfortable to sleep in and included a small refrigerator, table, large flat screen TV and coffee maker and Private bathroom

For breakfast you may choose from coffee or a variety of teas, croissants, breads, fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, juices and delicious cornbread prepared by the owner.

The Innkeepers, Susan and Chalo, were very friendly and welcoming from the start of our visit. They were extremely helpful by giving me very useful advice on how to move around, what places to visit, where to go shopping, where to expect the best meals, and other useful information for tourists. They helped me out on getting theater as well as baseball tickets for my family and I. They were just wonderful.

I don't know when I'll get to return to NY, but I am confident that B/ B Dekoven will be my first choice on where to stay at for next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have adult children and grandkids living in New York so we travel there from Washington, DC frequently. We've staying at Dekoven Suites probably 10 or more times since a few years ago we discovered this absolute gem. Susan and Chalo are great hosts, their rooms are large and well appointed. The basement suite is perfect for friends traveling together or a small family. The house is located a very short walk to the Q train into Manhattan or a slightly longer walk to Cortelyou St and several very good restaurants and groceries.
The cost is so much less than a hotel, there's on street parking and a filling continental breakfast, we can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable. The "master bedroom" is a little closer to the Q train whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We've stayed here a couple of times when visiting our children. Its a lovely, warm home away from home, with lots of personal attention. Like visiting old friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,028 reviews
6.9 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
289 reviews
2.7 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekoven Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekoven Suites

Property: Dekoven Suites
Address: 30 De Koven Ct, Brooklyn, NY 11230-1708
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century old Grand Victorian home located on a tree lined Cul de sac with free on street parking and 2 blocks from subway station. Rooms have private bathrooms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dekoven Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing