We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Akwaaba Mansion in Brooklyn is now my "home" when I work in NYC one week a month. The food is healthy and filling and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. During the snow storm of my last visit the whole city shut down. Monique shared her lunch with me, that was so toughtful. Monique, and her husband and reservationist,Erica are always hospitable and eager to please their guests. Thank you, Terri A

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 304 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

I am a traveler and a student, meaning I have been fortunate enough to stay in a plethora of environments. From dormitory living to 4 star hotels to small shady European hostels. I have never received better customer service and been so comfortable that at Akwaaba. I was a nervouse tired wreck because I was interviewing for a job, but Akwaaba put me at ease and allowed me to do my best. Monique is an inspiration, and I truly felt at home

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spelmanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights at the beautiful Akwwaba Mansion in Brooklyn and we absolutely loved it. We can only endorse all the positive reviews that have come before us which we read before we left. Monique and Glen are so friendly and have an exceptional ability to make you feel comfortable and to make you feel as if you are at home. The breakfasts are wonderful and keep you full for hours, perfect for a days sight seeing ahead. The room we had (Ashanti) was spacious and comfortable and the huge bath was the best thing ever after being on your feet all day and in the cold-(especially when it is run for you as Monique did one night!!). Its easy taking the subway into Manhatten and is about 20-30 minutes depending on where your going. We would highly recommened this place to anyone wishing for a comfortable stay in New York and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We only wish we were going back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrsBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Everything about Akwaaba was warm and inviting. We received personal attention from the owner, Monique. There is a sense calm that blankets you upon entering the mansion and it stays with you even after your visit. Akwaaba gave a very special Valentine's Day. WE LOVED EVERY MOMENT OF OUR TIME AT AKWAABA! We would recommend it to any and everyone.
Syreeta & Rob

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

When I first pulled up to the mansion, I was a little concerned because there was a young man loitering in front as if he was waiting to conduct some "unscrupulous business," But he was gone before I got to the front door! The inside was massive! The flowers, the wood work, the hostess...soooo charming!!! We had the privacy and the freedom we needed! Monique's restaurant recommendations in the area were dead on! We had a fabulous dinner at Peaches around the corner w/a small crowd as hip and fun as we are! Breakfast, the next morning, was delightful and peaceful. Monique, does things up in such a huge and loving way but it all appears so effortless as if the mansion is actually an extension of herself! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikilasean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

As I am a brooklyn resident, Akwaaba mansion was a home away from home. It sincerely was a beautiful and cozy get-away. The hospitality was beyond excellent! :) Such warm vibrations. I especially enjoyed the toasty fire place in the sitting room on the main level.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PresentandReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I wanted to take my boyfriend to a bed and breakfast for his birthday, and we're both glad I chose Akwaaba Mansion. We stayed in the Black Memorabilia room but we were given the option of staying in the Regal Retreat Suite. We had such a hard time picking a room, because both rooms were beautiful. We ended up picking the Black Memorabilia Suite because of its jacuzzi and king sized bed. The Mansion was beautiful and Monique was a wonderful host. She treated us like family. My most memorable parts of the weekend were definitely the delicious breakfast and the treat Monique left for us on our second night. We definitely plan on coming back and visiting other locatioins. Akwaaba Mansion is definitely a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loisandclark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
3.2 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 73 in Brooklyn
683 reviews
1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#11 of 73 in Brooklyn
261 reviews
2.6 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 73 in Brooklyn
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,488 reviews
1.3 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 73 in Brooklyn
389 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 Macdonough St, Brooklyn, NY 11233-1012
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range: $227 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akwaaba, where we spoil you with old-fashioned graciousness and modern-day amenities. Check in to our 1860 Victorian Mansion and leave renewed and refreshed -- just 15 minutes away from Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Mansion Hotel Brooklyn
Akwaaba Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing