We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/11/11 Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 56 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second visit here and they only get better!
The staff and facilities are superb from initial contact to departure.
The breakfast is one of the best we have had anywhere.
The other guests are very interesting and friendly.
When you are here you are treated like a very valued guest.
It has our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a get- a - way and we found a great place. The hospitality was warm and friendly. The room was comfortable and romantic. The afternoon snack and morning breakfast were absolutely delicious. The best surprise was our evening turn- down. When we returned from dinner, the room was lit with candles all around (battery operated for safety reasons) and the Jacuzzi in the bathroom was filled with water and bubble bath. The setting was so calm and romantic. We were so surprised by the above and beyond steps the owners took to make our stay so special.

We wish we could have stayed longer. We plan on returning.

Room Tip: Look at the website to view the rooms so you can pick the decor you prefer. Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we stayed at the Akwaaba B&B and had an excellent weekend. Glenn was an warm and helpful host during our stay. Breakfast was delicious and we found tasty places for lunch and dinner all within walking distance of Akwaaba. Getting to Down Town Brooklyn and Manhattan was easy using the subway. we will definitely be making another trip to Akwaaba.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Attended a milestone bday party at Akwaaba Mansion on a beautiful Saturday afternoon and enjoyed myself immensely. Akwaaba is a big old-fashioned house in the Bed-Stuy (Bedford-Stuyvesant) section of Brooklyn, NY that was renovated and turned into a B&B. We enjoyed ourselves in the 3 large rooms on the ground floor, on the glass-enclosed front porch where the bar was set-up, and outside on the side of the house where chairs and tables were arranged. There is a very small front yard that leads into a concrete patio-type area which surrounds one of the biggest trees I have ever seen in NY City. The DJ was set-up in what would have been the living room. Buffet was served in the dining room. So many antique african art peices decorated every nook, carved mahogany was everywhere you turned, and the crystal chandeliers were a delight. The owner, Glenn, was great and confirmed that their place in the Poconos is indeed open. He was in the middle of running a hot bath and laying rose petals for the guests soon to return to the rooms upstairs. The food was catered by their partner restaurant "Peaches" and it was quite good. Overall, loved it as a party space for about 75 guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonedTraveller516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at Akwaaba the first week of June. What a great place - a beautiful old home in a nice area - just steps from the subway to downtown Manhattan. We received a wonderful welcome upon arrival and the rest of the stay was just as good. Delicious breakfast every day (and different every day!), beautiful, clean and private room, and friendly, helpful hosts. All for a very reasonable price. I highly recommend it and hope to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue8894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I got the wonderful opportunity to stay at Brooklyn's Akwaaba Mansion for his birthday weekend. We never got a chance to get away to a honeymoon because our 17month old son soon followed. So in many ways this was an all in one getaway...well Akwaaba did not disappoint! We stayed in Brooklyn's Jumping the broom sweet complete with jacuzzi tub, private shower, and canopy bed. The entire mansion was beautifully decorated with antique furniture, eclectic art, and one of a kind pictures and documents that carved into our hearts an appreciation for it's historic Italian design perfumed with African-American history that is completely unique. It made for a wonderful experience! As though that weren't enough, we were privileged to be hosted by Monique herself, owner and founder of Akwaaba! She was a most gracious and elegant hostess...offering to run our baths by candle light and feeding us scrumptious home cooked breakfasts and afternoon refreshments that just to think about are making me hungry now! We had a wonderful time...to say the least! We enjoyed Peaches restaurant located conveniently at the end of the block as well! Overall 5 Stars***** in a comfortable cozy setting! Thank you Monique for opening your home to us!!! "The ManChild Family"

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChenoaJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've wanted to experience Akwaaba for years. I was inspired by an article about the owners Monique Greenwood and her husband. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with such a warm, welcoming hospitality. The mansion is beautifully decorated with vintage pieces and decor. You'll enjoy the location which is close to a great restaurant called Peaches. Go there for dinner...the food is great and reasonably price.

The next morning, I was pleasantly surprised when Monique welcomed us and the 3 other guests. She also cooked and served breakfast. With three other locations, I was shocked but it showed that after 17 years of operation, this is a true labor of love. Akwaaba was all that I dreamed of and more. Enjoy it you'll be pampered! It was hard to leave but the experience will always be with me. Amazing...we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 75 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 75 in Brooklyn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pod Brooklyn
Pod Brooklyn
#31 of 75 in Brooklyn
31 reviews
3.2 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 75 in Brooklyn
706 reviews
4 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 75 in Brooklyn
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 Macdonough St, Brooklyn, NY 11233-1012
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range: $227 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akwaaba, where we spoil you with old-fashioned graciousness and modern-day amenities. Check in to our 1860 Victorian Mansion and leave renewed and refreshed -- just 15 minutes away from Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Akwaaba Mansion Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing