We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch it if you can”

Brooklyn Historical Society
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
The New York Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #48 of 227 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combination museum, library and educational center which explores works of art and historical documents that represent Brooklyn's diverse cultures and society, past and present.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you are into Ny history and are in the Heights take a stroll to the historical society. They have limited hours so check first. The exhibits are novel done. The library is so beautiful. There has been a lot of exterior work completed in the last few years. It's a beautiful part of the neighborhood.

1  Thank Hcwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Dear hcwi,

Thanks for the lovely review! We like our neighborhood quite a bit as well. We hope you’ve come by again since your review! If not, come by again soon, and be sure to bring friends and family. :-) Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards,
BHS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we visited in September 2012, much of the museum was closed for renovation, which was very disappointing. The parts that were open were fascinating - a look back at a place that loomed large in the national consciousness. The video of clips of TV shows that were set in Brooklyn (Honeymooners, etc.) and references to Brooklyn brought back many memories. I was surprised that the staff didn't offer a discount, considering how much was closed, but I would go back sometime when it's all open.

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Dear Richard,

We’re sorry about the inconvenience that our renovations posed, but we hope you’ve been back since! The space has really transformed, and now we have even more exhibit space, as well as a beautiful communal space for public programs. We hope you’ve come to check it out, or that you’re planning to come by soon! Thanks for being willing to give us a second chance, and for your valuable feedback.

Regards,
BHS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As a librarian with a history degree, I found this collection of collection incredible. It seems expensive o maintain, particularly the way hey run it, but it is worth it. It houses almost 450 years of our great citiy's history, as illustrated by the stories of NEW YORKERS.

Thank Archiveguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Dear Archiveguy,

Wow, thanks so much for lending us some of your history cred! We hope you’ve been back since your review, as our space has expanded and we now feature even more exhibits and programs that really dive into Brooklyn’s fascinating past. Thanks again for the review!

Regards,
BHS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a poor excuse of a museum, whose claim to fame is their historic building For $6 they have 3 little rooms and expect you to view old photos on a computer in the library but you must surrender your purse and any jacket to do so. After 5 min we asked for a refund. We enjoyed the free Brooklyn Naval Yard Museum much more and learned more history.

2  Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful Historic building in Brooklyn Heights with ground floor exhibit space is currently featuring an exhibit on Ebbitts Field and the Brooklyn Dodgers. It includes stadium seats, tickets, baseball cards and photos. Library and research area upstairs for the historians in the group. The surrounding area of Brooklyn is a treasure in itself,a stroll around the block is a fascinating mix of historic architectural styles in homes, shops and restaurants.

2  Thank Vintagebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Dear Vintage,

Thanks so much for the fabulous review! We hope you’ve come by again since—we’ve really transformed in the past few years, and we would love to see you again. Thanks for being a part of the BHS community!

Regards,
BHS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing