We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food lots of fun and decaying buildings. My kind of place!”
Review of Williamsburg

Williamsburg
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Williamsburg Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 223 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great food lots of fun and decaying buildings. My kind of place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

So much to do, awesome food almost everywhere, fairly affordable, the nitehawk cinema, Brooklyn bowl, and 1 subway stop from the city proper. I found it much more enjoyabl however.e

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zambuccadnezzar_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    415
    90
    27
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Hip overload”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Boy, look what 10 years can do for a neighborhood. This used to be a dump and boring but wow, now it is over the top happening. Endless restaurant and bar choices, boutiques, everything. Its completely overhyped right now but it is certainly worth a visit. I mean its only a couple of stops on the subway from Union Square. Worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wabitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trendy safe area”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here several times during 2011 and 2012. Lots of good restaurants. Easy to walk around. Mostly younger people 20's and 30's

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
““great neighborhood””
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Shopping, food, generally enjoying the Williamsburg "scene" was a highlight of my NYC trip. Easily spent a day walking the streets of shops and food stops in the "downtown" area. Lots of vintage fashion, all shopping was boutiques. Great restaurants . Easy to get to from Union Station on the L train.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boubouGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do your research”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Go to williamsburg they said. It will be good they said. This was the worst experience in nyc yet. I was looking forward to visiting and heading to bedford avenue. Word of advice. Make sure you know where you are going. We headed there after lunch around dumbos. Expecting an easy walk, we were lead through the dirtiest of neighbourhoods. Every turn took us down one dangerous street after another. We finally made it to bedford av. However this is one long avenue. We were at the wrong end! We walked for a bit but after more seedy neighborhoods and characters we couldnt find a train quick enough. For those going, take the sub straight there.

Helpful?
7 Thank sharpemethod
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Williamsburg also viewed

 

Been to Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing