We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrific service”
Review of Wythe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wythe Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

At the end of my trip, I left several packages for FedEx to pick up. I made a mistake filling out the airbills, and the staff re-created them and saw my parcels off without my having to intervene. I very much appreciated their attentiveness, even though I had already checked out. I just love the location (near everywhere you'd want to go in W-burg) and the decor. I would be happy to stay here again and would choose this over many LES hotels when the Bedford train is just one more stop away. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you will want a higher floor so you are not facing the adjacent building's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wright G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 527 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent 2 nights in September. Manhattan view king room was sleek, trendy, reclaimed wood, slightly minimalist, made awesome by floor to ceiling window. Organic toiletries, specialist mini bar. Open shower was a bit splashy. A 7 min walk to subway but you won't need to use it as your surroundings are littered with hip bars, restaurants, and vintage clothing stores. Their own restaurant & rooftop bar are great but not the cheapest. Cool place for a young couple. Stored our bags on last day.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms - brick and beam with high ceilings.
Found there was quite a bit of noise, so if you're not there for the party scene, bring earplugs.
Cab situation in Brooklyn is just strange, there are black cabs out front, but don't run with meters.
Food at hotel restaurant is outstanding. The omelette is amazing. Fries are delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParrotfishToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago as I like Williamsburg and was tired of the usual Manhattan visit to NYC. Hotel is only a few mins walk from the L train that takes you into central Manhattan in minutes, so it's very simple. The hotel is a hip design, all concrete floors and hipster details. We stayed for four nights on a business trip and the rooms are beautifully clean and easy to live in (although the hotel is new , so how the rooms will look after some wear and tear is another thing).

Main drawbacks:
1) There is no tea and coffee facility in the room and NO ROOM SERVICE at the hotel at all. If you feel like an early coffee whilst getting ready for work, you have to go down to the hotel cafe and order it yourself. How easy would it be to have a coffee machine in the room? I hated this aspect of the stay.

2) We asked for a quiet room as we had a busy work schedules, and thank god. On the second night of the stay the back of the hotel was taken over as a private hipster club which was insanely loud.

3)We were told that rooms above the cafe/restaurant can also be noisy into the evening.

4)The bar is very cool on the roof, but the penthouses are directly above so they must also be pretty noisy. Also, you can see straight into the penthouses from the bar, which must be sort of annoyinng.

5) The roof terrace bar is a sort of 'destination' spot for Williamburg locals and also Manhattan tourists looking for some 'edge'. Therefore the hotel is always stuffed with non-residents, and late at night you're sharing the elevator with pretty drunk people.

All in all it's fine midweek, and if you're really into hipster stuff and/or are young, then you'll like this place. I'm a bit over trendy posturing and men in too-tight skinny jeans, so I'll probably head back to Manhattan for my next trip to NY.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet sleep then ask for a room in the mid levels. If you can afford a little extra I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stay here for two nights in August,
The Good
Room was spacious, beautifully decorated with high ceilings and very clean. Sheets and pillows were comfy, very good shades to stop the light during the morning. Bathrooms are spacious and modern; toiletry and towels are of a very good quality. My room had a Balcony a safe and small fridge. Their restaurant Reynards is amazing. We went for dinner with another couple and we tried four different complete entrees and everything was of a very good from the service, quality of products, good portions and well-priced.

The not so good
Rooms are separated to others by gypsum board walls which doesn't appear to be insulated, I could hear everything that was going on in the adjacent room and in the hallway. Including some people that were parting until 3:00am+ for the two nights I stayed (This was the deal breaker) The air conditioner was very loud but it was useful to cover the noise of the people next door. I feel the front desk staff should be better trained to make their guests feel more welcome, they were not rude but they will not make any effort to make you feel at home. Room closets are very small and there were no luggage stand, you could not fit your cloth in the closet and then have to leave your bags on the floor.

If the review were for the restaurant only I had no problem rating it excellent but this review is for the hotel, and hotels sell rooms. This is a beautifully renovated property in a great location, I really hope they fix these things, most of them are very easy to fix.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapaEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place is great. Right in the thick of it in Brooklyn. Being so new it has a real buzz and is lovely and clean, with good light and service. The restaurant downstairs (Reynards) is tops too. The room wasn't huge but it had super high ceilings and a nice little balcony which meant it felt roomy and more than comfortable. Walls are a little thin because it's a converted warehouse but we had no trouble sleeping. Next time we're in New York we'll definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you go for the smaller rooms try to request the ones with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bree m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was brought to Wythe by friends of mine who live in Brooklyn.I had already read about this hotel and it lived up to all my expectation one very hot rainy Sunday night last August. The view of Manahattan from the rooftop bar is phenomenal. The place was pumping. We hung out at the bar. Great design, great industrial aesthetic. Love it!

Room Tip: It's an absolute must and even if you are in Manahattan, it's worth the trip over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AUStoWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
McCarren Hotel & Pool
McCarren Hotel & Pool
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $275 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wythe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Wythe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing