We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A nice break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Slope

Park Slope
Book In Advance
$300.00*
and up
Brooklyn Neighborhoods Private Walking Tour
Ranked #17 of 216 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A nice break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Even though I was staying in Manhattan, I wanted to spend some time in this neighborhood that I had heard so much about. There are many places to get a cup of coffee and plenty of shops, especially hardware stores. I should have counted them while I was strolling down 7th and 5th avenues.
It was a nice break from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Klikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    128
    25
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bright Side of Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This neighborhood is a gem in Brooklyn, 5th, 6th 7th Avenues are lovely and very family friendly. The new Barclay center is a beautiful stark sculpture in an urban setting. Great shops, restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Look out for all the toddlers and baby strollers family's love it here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful walking neighborhood in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Park Slope is a great neighborhood to walk in. It's quiet, especially by New York standards. The brownstones on the side streets are beautiful, even at night (the lighting on the residential side streets is not great, so you can't get a full sense of the beauty at night - however, I felt intensely comfortable walking around alone at night on the side streets). Great restaurant options about on 4th, 5th, and 6th Ave. It's next to the massive and lovely Prospect Park. (Note: it is too dark to walk through the park alone at night, and there are some not-so-nice neighborhoods bordering it on some sides.) Subway access to many parts of the neighborhood is very convenient, so access from Brooklyn and the other boroughs is fairly easy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DarrellR_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in Park Slop because my daughter lives here, but I had a lot of free time and really enjoyed the area. Lots of pleasant walking around, shopping, coffee shops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrugalTraveler48322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice village type place with nice Brownstones & Limestone Buildings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Seventh Avenue from President Street to St Johns Place is a nice place to visit with many shops and restaurants. From seventh ave to eight ave there are well kept older Brownstown residential buildings. Along Prospect Park West are well kept nice apartment buildings facing Prospect Park. I recommend packing a lunch and going to Grand Army Plaza and sittting on a bench watching the fountain. Also on Saturdays there are many food trucks parked right by Grand Army Plaza by the entrance of Prospect Park. Ajacent to the park is the Brooklyn Public Library and a short 10 min walk is the Brooklyn Museum and Brooklyn Botanical Gardens.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Slope also viewed

 

Been to Park Slope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing