We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely space; tricky location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely space; tricky location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I decided to stay at the Box House precisely because it wasn't right in the thick of everything. NYC hotels can get so noisy, and I liked the fact that the Box House was a bit off the beaten path. Rates are great and rooms are lovely - just look at the photos on the website! The rooms live up to the photos.

I was there for work, during the week and had no trouble sleeping. The 2nd night, some people in town for fun were booked in the room next to mine. The front desk was great about accommodating a move to a quieter room, but noise would've been a problem for me if I hadn't been able to move. I'm a very light sleeper, though, so this may not be the case for others.

It's great having a full kitchen in the rooms, especially in NYC.

The one glitch with my stay was transportation. I was in the city when an 11"-of-snow storm hit. The driver took me to dinner in Williamsburg even in all that snow (they'll get you to/from the train station or within a certain radius), which was great! Thanks, Box House! What wasn't as great? That nowhere in the written information nor in person (not even when I was being dropped off!) did it say that the driving service ends at a certain hour (10pm, I think?). So when I called after dinner, I was told that the driver had already gone home. So there I was, in from Los Angeles and without real snow wear, stranded miles from my hotel. It was impossible to get another car service because of the snow, so I trudged the miles back to the hotel in the snow by foot. Not a happy Angeleno when I arrived.

Delivery to the hotel is good; I hope in the future they open a restaurant/bar in the hotel itself. That would be great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Millcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    123
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
329
153
28
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Hailing from Bermuda, my husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for a week and I must say this hotel exceeding all of our expectations. We frequent NYC on a regular basis but we have always stayed in Manhattan. This time around we decided to venture outside our traditional routine and I am so glad we did. The hotel decor is eclectic and chic. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The complimentary shuttle service was an extra bonus and we met a superb driver, Mr. Singh, who was a wealth of knowledge on the neighborhood and commuting to Manhattan.

It truly is a hidden gem and we will definitely be staying there again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank choisel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Excellent staff. Excellent room. The rooms are huge by NYC standards & have everything you need for your stay. They have a vending machine for snacks & drinks. It was so simple to get around from the hotel. The walk across the Pulaski bridge to the Vernon/Jackson subway stop was so easy. We did take their shuttle service once to the subway stop, just because we were freshly showered and all prettied-up for a Broadway show, but other than that we walked everywhere. The B62/B43 bus stops are close-by and made getting around Brooklyn a breeze. Just get a Metro card and download the Moovit app on your phone and you will be a pro in no time! I see one other reviewer complain that there was a heavy metal bar nearby. That's funny because that's why my husband & I chose this place! We had a great time there hanging out with the locals. Metal people are some of the friendliest people you'll meet in the world. Don't be so snooty! Overrall a lovely stay! When we go back to NYC, this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Perfect alternative, for less, to a cramped and ordinary hotel room on Manhattan! Clean, spacious room, practical and well equiped kitchen, easy and quick underground acces to Midtown, convenient taxi shuttle service on Brooklyn, close to delis, restaurants and cafe's, good amenities like free WiFi, Internet access, laundry room and ironing board. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JantineZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is the definition of hidden gem, the surrounding neighbourhood stands out in stark contrast. Retro and vintage interiors, clean and helpful staff and beautifully furnished apartments ensuring your big apple visit is spent in style. Make sure to ask for apartments with a view of Manhattan and see the city light up at night! However a room for 5+ people can feel cramped when everyone's battling for the one bathroom! Head down to Naussau Avenue area in green point for wining and dining that does this hotel justice. And you're always one subway stop away from grand central station NYC. Fantastic find.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here during a business trip. It provided a great place to come home to. I stayed in a deluxe loft suite with patio for part of my stay and a loft suite for the latter part of my stay. Both rooms were fantastic. Rooms are very contemporary, great art on the walls from a local Brooklyn artist. Staff are helpful and the free shuttle is a major plus. My commute to Manhattan for work was a breeze (the shuttle driver will take you to ferry or subway stops in Brooklyn). There are places to eat within walking distance on Manhattan Avenue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We've stayed in numerous hotels throughout the city, but NONE compare to the Box House Hotel. From the lobby to the spacious apartment style rooms, this boutique style hotel is not what you normally find in NYC. The staff is PHENOMENAL (and I don't throw that word around very often)!!! We've stayed here twice now and it's so refreshing to see the same faces each time we visit.

While just across the river from Manhattan, the commute can be a little cumbersome but the free shuttle service to and from the nearby subway stops is available all day until 11PM.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here. We've stayed twice...had two different rooms...and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 66 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#6 of 66 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 66 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#5 of 66 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
4.1 mi away
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
#8 of 66 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Property: The Box House Hotel
Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Box House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing