We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel-great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were family of four people visiting NYC for the first time for 2 weeks(27Jun-11July). We were happy with the room that we had eventhough there is no view to look out to, but with the unique of the hotel and the room design, we never asked for more. Also the service of both staffs at the front desk and the shuttle service was great! Its our first visit NYC so we didnt have much of the idea where to go but the staffs were really helpful, they always helped us out and assisted us in everyway, really appreciated. Thanks a lot to Cristian, Singh, Felix, Jesse and all the staffs who works during our stays, sorry we cant remember all the names but thank you so much for make our journey completed! We will definitely come back to this excellent hotel again :D
Kor

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kschatpatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have traveled to New York many times and got used to hotels that are expensive, have small rooms and rude service. No need to suffer anymore! The Box House Hotel is a gem! Huge room, very comfy bed, nice service, superb location, and great rates. I have found my new home base in New York.
Some people may be hesitating as this is in Brooklyn. Don't. Greenpoint is a nice area. Great restaurants and cafes. Really good breakfast places. And getting to Manhattan is as quick as from Midtown to SoHo. I did not use the complimentary taxi (cool cars) service but waled to the subway. The walk is ten minutes and the subway less than ten.
The neighborhood is a but edgy but nice to walk around.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ppoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was half the price of hotels in Manhattan. I could not find a poor review of the hotel anywhere. Now that I have been I can see why. IT WAS FAULTLESS.
Rooms were comfortable and decorated very nicely, more than adequate kitchen facilities and a lovely bathroom.
Our sons used the gym and they gave it 10 out of 10. The free shuttle rides on the hotel transport were great and the drivers were very knowledgeable and helpful.
We were given rides to the subway whenever we needed one. We were also picked up at the subway station and the East river ferry terminal and taken back to the hotel by the drivers.
The reception staff were also very helpful and knowledgeable, they gave us advice on a local restaurant, made a reservation for us and the hotel taxi took us to the restaurant. What more could you ask for ?
My family and I walked around the surrounding area and although not particularly pretty at no point did we feel uncomfortable or intimidated.
From grand central station you can be back in the hotel in 15 minutes. 4 minute subway ride (one stop) and then a 10 minute walk over the bridge enjoying the New York skyline the whole way, or as I mentioned earlier phone the hotel and get picked up by the taxi.
I would not hesitate to go back to the Box House Hotel.
Don't delay book today. You will not be disappointed.

Jim McGregor

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank jimbob1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is a well groomed and smart outfit running the hotel. You will enjoy the ambiance, people, and flavor of the neighborhood. Not your ordinary cookie cut hotel room. Now to be fair. Not all rooms have a view also no continental breakfast. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Box House is a great little spot in industrial Greenpoint - walking distance to public transportation, great restaurants & cafes. Beautifully appointed, fantastic staff, clean and relatively inexpensive. I would recommend this to any and all. Kids are welcome and comfortable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was very clean and neat. It was also spacious for four people. The sofabed was not very comfy but it was ok. As there was not too much restaurants or groceries in walking distance, you have to plan where to have your meals. There was not breakfast available at hotel, but the kitchen was equipped well. The view to Manhattan was great from Pulaski Bridge, though it was boring to walk back and forth along the bridge to subway. We were not offered free shuttle taxi so we did not know that option on time. We did not find this hotel as unique or unforgetable than some other guests, so next time we will try some other hotel located in Manhattan.

.

Room Tip: There are some street noise so it´s better to have a room away from Pulasti Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TarjaF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHouseHotel, Manager at The Box House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear TajajF F,

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Box House Hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We’re very glad to hear that you found the suite to be clean and spacious, but are disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy the location more.

Greenpoint is a wonderful neighborhood once you get to know it a little. It boasts a wide array of fantastic restaurants, bars, and cafés, great parks, and, really, just about every convenience you could possible need. I’m just sorry that you didn’t ask us at the front desk for more information, as we would have been happy to make some recommendations. For instance, there are several establishments within walking distance of the hotel that serve an excellent breakfast. We also would have been delighted to offer you a complimentary ride in our shuttle to another restaurant in the surrounding area, or to either of the nearby train stations. Again, we are sorry to hear you were not aware of this service during your vacation.

We understand if you’d rather stay in Manhattan next time, but can assure you that for the same price, it will be difficult to find an accommodation as spacious, clean, and cozy as you’ll find over here.

In any case, we appreciate your feedback, and hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Warmly,

The Box House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Loved this place. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Brooklyn. The rooms were gorgeous and spacious and had everything you need for an extended stay (I stayed 8 nights). There is a gym and a laundry and my loft room had a full kitchen. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely. The area felt safe and it's a nice walk (about 10 mins) through the local neighbourhood to the subway (stop at Champion for coffee on the way. Do it.) My only complaint is that the air conditioning was LOUD (it woke me up a few times). Thanks Box House...see you again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
324 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#6 of 72 in Brooklyn
436 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,457 reviews
1.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $167 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing