We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for four nights as a family. Fantastic hotel with a cool vibe and great welcoming atmosphere. The apartment had everything you would need and the laundry room was great. It was nice to not be right smack bang in the middle of the city and the local neighbourhood had a real community vibe. The Greenpoint station was the easiest subway to use. Acapulco mexican, just a couple of blocks away, was great. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    147
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
401
185
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Box House Hotel for five nights last week and were really impressed! Even though the hotel is in Brooklyn, it's only one subway stop to Grand Central Station so getting around is not a problem at all. There are a couple of subway stations within walking distance of the hotel which is very convenient. It was actually refreshing to stay somewhere not quite so busy and hectic as Manhattan! The hotel itself is extremely modern and everything in the room was clean and of a very high quality. We were travelling with our two children (aged 11 & 14) and we had a loft apartment with a QS bed upstairs and then a sofa bed and rollaway bed downstairs for the boys. It was a little bit squashy but we folded the sofa bed away every day to give us more space and somewhere to sit and it was fine. The apartment also had a full kitchen which was great as we were able to cook our own meals some of the time which helped to save money. The staff were absolutely fantastic and were able to help us with everything we asked of them, and the free "taxi" service to local places was awesome. We loved the whole experience and would thoroughly recommend this place to our friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

What a treat! Such a stylish, unique hotel. So clean with many amenities. We loved and used the car service quite a lot. There's not much in that area, but other areas are close. Personnel at front desk was very helpful. We will definitely reccommend this to others.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfelizardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were on the top floor -- stunning views of Manhatten - especially at night. Significantly more for your money than over the river. We were using local restaurants for brunch (using the free taxi service) and getting food delivered or bringing it back with us from delis in the evening. If walking to the subway over the bridge in winter, warp up warm, it was about 10 degrees colder than the rest of NYC.

Room Tip: Top floor has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just love it! Unique lofts,very clean,nice view,close to subway,taxi service provided by Box House Hotel That was our fourth stay in The Box House Hotel.Staff-meet all your expectation.See you next time!!!Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hôtel is awsome, spotless clean, the staff exceptional, and most of all the bed most comfortable after a day visiting. They suggested good places to eat at affordable prices, we even had wine and food delivered one evening. Excellent shuttle services to the subway. We strongly recommend this hôtel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 565Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our second time staying at The Box House. There are so many places to stay in NYC, but we will not even consider staying anywhere but here. Perfect location, very quiet, awesome free taxi service. It feels like we're staying in an apartment and not a hotel. Worth every single cent!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momtoawc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 70 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 70 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#7 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Property: The Box House Hotel
Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing