We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pratical and very accomodating base for your NYC adventures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pratical and very accomodating base for your NYC adventures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Took my teenage children for 5 night "spring break" Easter holiday trip to NYC, and have to say Box House was great choice. The hotel provided good space, thoughtful accommodation (beds were extremely comfortable, it did get a little hot up in the loft area but we used the ceiling fan) and attentive staff (housekeeping seemed to tidy up room every day and May always gave good advice).

The area adjacent to hotel is very "functional industrial" in both look and feel, but given that most visitors (I’ve assumed) will be like us, hotels are just a base at either end of your day, so don't be put off! The soon to be finished building work will see a new reception and restaurant installed, which will, I’m sure, only add to pleasantness of guest visits.

As already extolled by other guest reviews, Box House really is closer to everything you need re sightseeing just across the river. Our first trip out was via East River Ferry ($4), that docks not too far from hotel. It took us all the way downtown to Wall St and was a picturesque delight. Best views of the city ever and closer to those monolithic bridges as one would ever hope to get.

Brooklyn itself is exciting location to explore (check out the Saturday Flee market), Williamsburg, Greenpoint and Atlantic Avenue neighbourhoods for some fabulous eateries, shops and people watching. It was a relief not to have to head back into Manhattan for dinner (although we did occasionally pick food up from Wholefoods/Trader Joes and eat in, delicious meals and the hotel has most of what you will need to utilize within the kitchen area).

The Box House vintage cabs are a useful touch, they will drop you off and collect you within a mile or so radius. Do tip them, Singh, Louis et al were friendly drivers.

In conclusion, we were very happy with hotel, location and service. We wish Box House well with its expansion plans (do make sure to serve pancake stacks for breakfast) and thanks for the fruit at the front desk every day!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in newer wing which was very quiet, no external noise, but no view from p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osberga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    126
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
341
155
29
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The area is obviously on the up, although the block immediately around the hotel is initially uninviting. Once inside however, all impressions are great. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the decor is quirky and eclectic. We had a loft suite, which seemed very spacious after Manhattan hotels. It was great to have good kitchen facilities. The suite was light and bright, with lots of windows, and a tiny courtyard which we would probably have used in warmer weather. The furniture was stylish and comfortable, and it was quiet. The bathroom was large, but could have done with more shelving or storage. The vintage taxis which drop you off at local restaurants and subway stations were great fun, and the drivers were very helpful and pleasant. It is an easy enough walk to two subway stations and the hotel provides good restaurant suggestions in walking distance. The only issue we had was that the hot water system occasionally struggled to keep up at peak times, and the AC unit was quite noisy (only minor inconveniences). We really enjoyed the experience of staying outside Manhattan, but still with ready access to all NYC has to offer, as well as getting to know an area new to us.

Room Tip: There is not much circulation space in the loft bedrooms - the bed is against the wall on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yfrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Box House proved a great base for a family week in NY, while Brooklyn proved a destination all of its own. The hotel is just a 30-min ride from JFK and the nearest subway line (under ten minutes away) is just one stop from Grand Central, or a couple more onto Times Square. Then there’s the East River Ferry, which docks a short stroll from the hotel and delivers you midtown to 34th St, or downtown to Wall St; either a great trip on a sunny day.
So, the Box House is easy for sightseeing in Manhattan but also gateway to revamped Brooklyn. The hotel’s Greenpoint neighborhood is an interesting mix of sparky new restaurants and cafes, rubbing shoulders with factories and grittier businesses further up Manhattan Avenue. Nearby Williamsburg, meanwhile, is wall-to-wall vintage clothes shops, designer delis and cool cafes full of artsy types tapping on their MacBooks.
As far as eating out goes, these neighborhoods offer loads of fantastic choices, so there’s no need to head back into Manhattan in the evenings. The Box House vintage cabs will drop you off, or pick you up free; just add a tip for the friendly drivers.
Staff at the hotel are young and friendly. Soon-to-be completed building work will provide a proper reception area, restaurant and more apartments. Our Duplex slept four, beds were comfy, linens and furnishings smart. But... lounge area was a little small and it was dark, as we asked for a quiet apartment looking to the back. One of the staff showed me another slightly more spacious room on just one level (the kitchen features an island area) and we would book this another time.
Heating a duplex meant those in the top bed area roasted a little; the kitchen could do with a few more plates and bowls, and there’s no phones in the rooms. All small gripes and all forgiven for a hotel offering something a little different.

Room Tip: Give the Duplex a miss and go for the one-floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at hip Box House Hotel in the up and coming trendy but unpretentious Brooklyn Greenpoint neighborhood. This hotel is new, very clean and friendly and the rooms (we stayed in Loft Suite # 26) are spacious and ideal for families or two couples. Even though the hotel is across the river from midtown Manhattan it's a quick subway ride on line 7 to Grand Central Station. For us, an added bonus was the terrific view of the New York skyline from the footbridge to the subway station and the option of taking the East River Ferry from nearby Greenpoint landing to the city. Also there are great options to eat out at Greenpoint restaurants. If you are looking for a nice place outside hectic and dense Manhattan Box House Hotel is a great option. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianeBerlin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What can I say! It is in a great location, close enough to the subway to get to Manhattan.
Brooklyn (green point) is really cool place to stay. The hotel give you information on local eateries, we have tried four and excellent, far better than eating in manhattan. The old fashioned cabs are a great feature, they drive within a mile or so of the hotel for free! It is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The rooms are a great size for New York hotels. It so so stylish! Friendly, helpful staff. I never write reviews (only once) and as a family we travel a lot. But this place deserves a review! Excellent. One tiny down side is the distant noise of the trains/cars, but quite faint. The actual hotel has a noise policy, so the guests are relatively quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossBrightonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I, along with our teenage daughter, stayed for three days at the Box House Hotel. We had an amazing experience. When we first entered the lobby, there was a nice subdued woodsy, clean smell that met us. We found out that they had just put in brand new hardwood floors in some of the guest rooms. The entire place has a hip, european sort of vibe, and we just loved it. The rooms were large, the floor plan was great, and everything was new and glistening. We found out that this was an old doors and windows warehouse turned into a hotel about a year and a half ago, so the ceiling were very high, lending to the spacious, loft feel in the rooms.

We reserved a one bedroom with a "den", so we had two TV's (making my daughter very happy), a sofa bed in the den, a full functioning kitchen, complete with dishes, and a wickedly clean, sparkling bathroom. The pillows were plumb and the bed was just heavenly. Everything smelled wonderful.

On the property is an exercise room, a sauna/steam room, and a complimentary taxi service that will take you anywhere within one mile of the hotel.

Below are a few tips to consider:

1. The neighborhood is up and coming and not the very best. It's amazing that this excellent hotel is dab smack in the middle of this neighborhood, but the location wasn't unsafe or anything like that. In fact, I saw women jogging alone. Staying here will definitely give you the "New York" experience.

2. If you are looking for a grand entrance and foyer like most hotels, forget it (at least for now - more on that later). We were surprised that the entrance was very small, and you could miss it if you blinked an eye. You have to remember that this place used to be a warehouse, so you wouldn't find a grand entrance, but you do have the taxis parked in the front. There isn't a prominent sign out front with the name of the hotel. We arrived at night, and because we had researched the hotel and saw pictures, we knew where it was located.

3. The compliment taxi service is awesome. And even more amazing is the taxis themselves. We found out that these taxis were brought in from California. They are vintage and in very good shape. Just adorable and they really extend the funky vibe of the hotel. The taxi drivers were fantastic and friendly. Thanks Louis and Singh. They made us feel so welcomed, provided information about the hotel, neighborhood and local restaurants - all of which made our stay more memorable.

4. The hotel is being renovated currently to add a larger, more prominent lobby. Also, they are going to add more suites. This is great, but can be a downer if you are put in a room near the construction noise.

5. Gotta love those glistening, rich-toned hardwood floors. They were everywhere and made quite a nice impression and gave the rooms character and charm. Also, wood floors are easier to clean and is more sanitary than carpet. It helps allergy sufferers, too, because you will get less dust and grime with hardwood floors. You can clean up spills easily, and this is great if you have little ones.

6. The place has nice touches, such as therapeutic grade essential oil infused liquid body wash, shampoo and conditioner. Simply amazing and left your body and the bathroom smelling like a spa. So relaxing.

7. For a new hotel in Brooklyn, you are getting quite a deal at the Box House. Their prices are very reasonable and they even give 10% to returning clients.

When we were packing up to leave, we all voiced the opinion that this was one of the best experiences we had had in Brooklyn. We could have stayed longer, and not many hotel experiences we have had made us want to stay on like the Box House did. We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction that is currently (2013) going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Box House was a good choice. It's very modern, clean, at a good location (3 Subway stops from Times Square), with young and cheerful staff.

They have several style rooms, some larger than others, some duplex, some more susceptible to outside noise, others totally quiet, but all in all -- we were happy. There's a nice exercise room and even a Sauna...

The hotel owns couple old "Checker Cab" vehicles that are used to shuttle guests to and from the subway stations (though half the time we walked), or to the nearby grocery stores, all for free.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to outside noise, make a point of it to ask for an "inside" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayasdad617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#6 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#5 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
#7 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Property: The Box House Hotel
Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Box House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing