We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Don't stay here - we don't want this place to become too widely discovered! This is a beautiful gem of a hotel with great staff. All the other rave reviews are on target - this place is clean, attractive, a great place to re-group and recoup after busy days in the city. We really are concerned that it will become a victim of success - they were already engaged in expansion building when we stayed there mid-Sept (2012). Can they keep up the level of friendly service and attention to detail? We really, really hope so - this is the best place we've stayed in over a dozen trips to NYC. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EddieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was fantastic!!! It was a villa and luxury hotel rapped into one!!! This is a great place for a short getaway and would be nice for a small dinner party. I booke this hotel from a offer from groupon and it was one of the best offers that they have provided. It's very close to public transportation and to local restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are look for a step above a villa space with the luxury included, this is the place to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SSWtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very clean, very comfortable and more like a cool loft apartment than a hotel room. Our top floor loft had an amazing view of the city. The vintage cabs they have available are a terrific service. The drivers were friendly, the cabs were beautiful and the service was free (although we tipped heavily since the drivers were so accommodating.) Our only complaint was the the area was industrial and we were not comfortable walking back from the subways late at night. The street is not well lit and there were some homeless and graffiti in the neighborhood. But that's coming from two beach chicks traveling alone, so maybe it's not as bad as our imaginations let us believe. Overall it was a great refuge after a day in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sidedoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading about it on TA. Its in an unusual location in Brooklyn but very well placed for NY. The hotel lay on a vintage taxi to take you to the local tube station which is only one stop from Grand Central. We arrived late at night but the staff were excellent, gave us a very good impression and made sure we were OK with our surroundings. We met the other reception staff during or week long stay and all were excellent. This is a great NY hotel but at reasonable prices for NY and very convenient although at first glance this does not appear to be the case. But above all the staff are wonderful. Well done Box House.

Room Tip: We had a loft apartment at 101. Very spacious and has all you need for a week long stay. Suits a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianseabourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was our first trip to New York. The place is wonderful, you can easily buy fruits or whatever and prepare it for you in the morning or when you wish.Rooms are very comfortable, light, clean. Staff is very friendly and willing to help. location is great just few stations from Times sq. (straight line) and you can easily get to the hotel from JFK airport (using LIRR). Very nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Natalya_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the website, to the booking, to our arrival we had nothing but a successful trip. We were upgraded without asking, given outstanding advice for getting on the subway, to the airport and within the two mile radius of the hotel we traveleded no cost in a vintage taxi. Our loft was very clean comfortable and felt like a home not a hotel. We attended the Us Open, saw a broadway show, "The book of Morman", and were able to visit two museums, The MOMA, Museum of Modern Art and the Museum of Natural History, plus the Empire State Building and shop! All of this in 5 days! We were close to everything just a subway trip! Mr.Singh, our taxi driver took us out of his way so we could get to my son's apartment which was off his course. He stayed with us to be sure we reached our destination. THank you so much to all of the staff!

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best view of the city! We had a lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 458Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Brilliant apartment, Light and spaacious, everything you could possibly need. We stayed in November and it was warm enough. Would be great in the summer too as the apartment we had, had a roof area with views of the Empire state and the city skyline. The beds were massive and comfy I shared with my mum and didn't even notice she was there.
It was really east to get into the city - cross the Pulaski bridge and then onto the number 7 train into Grand central or Times Square. .The bridge always had people going over so felt safe We even came back at 6am after a thanksgiving midnight madness of shopping.! If you have trouble with stairs this may not be the best route for you though. The area of Greenpoint was also a busy little area and we found some nice local diners and supermarkets. I would recommend for any of my friends to stay here. The staff were also really helpful and provided numbers for local cab firms before our trip and on our last day allowed us to store our luggage while we had a last minute tour of the city / shopping trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizlozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 75 in Brooklyn
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 75 in Brooklyn
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 75 in Brooklyn
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 75 in Brooklyn
382 reviews
3.3 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#5 of 75 in Brooklyn
567 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 75 in Brooklyn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $151 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northern tip of Greenpoint, the Box House Hotel offers an authentic Brooklyn experience. This converted factory and its modern 4-story addition, combine to total 130 rooms. The converted factory features spacious loft suites with soaring ceilings, factory details, and kitchenettes. While the new addition sits on top of the factory and is comprised of modern standard rooms, many of which have terraces and views of the NYC skyline including the Empire State Building. All of the rooms are curated with original artwork and hints of nostalgia with thoughtful decoration and decor. Guests enjoy access to the hotel's fitness center with sauna and steam showers as well as dining at the restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing