We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

After staying in central Manhatten for 9 nights coming here was an absolute pleasure. Granted the outside of the hotel is not what you expect but inside its beautiful. The decor is stylish and modern and the rooms are large and filled with all modern technology. The safe are over helpful and friendly, this really showed after a problem with my card upon arrival the staff did their best to help with the situation. A definate recomendation and bargin.
Plus thankyou once again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed for three nights at the Box House in May. I was on my own and a little apprehensive about being in New York. The Box House was perfect - the staff were very helpful - printed out directions and subway numbers to get to a tour I had booked. The walk to the subway is short, and the view on the bridge is fantastic. The room was huge and had a homey feel about it, very clean. After talking to others staying in New York, the Box House is a bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

On arrival we were a little worried as the outside of the hotel is not the prettiest however, any worries we may have had were quickly erased once we got inside. This place is an absolute gem.

The rooms were more like apartments and felt really cosy and homely. The pictures don't do them justice.

The only problem was the Wifi - it wasn't very strong and made using the internet and trying to use the Apple TV very difficult. Technology aside, couldn't recommend it any more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

overall - i loved this place. it was quite, super spacious, and very comfortable. while i originally hesitated on the location (it's at the VERY edge of greenpoint), it's actually really close to some great coffee shops, restaurants and bars, and a few blocks from the Greenpoint Ave G train/a walk over the Pulaski Bridge from the 7 train - one shot into the city to Grand Central. a few things that i didn't like so much:
1. no cleaning service - i stayed for 6 days and it wouldve been nice to have it cleaned at least once
2. you have to pay for EVERYTHING up front. makes me nervous...and i've never had to do this at ANY other hotel
3. their cancellation policy - i decided to cut my stay short by one day, but according to their policy, you cannot change your reservation, without penalty, unless it's two weeks in advance. after a lot of arguing over the sheer ridiculousness of this (it was when i checked in, 7 days before the actual day i wanted to cancel), they finally called a manager and ok'd it.

otherwise, it was all good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My fiance and I have just returned from a truly excellent stay here.
The staff were all so welcoming, friendly and helpful - we recently got engaged and were greeted by a bottle of champagne upon arrival which was such a thoughtful touch.
We were given a beautiful loft suite which had pretty much everything needed for a really comfy stay. It was full of really interesting furniture and bits & pieces.
The bed and bedding were excellent, as were the kitchen facilities, there are two massive tv's and a really comfortable and spacious living area. My fiance has trouble sleeping at nights but the traffic on the bridge didn't disturb him or me, the bed was so comfortable i'm going to buy it for our home as we slept so well.
Our terrace faced onto the Pulaski Bridge so it wasn't the prettiest of views and it did feel like everyone crossing the bridge could see into the apartment, but i'm not shy and didn't mind that so much. But if you are shy maybe ask for a room with more privacy, I wouldn't let the terrace put anyone off as it's unlikely you'll spend much time out there as Brooklyn has so much to offer! I would highly recommend 'Sweet Leaf' cafe at the end of the bridge if you go to take the 7 train - easily the best coffee and scones i've had.
Williamsburg is great for drinking, eating and bowling, in fact pretty much all of Brooklyn is, it's so lovely to just walk around and stumble upon great independent shops and eateries.
The only bad meal we had was at the famous Peter Luger steakhouse, it was so overpriced and we left feeling disappointed with the food and the service, ( I was so shocked as generally the service in NY is impeccable) really i'd avoid it like the plague!
You'll find much better steaks, starters and side dishes elsewhere. We paid around $16 for 1 x beef tomato which was sliced into 4 and accompanied by three 2cm thick pieces of raw onion - the tomato wasn't ripe and there was no seasoning or dressing, it just didn't taste of anything. Anyway, i'll save the rest of my review for their page as this is meant to be a positive review of the excellent Box House!

Greenpoint as an area is a little rough and ready but I really like that and I think it's a great place. I didn't ever feel unsafe.
We would definitely stay at the Box House Hotel again, it's excellent value for money and would happily recommend it to friends and family, really the only flaw with our room was it was very bright in the mornings which meant we got up at 7am - but again, we really wanted to make the most out of our trip so didn't mind the early morning starts but others might want a lie in, so black out blinds might be a good investment.
Please do go and find out for yourself what a great place this is, we are saving up now for our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great stay at a great place. We stayed for 6 nights in April 2012. I was a little nervous at first because all the reviews were glowing and first time reviewers. Good sized room, furnished nicely. Close to 2 subway lines, G & 7 trains(10 minutes). Don't let the outside fool you. It used to be a door manufacturing plant. It was turned into apartments, then a hotel. Industrial area, but 1 street away (Manhattan Ave) is a few shops and restaurants on the way to the G train. Over the Pulaski bridge to the 7 line. 3 stops to Times Square. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Homerj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The exterieur of the hotel may not be flashy or grand, this hotel has apartments which are brand new and our apartment was lovely. The decoration was very tasteful and the fact you have a whole and fully equipped apartment is a great way to visit a city. Round the corner of the hotel there are restaurants and bars, like Anella and The Mark bar. From the back entrance you can walk across the bridge and take the subway to Manhattan, a very easy and short ride.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
321 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#5 of 72 in Brooklyn
429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,450 reviews
1.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $173 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing