We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing brunch”
Review of SOCO

SOCO
Reserve with OpenTable
SOCO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #181 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ryerson & Grand
Description: SOUTHERN FUSED CUISINE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing brunch”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

It is really good. Southern style food but really fancy. Service is good, fast and accurate. After a wonderfull bruch with unlimited mimosa for $12 we were ready to hit the city. They take reservarion is the best way to get in on sunday. Chicken over red velvet waffles, eggs benedits and famers omellet are the best...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonito4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So Good!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant had the best mac and cheese that I have ever had. Everyone in the restaurant was having it delivered to their tables. The shrimp, lobster and grits was also fabulous. I wish I had known about this restaurant earlier in my visit to Brooklyn. I would have been back for another great meal. Loved the upbeat hip music playing also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoIvVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were staying in a hotel in Brooklyn and asked for a lunch recommendation at the front desk. The clerk said "SOCO" and gave us directions. We had no idea what kind of food to expect.

After quite a long walk we arrived there and we were surprised to find that SOCO was short for Southern Comfort. Being that all of us were from Texas, we were a bit hesitant, and to be honest, I was afraid they would be serving some "Yankeefied" versions of really delicious dishes that I can easily eat at home on a regular basis.

But my fears turned out to be unfounded. Our waiter turned out to be from Houston, and several of the others running the place were also from Texas. And what they are serving at SOCO are some very creative (and delicious) twists on traditional Southern dishes.

At our table we enjoyed three of the lunch specials - the fried chicken sandwich, the shrimp po' boy, and the pulled pork sandwich. We all opted for the fries on the side instead of the salad.

The portion sizes were very generous and the prices quite reasonable. Best of all, everything was delicious!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cuisine!! In Brooklyn”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you're in the mood for great tasting southern cuisine with a nice ambiance and service, then SoCo is the spot to visit. This past Mother's Day 2013, I and three other hungry folks ventured into this lively restaurant to sample their lunch. Each and everyone of us enjoyed immensely his lunch. We had the Mac n cheese, blackened salmon, red velvet waffles and fried chicken and steak. All the dishes were deeeelicious..and sumptuously filling, which excluded us from sampling their desserts..a slight disappointment. Our server, Rob, was very attentive and professional. So whenever you decide to visit Clinton vicinity downtown Brooklyn, drop by SoCo to quench your southern cuisine cravings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hkterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Southern Food Fusion like none other”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Ladies' Night menu was out of this world! My selections--the creole gumbo, blackened salmon, mac and cheese and the chef's choice for desert were all outstanding! Service staff is congenial, atmosphere is alive with banter, and every platter that was placed before guests had to first be appreciated for its awesome presentation before being devoured for its deliciousness! Will definitely not be waiting long before returning to experience the other selections. A must-visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOCO also viewed

 

Been to SOCO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing