We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Red Hook Lobster Pound
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Hook Lobster Pound is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This review is actually for the Red Hook Lobster Truck, which has the same menu, but, they're on wheels! They have the most delicious lobster rolls, and lobster I ever had. Very time I get the chance to go to New York, I make it a point to know exactly where the truck is, and go get my lobster fix, find a place where to sit, your knees will buckle (mine did). You need to try it, you'll love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Decent Lobster Roll but open your wallet”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had seen rave reviews of this restaurant on TV, and so we took a $20 taxi ride from our hotel for no other reason than to eat here. We ordered the lobster rolls (they have two styles), and the lobster was fresh and tasty. But with two orders and two soft drinks, it was a $50+ lunch (that's without the cab ride).

We are not exaggerating in saying we ate our lobster roll in 3 bites. It was a nice lunch, but at $6 per bite, it is not worth it to eat on a picnic table and have this overpriced sandwich.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Throbbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“From Maine to Brooklyn to Tasty”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is a small storefront on a busy street, but make your way here if you have a hankering for a lobster roll and traveling to Maine is not on your schedule. We were taking advantage of the beautiful weather and decided that a stroll along the Brooklyn waterfront, with a lobster roll in hand, was the perfect week-end treat. There was a line, but it moved quickly and in no time, we were sitting in the sun, enjoying our rolls and chips. The bun is toasted with butter, the lobster chunks meaty and the seasoning mild. We also shared the lobster mac 'n cheese and, while it is truly a killer mac recipe, there were only a few large chunks lobster in it; I would have enjoyed it more if the two main ingredients were integrated a little better. A meal from here is definitely in the 'treat' category, but when something has the ingredient 'lobster' in it, you are always going to pay a little more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great great Lobster Rolls!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My daughter and I went there last night. The food was worth the travel from Long Island!! The staff was super cool! Will go again with friends and family. Down to earth place, with great food! :) They are open all year round.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacks2467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very good lobster and shrimp rolls. But on the small side. Considering the location, probably quite good and reasonable. Just a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pfafftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hook Lobster Pound also viewed

 

Been to Red Hook Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing