We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!”
Review of NY Moore Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NY Moore Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for a week in October 2012, the week before hurricane Sandy. At first the hostel seemed to be in a bad location, bit of a dodgy area, but once you get your bearings you realise its just a bit industrial and even coming back late at night I never felt unsafe as a single female traveller. It's a 2 minute walk to the subway station and there are bars/cafes close by, one is open 24 hours.

The hostel is very clean, spacious, and the staff are friendly. The room i stayed in (6 bed female dorm) was HUGE. All beds were doubles and again very clean. Even though you were sharing, you felt like you had your own space. There street in front of the hostel was pretty noisy, bad enough to close the windows. But i took ear plugs and slept pretty well most nights.

Free tea/coffee in the common room which also had about 5 or 6 computers with pretty fast internet, DVDs, nice big TV and a fridge,kettle,microwave and toaster. There are also a couple of vending machines for snacks/drinks.

I would definately stay here again, especially with friends as it is a really cool lively area and so worth the money,

Room Tip: Make sure you sit on the bed and test the mattress before taking the bed...just because it looks com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank just_pottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 208 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here over the holidays last year in 2011. It was one of the best experiences I had in hostels I've stayed in the US & Canada... The staff are friendly. The hostel has the perfect combination of cozy & fun. They were renovating and constructing parts of the hostel at the time, I'm sure it looks even better now. I do not think you will find a better deal in NY. Very close to the subway station. Huge beds, free wifi, towels... a nice hangout zone is their living room with a TV and computer. Roberta's is a few mins away. I will definitely stay there if I go to NY again. I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been here twice and I will never regret it. You have the easygoing atmosphere like in over hostels but here you have it in a comfortable and cozy living-room :) The whole hostel is clean and cushy. The Bedrooms (dorm) are really big !!! Everybody will find his/her private zone and the beds are very comfortable and even big enough for a 6'5"-guy. The staff is helpful and friendly and they all will help out if sth. is needed or you need an advice for nightlife, sightseeing or anything else. The Bar-Map they've created is awesome !!! So many good Bars here in Williamsburg that you forget thinkin about visiting a Manhatten Bar :)

Overall ... This is one of the best Hostels I've ever been to and I will definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The 6-Bed-Dorms are the best ones I've seen around the world!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Phildi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I spent there only one noght but I think I will always remember this place :) The location mb is not really lovely but it's very very good inside. People are communicationg with each other, the inrerior is lovely and this hostel is CLEAN! Staff is also very nice and friendly. I definately recommend it to the people who want to hve a nice place to stay and to make new friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshutka52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great place to visit Manhattan. Close to a subway station, really big rooms with vintage furniture, private bathroom, excellent staff friendly and helpful. Free WiFi and acces to computers, water and coffee. I definitely would come back and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

After a 5 week trip around the States I had the good fortune to stay at the NY Moore Hostel. The location is fine, looks a little dodgy but it all good. The staff are great, they enjoy their work and really like to engage with everyone. A BBQ and Keg was put on to celebrate the 4th of July and a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwinzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed both here and around the corner at NY loft hostel, and the Moore definitely took the cake! The staff are absurdly friendly and the beds are not bunks and are quite comfy. Only downside is there is no breakfast and the kitchen is not equipt enough to be called a kitchen. Otherwise, what are you waiting for? This hostel rules!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbitfish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklyn
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
#44 of 74 in Brooklyn
776 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
BKLYN House
#25 of 74 in Brooklyn
405 reviews
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NY Moore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NY Moore Hostel

Address: 179 Moore St, Brooklyn, NY 11206-3707
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Brooklyn
Price Range: $44 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NY Moore Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NY Moore Hostel. We are a very good choice if your are looking for a quiet, secure, clean space which is conveniently close to New York City. There are two close subway stations and Bus line. Only 15 minutes to Manhattan. Every room is designed based on your unique needs. We have different spaces for different needs. Spacious and Huge rooms for Families or couples Private rooms for couple one- two or three queen bed up to 8. Either if you are traveling alone or with a company, we have what you are looking for. Our rates are affordable and our availability is flexible. Excellent location in Brooklyn 15 minutes to Manhattan. 5 minutes to L N M train Flushing and Montrose avenue 25 Minutes to JFK International airport. 20 Minutes to LaGuardia airport. 10 Minutes to Brooklyn downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your NY Moore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing