We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!!!”
Review of The Purple Yam

The Purple Yam
Ranked #340 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Filipino
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a little hidden gem! This place was great!!! There were 4 of us so we ordered a bunch of different plates and shared. The Pork sliders with kimchee was the best! I think we ordered 2 plates of those since we were warned they were wonderful and addicting. The duck was to die for! We got there early and sat on the patio which has plenty of shade since it was nice and hot out. By the time we left, the place was packed and there were people waiting outside the front door. It's a must do if you're in the Brooklyn area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rednkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun Menu!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were 6 people enjoying a lot of shared dishes family style. We had great starters including pork on a bun and kimchee. Waitstaff seemed spread a little bit thin. We were there on a Sunday evening and the place was packed and VERY noisy. Acoustics are tough! Food, however, was very good! We thought that the variety of the menu made it a great experience. Two dishes came out of the kitchen not as described on menu. In one case a substitution based on better fresh ingredients. The other case was a goof-up which they fixed right away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, waitstaff needs better training”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love the food at Purple Yam but the waitstaff needs better training. A waiter spilled my drink on me and didn't replace it. I asked him to replace it and he said sure, but nothing. The food is not cheap and is worth the price but that quality of the food doesn't compare with the service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ykodama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Filipino Delight”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great Filipino-Korean restaurant in the heart of Ditmas Park's burgeoning restaurant scene. Creative, fun, and spicy cuisine served up in a welcoming atmosphere. The entire experience is memorable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Briar, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friend and I visited The Purple Yam in March 2013. We both got special dishes that are not on the online menu. We had steamed dumplings with pull pork as starters. The fresh cilantro combined with pork meat and the soft, sweet, warm, fluffy steamed dumpling bread was so tasty. For my entree I had a bowl of lamb stew. There where whole okra pods in the stew, which I loved. The flavors and spices were so lovingly balanced. It was also a bit spicy. Easily the best lamb stew I have ever eaten! For dessert, I had the flan, which was wonderful as well.

The wait staff were not intrusive, yet they were very attentive. The place gets noisy when crowded, as it was the Friday night I was there. But its probably just the excellent food getting everyone worked up into good conversations. The wine menu is limited. They didn't have any malbec, but cab franc we drank instead was very nice. If you're in Brooklyn, it's well worth the stop to experience Filipino cuisine at The Purple Yam.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Signalfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Yam also viewed

 
Brooklyn, NY
 

Been to The Purple Yam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing