We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable flat, great location and community”
other travelers have booked this property
Floor Through View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floor Through View
Ebony fireplace surround, painted brick and modern furnishings. Open living plan with door to the backyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Floor Through View
Ebony fireplace surround, painted brick and modern furnishings.
Open living plan with door to the backyard
Glass dining table
Kitchen Entrance
Kitchen with view to the backyard
Full Bathroom with linen closet
Spacious Bedroom with wainscoting, hardwood floors and slate fireplace.
Exposed brick
Backyard
Private Entrance
NYC Marathon 2011
Fall street view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brooklyn, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Finnish first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Denis_McQ...
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Comfortable flat, great location and community”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed with shirley in the seond half of June, and hjad a gera welcome. Her sister lives round the corner and she looked after us during our visit. It was pretty easy to familiarise yourself with the area but if anything it was much better than any of the reviews suggested.
You are living very close to the g line, with a top notch sandwich/fressh cooked food eatery on the corner, a comprehensive supermarket across the road and a lovely cafe bar round the corner.
The flat is straightforward.comfortable and has all you'll need for a comfortable stay(we were there two weeks and used the basement laundry equipment).
The district is very relaxed, friendly and handy for Brooklyn Academy of Music, Downtown Brookly and also a host of bars/eateries in Fort Greene and surrounding area.
The only quiblle would be the garden which is in the shade and has the threat of mosquitos the size of small birds! However we used the flat as a base for not just Brooklyn, but all of Manhatten and a one off visit to Staten Island. We had a grea time and would return if shirley will have us?

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and Flat
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariarich...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Live like a New Yorker!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Recently stayed at this lovely apartment with my husband on a visit to NYC to experience the real New York and wow, what a lovely experience. We've stayed in hotels before but found some could be a bit hit and miss so wanted to experience it in a more New Yorker style and this apartment was ideal.

Great Brooklyn location with subway stations close buy, a lovely cafe/bakers just along on the corner (amazing food!!) and a really nice vibe generally.

The apartment was clean, with comfortable bed and great sofas to relax on after a long day sightseeing.

The kitchen has everything you need from a kettle to coffee maker, microwave to oven, and most importantly for a holiday - a dishwasher!

Much bigger than the photos but just was cool! Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space!
Liked least: Some traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyageurA...
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment for a young family”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed there recently for four nights with our four-months old baby. It was perfect for us! The bedroom is very large and there is ample space for a travel crib. The apartment was very clean when we arrived and well equipped, including WiFi, TV, A/C and washer/dryer. There are a few nice coffee places just around the block and the subway is only a 3-5 minutes walk from there. Furthermore, Clinton Hill is a central location that makes it easy to visit many neighbourhoods in Brooklyn. I would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, air conditioning
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasjub...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have both been to Manhattan individually over the years so we decided to check out Brooklyn. Shirley's apartment is as great as the images. Lovely decor, comfortable apartment. It's moments away from two Metro lines which made getting in and out of Manhattan a breeze (despite the terrible NYC metro system). It's also really close to some amazing places - the Pratt Institute sculpture park, Williamsburg (very cool), Dekalb Avenue which has some great food places. Dough - the best donuts down the road, Marietta - a great restaurant round the corner. Shirley was friendly but left us to our own devices which was great. We had to stay an extra day as we had a late flight which was no problem. Shirley also responded super quick on email which was great - so highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland - New Zealand
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevinoz
Cessnock, NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great neighborhood, great hosts, experience the real Brooklyn”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This property was an excellent choice for our first foray into the vacation rental market. The hosts were great, with easy communication and flexibility for booking. We were greeted late at night upon arrival and given a summary of the apartment with the keys.

My wife and I liked the quiet neighborhood with a supermarket and a great cafe within a minutes walk. The apartment had fast wifi and large LCD TV with cable television. The apartment was very roomy with good storage space for clothing and luggage. Great bathroom facilities, plenty of linen.

NYC and Brooklyn information and guides provided.

The kitchen is very well equiped with all the appliances you would need for a short or a lengthy stay.

The "G" subway station is a couple of minutes walk with excellent connection (walk across the platform at Hoyt and Schermerhorn station) to the Manhattan "A" and "C" trains around 30 minutes to Manhattan.

We found the neighborhood to be friendly and helpful, with some great restaurants and cafes within walking distance (Thanks Shirley and Liam).

If going to NYC again we would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, relaxed, safe, neighorhood, great hosts
Liked least: We were a little too big for the bed lol
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing