We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to Manhattan”
Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Indigo
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Comfortable boutique hotel with only 5 or 6 rooms per floor. Lots of options for subways into the city. Walking distance to the Barclays Center (or subway 2 stops away) and a few good restaurants and shops on Atlantic Ave and Montague. If you don't mind walking.

The bed was very comfortable and room nicely decorated. It's a one-way street so there's not any street noise during the night - which in Manhattan can be extremely loud.

Downside - it's a neighborhood in transition with construction all around. In fact the buildings next door are slated for demolition - so call ahead. And Fulton St. is a mix bag of characters. But I never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mooshka19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Mooshka19,

Thank you for the amazing review! Its great news to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while discovering the place we call home. Downtown Brooklyn is the place to be! Our neighborhood is in transition and we anticipate many new additions that our guests can enjoy. Come visit us again soon there is so much more to show you!

Safe Travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 620 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

NU Hotel cheaper and area so much more charming. Ugly section of Brooklyn specialising in fast food and big boxes. Staff was friendly rod clean and new. Not worth the price, surrounding blocks contain stores closed at night making areas feel unsafe.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank RBartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear RBartley,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Brooklyn! We are sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable in our neighborhood during your stay with us. Downtown Brooklyn is in transition and we are expecting some wonderful additions that would be great for our visitors.. :) The team says hello and thank you for the great comments about our staff and cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is walking distance to the Brooklyn Bridge and has easy access to the Subway to take you to Manhattan or any other direction. It was a bit hard to find but once I found it, it was hotel row with Sheraton and Aloft across the street. The hotel restaurant was a bar/restaurant which is basically pub food.

The room was modern and clean. Updated and very functional. Rooms were decent sized for New York but the main benefit was it's accessibility to all major subways and bus lines. Parking is not included so be sure to factor in about $35 a night extra if you are driving. Overall a good experience and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear KarlLin,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts abut your recent stay. With close to 10 subway lines near us , we pride ourselves on being one of the most traveler friendly locations in Downtown Brooklyn! We chose this location because we are committed to providing Great Hotels Guests Love and we understand what our guest need- comfort and convenience.

Our restaurant The Brooklyn Brewhouse specializes in Brooklyn based treats. I must say that the food definitely hits the spot especially when paired with a Brooklyn pale ale :) . Next time your in town, be sure to ask the Front Office Team about some local favorites that you cant find anywhere but in Brooklyn! There is so much our neighborhood has to offer.

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I came in August to visit LIU Brooklyn and other colleges in NYC. There is lots of construction going around this hotel. It appears Brooklyn is booming. If you want to sleep in late, this is not the place for you. That being said you cam enjoy a good nights sleep, if you get up at 8am. The beds are really comfortable. Great shower. Try to get a higher floor. We were on 18. King leisure room. Skip the breakfast included. It's $15 off for the room in the Brewhouse restaurant connected to the hotel. Not exactly a free breakfast for two, as I was expecting. The subway is down the block, easy to get to Manhattan. Would stay again, great location, great service.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ssajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear ssajan,

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure to be your host during such a special time for you and your daughter. Kindly accept my apologies if you were awoken by construction noise during your stay. We do anticipate some wonderful additions in the area for our guests to enjoy. Higher floors away from construction are available- just ask a team member, we are here to help!

Thank you for your feedback and good luck during your quest to find the perfect college!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice accommodations for the money (across the street from the pricier Sheraton). Good location with nearby shopping, restaurants and subway access. Valet parking is $10 more than dropping the car at the lot yourself (around the block). Second floor lounge is wasted space in NY. Perhaps offer a continental breakfast instead of an empty lounge. We heard plenty of street noise from our 6th floor room; but no noise from the hotel. All-in-all not too shabby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (further away from the street) may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JBE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Famly0f4Vacati0ners,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us in Brooklyn. For now- breakfast will be offered in our Brewhouse restaurant, however we do plan to host different events and parties in the lounge space as we have done in the past . For now, we like to have an area for our guests to relax and watch some TV, maybe even get some work done on their laptops or enjoy a nice cocktail at the bar during happy hour.. :)

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Pretty decent hotel with very very small rooms. The size wasn't surprising for NYC but it would have been uncomfortable with another person. Good for a short trip. They have valet parking and the restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It's close to shopping and the subway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear BryanC,

Thank you or sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Next time your in town ask the Front Desk Team aboutsome hidden gems in town- there is so much more to see! Also keep in mind we have a variety of room sizes avaiable that would suit any size preference, just ask a team member and we can point you in the right direction.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

After two short stays in this hotel, I am not entirely swayed either way.
The location is fine if you have things to do in Brooklyn, or even if you are looking for something cheaper than Manhattan but with good connection (there are plenty of subway lines in the surroundings that will take you almost anywhere).
The price only tends to be slightly cheaper than similar hotels in Manhattan, and that's not always true (for the same price, with similar conditions, unless my business is imperatively in Brooklyn, I'd rather stay in Manhattan).

The hotel is either new or very recently renovated, with modern and rather good taste.

I have stayed in a Standard Queen room and in a Suite.
The Standard Queen room may have been the smallest room I have ever been to. There was barely enough space for the queen bed, which on one side was almost entirely pressed against the window (one had to be on top of the bed to draw the curtains), and on the other side was a micro-nightstand. The was a small desk propped against the wall of the hallway (the passage between the door of the room and the tiny square surface where the bed was).
The Hudson Hotel is one of my reference points regarding tiny room sizes (their standard rooms are pretty ridiculous), but I am considering using now the Indigo Brooklyn scale.

On the other hand, the Suite was gorgeous. Nice and adequately spacious, with a decent living-room area and bedroom area separated by an interesting arch-slash-wall (see pictures). The quality of the bedding was perfectly fine and I don't recall hearing a noise.
The bathroom, too, was well sized, modern, functional, and well stocked.

I must say that the staff was very friendly and helpful every time.

If I were to go back, it would definitely have to be a Suite. There's no way on Earth my ego and I can fit on a Standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DanielKalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Danielkalen,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your experiences at Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. We are oh so happy to know that you decided to return to us! Keep in mind that we have many room type available that would accommodate any size preference. Im sure you and your ego would fit well in one of our double rooms or executive king room as well :). Whatever you need rest assured we can get it for you! Thanks for staying with us- we look forward to your return. Third times a charm!


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 74 in Brooklyn
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5302 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $103 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing