We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend In The City”
Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend In The City”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo over a weekend. The staff was very helpful, pleasant, caring and courteous. Just great! The room was small but well appointed and had windows that allowed us to see the Brooklyn Navy Yard and the beginning of the bridge. Just below was a construction site that was fascinating to watch. We were on the 10th floor and did not hear any construction noise. We didn't have 'neighbors' so I don't know about room-to-room noise. One anomaly was the apparent lack of hot water in the sink but the problem was corrected by running the shower for a minute (or less, since hot water in the shower was almost instantaneous). The location was fine...easy access to the subway stations and right off the Fulton Street Mall. Saturday we walked to an open air market near the Borough Hall. Should have brought the dog since they are allowed for a fee.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner...windows on 2 walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your time to write us such positive feedback. We have shared your kind words to our team. Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate you enjoyed your accommodations. Our location is the best to enjoying the city.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Chelsea – Social Media Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    201
    101
    40
    40
See reviews for
104
164
69
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just awful experience here. Booked the Pizza package, nothing mentioned at check in, no mention of my Platinum status after coming in from a 18.5 hour flight. Nothing. Went up to the room and started searching for the other half of the room - small is an understatement. The Room is actually a fire hazard and 2 people in here with suitcases and a fire, you are toast. The bed was comfortable but the staff seem like they need more training. Complained about the room and the staff tells me its a 'boutique' hotel - they should educate staff to look at someone status as a platinum member who is well travelled knows Boutique does not equate for tiny - try the Hotel Indigo in NJ or in Ottawa - its 2 times the size. Toilet is low, so was the paper and the lack of space was bizarre. Does the staff even know the different types of rooms they have. They asked if I wanted to speak to the GM, who was supposedly on a conference call and took their call but would not speak to me as he would call or email - nothing. Terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your time to write us a review. We recognize that our rooms may be smaller than what you accustom to.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any other discussions.

Best regards,
Jason D’Agostino – General Manager
(T) 718-254-6815
(E) jason.dagostino@downtownbrooklynhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo July 26,2013 to july 28,2013. The room was very small and clean.
While out and about on July 27,2013 someone entered my room and stole a credit card and a State of Florida drivers license. The GM/Jason was completely indifferent and absolutely uncooperative in our efforts to have a police report filed. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear valued guest and travelers,

Our team has taken many initiatives to preserve the integrity of our property and the safety and security of all whom visit and work.

From background checks to security, to safety deposit boxes available in each room.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any further discussions.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for one night in Hotel Indigo. Even though, the rooms are small. The quality of the bed and the shower made up for it and hey it is New York. Whatever you do is not spending the day at your hotel room but if you had to because you were will, you will be just fine with magnificen views, comfy bed and some books or magazines to read.
We visited Brooklyn due to a family member being illed. The day was long, we spend most of the afternoon at the New York Methodist Hospital. We got to the hotel very last, there was a lot of traffic. The shower is great, the bed is very comfortable. We were in the 17th floor with spectacular views., In the morning while we got ready we could watch the Tour de France in the wonderful flat screen. We did not use the restaurant or bar but the accomodations were great. Very minimalistic. IN the morning we could not miss to go at the terrace in the top to see how it would look like., Seemed refreshing and if not tired we could have spent some time and had some drinks. Next time we visit we will.

Room Tip: We were in the 17th floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your time to share your experience staying in Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. We are glad that you love our hotel and you enjoyed your stay. We aim to provide our guests the best service and living spaces.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Chelsea – Social Media Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved it! We booked two rooms for our family and enjoyed each room. Our teenagers were in Heaven with the modern features such as the decorated ceilings & glass showers. Rooms are small, but who comes to NY to stay in their room? The rooms are modern, beds are comfy, our view was great, and the storage under the bed was convenient. Check in & check out were a breeze, b/c of the friendly & efficient front desk staff (Thanks Sue)! Our room came with free pizza & soda from the bar/restaurant which was convenient & had great service! Location was great.. Junior's Breakfast & Cheesecake was right around the corner. Valet service was wonderful also. Looking forward to another stay!!

Only downfall was one of the elevators was down on the morning of checkout, making wait time longer than usual.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - They're bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your time to write us such positive review. We have shared your kind words to our staff. Thank you for loving our hotel and we truly appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodations.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Chelsea – Social Media Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family of four needed a hotel with reasonable rates and queen size beds (husband and two sons over 6' 3") in Brooklyn for a weekend visit with relatives there. After much searching, Hotel Indigo was our choice. It's fairly near subway stops and has some decent restaurant choices nearby. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and was very quiet. More importantly it has a business center on the second floor so we could print some needed documents as well as free wi-fi (compared to the costly wi-fi charges in DC a few days before). We also ate at the Brooklyn Brewhouse connected to the hotel and found it reasonable as well as tasty. After our stay on double beds in DC the two days before, the beds at the Hotel Indigo seemed luxurious. We had to find alternate lodging due to the big water main break along the National Harbor area that sent many scrambling at the last minute to find vacant rooms. I highly recommend this hotel for any searching for nice accommodations in Brooklyn that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing us such positive feedback. We are more than glad to serve you and we appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is perfect for enjoying the area of the city.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Chelsea – Social Media Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 night on a work trip so my room doubled as my office for part of each day, and had a room on 11th Floor.

Great service in reception, smooth check-in, ordered cars for me (don't expect a yellow cab in Brooklyn, but prices are comparable) and check-out at 4am, including making sure I had a car waiting ready for the airport run.

Ideal if you're exploring Brooklyn, as I was, however there are stations within 5 to 15 minute walks in either direction. Jay St Metro Tech is a big one just around the corner with lines into Manhattan.

Rooms are compact but have everything you need with a decent size bathroom, walk-in shower, Aveda cosmetics and comfy bed/pillows. A fridge would have been useful to store bottled water. Aircon and free wifi was ideal, and there is a bar/restaurant off of reception which was open from breakfast onwards and was reasonably priced for decent 'pub' food. Two hotels opposite in case you fancy a change, I had breakfast in the Sheraton and it was much of a much-ness. There is also a Starbucks directly opposite although it's the only one in the world I've known to close at 4pm!

As other reviewers have said there is some construction going on right outside. It wasn't too disruptive, more so was the garbage van clattering around at 3am. That said I'm staying here again when I return later in the year for work, so would recommend for either business in Brooklyn or a leisure trip (bearing in mind you'll need to put in some time on the subway if you're sightseeing!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your time to share us your experience staying in Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. We are glad that you love our hotel and we appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodations.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Chelsea – Social Media Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Property: Hotel Indigo
Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5302 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing