We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - you have to stay here!”
Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel was stunning and the service impeccable. If you haven't stayed here before, please do. I took the subway from JFK to the Brooklyn stop just a block or two away.

Note: Don't let the neighborhood fool you. It's old, but was safe and great shopping is right outside the door!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the building were a bit noisy due to a bar/nightclub across the street, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We apologize for any disturbance. However, we truly

appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodation here in Hotel Indigo Brooklyn.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,

Chelsea – Social Media Intern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 620 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you're used to good cheap hotels, don't bother with New York. That being said, this one was the most you can expect for the price. It's clean (though the rooms are New York sized) and safe even though I didn't like having to walk through Fulton Mall so much. Great access to multiple subway lines as well as Smith and Court Streets for the great Brooklyn awesomeness. Would go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not on the street side; dance club across the street is bumping till 4 in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn.

Feel free to contact us directly for future reservations.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room was TINY. I asked if the queen room could hold 4 people and although I was told yes It could not. We were CRAMPED. My son has a disability which made it all worst. I felt so bad. I asked for a room upgrade and was offered a room upgrade at a ridiculous price that I could not afford. Please dont be fooled!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear valued guest,

I have reviewed your feedback and discussed it with our team. Please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice - the bed, decorations, gym and other amenities are fabulous. Hotel was recently remodeled and changed ownership so it is in top condition. The staff are also very friendly and have great restaurant recommendations. Hotel is in a good, safe area close to both local and express trains for getting around Brooklyn and into Manhattan. It can get a bit noisy (but that's just the city!), so ask for a higher floor if you can. Oh, and it has great blackout curtains!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Our team truly appreciates you sharing your experiences here at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn.

Feel free to contact us directly for future reservations.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the most extraordinarily bad hotel I have ever encountered. The rooms (we had 3 of them) are so small that they can just hold a bed, but not really enough room to walk around the bed. There is no storage space or hanging closet. There is a "slot" in the wall but filled with an ironing board. The bathroom is so small you cant stad there and open the door at the same time. Astonishingly, the very pleasant receptionist said we had been upgraded to "kings" - well, they must be rather tiny "princelings."

This is an expensive place and I suppose it shows that if you are located in New York you can make enough without ever thinking about repeat business.

It is clean and modern and the staff are pleasant and efficient. But for comfort, sleep in your car if you have one, otherwise just walk the streets - it will be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Nyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience with fellow travelers.

Feel free to contact me direct for future reservations.

Jason D'Agostino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Rented 4 rooms here last month for work event. My room was fine, clean, a little small but big deal. We had hot water but some in our group had none. Lobby is tiny and not a place to get together. Valet service worked well but not cheap. They did make a change to our reservation at the last minute with an extra person for no extra charge. If you need a convenient place to sleep in Brooklyn, great, if you want to spend time in hotel, not so much.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo. Service is our TOP priority.

Feel free to contact me directly for future accommodations.

Yours in hospitality,
Jason D’Agostino- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I guess I just haven't bought into the whole Brooklyn thing. I compare this stay to my most recent in NYC, at the Morgans Hotel in midtown, and it just doesn't quite measure up. The rooms were super tiny, breakfast was not included, there was no place to "gather." Maid service was hit-or-miss, and usually around 4-5 pm. On the plus side, the front desk staff was nice, the decor very cool, and the subway stations were close. all-in-all, unless you have a specific reason to be in Brooklyn (we did), I'm not sure the minimal $$$$ savings is worth it.

Room Tip: Nice views higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your candid feedback. Feel free to contact me direct at any time.

Thank you,

Jason D'Agostino
General Manager

Hotel Indigo Brooklyn
229 Duffield Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201

(P) 718-254-7800
(F) 718-254-7801
(E) jason.dagostino@downtownbrooklynhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 73 in Brooklyn
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 73 in Brooklyn
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 73 in Brooklyn
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5302 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $104 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing