We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel BPM Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hayward, California
1 review
“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I liked the hotel itself fine. I have no problem with the neighborhood. I never felt threatened or anything like that walking too and from the train.

the hotel itself is fine. only fine, but I'll explain that later. It was NYE and they had a party downstairs. also offer breakfast. We didn't participate in either of those things. It's no slight on BPM, we just don't like people or waking up before 11am.

Our problem was with how thin the walls seem. It would be like 3 or 4 am and doors would be slamming, we'd hear people talking in the hallway. That puts a serious cramp in your ability to sleep in until 11 or 12 and still be fully rested. pack earplugs or stop by Duane Reed to get some.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank banner_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am very sorry for your poor stay, NYE was a busy night for the hotel, we had many groups staying with us so a lot of celebrating was going on. I sincerely apologize for the noisy stay. Hopefully you can come visit us again I am sure the stay will be much quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    241
    128
    59
    59
See reviews for
127
247
83
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

It is a bit like this hotel was picked up from one of the modern high-end areas of Manhattan and dropped pretty much into a very run-down neighborhood in Brooklyn. One block in every direction there is basically no options for good quality New York food of any kind. The breakfast in the hotel was also pretty lousy and if I didn't have a business engagement to attend in another part of Brooklyn, I would have spent the entire 24 hours in the city stuck at the BPM.

All the ammenities in the BPM are 4-star and it has that nice boutique feel (rooms are comparable to other New York rooms), but not being comfortable walking around outside makes a second stay at the BPM unlikely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met when it came to the neighborhood that we are in, Hotel BPM is leading the way for Sunset Park to begin transitioning and still has some time to become as popular as other Brooklyn neighborhoods like Park Slope, or Williamsburg. However, I wouldn’t say that is necessarily a bad thing, what this neighborhood lacks in aesthetic appeal it gains in authenticity. This neighborhood offers up great Turkish, Latin Caribbean, Central American and South American food. Sunset Park is rich in these cultures and we have never before received complaints about the food in the surrounding area. Restaurants like Taksim, La Parada, La Familia, Big Johns and Spiros just to name a few, serve culturally authentic food, I am not sure what could be more New York than that. This neighborhood’s deep rooted history does not stop there; we are only steps away from the resting place of many influential people buried at Greenwood Cemetery such as Jean-Michel Basquait, Leonard Berstein and Horace Greeley. Getting to any other popular part of Brooklyn or Manhattan is extremely simple since we are only two express stops from Manhattan and we are only 20-30 minutes away from popular Brooklyn areas. I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities and I am happy to say that there is more to come very soon. We are definitely working to improve the breakfast menu and the items we have on it. Hopefully you can give us a second chance so can show you what this neighborhood can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and fixtures updated, but talk about tight space. There absolutely was no counter space in the bathroom so if you are a female, forget about having space to place your toiletries and makeup. I mean there was a one-inch lip around the edge of the sink. That's how bad it was. The shower was adequate and at least had updated fixtures. I stayed in a room with my daughter so we had two suitcases. We could barely walk between the bed and the desk in the room so we had to put our suitcases up next to the exit door to the room and squeeze through the door to get to the outside hallway. The closet was more like a cupboard and not full size so no room to put a suitcase or hang full size coats or dresses. I also did not think the service was outstanding at the front desk and the breakfast in the morning was about like a Holiday Inn Express, but worse. My final summation -- I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Unless they have bigger rooms and bathrooms with counter space, I'm not sure what other tip I co...
See more room tips
Green Features: I certainly didn't experience any environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42TexasTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night in December. Rooms are standard boutique size (read: SMALL). Streaming netflix on the room television was a plus. Don't be bamboozled by the "Open bar" during the weekends, it is a farce. Terrible, eastern european beer and house vodka comprise the "open bar." Staff was friendly. If you are not driving the location is problematic and FAR from other areas in BK and Manhattan. I do not recommend staying here for longer stays than a night or two, but Hotel BPM does serve the purpose of a brief, no-frills, affordable stay in NYC. If you do drive, do not opt for the hotel parking. Find street parking for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBPM, Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello Earllee,
Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel. Our rooms, just like many other hotels here are standard New York boutique size which is much smaller in New York than you would find in any other city. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Smart TV in your room.

I am sorry to hear that our free drinks did not meet your expectations as we not familiar with any other hotel that offers free drinks that we can we could compare our open bar to. We do however rotate the selection each weekend. I am happy you inform you that beginning in 2014 we will have a full selection of beers, wines, cocktails for our guests to chose from at the bar. As far as the European beer, we do our best to help match the needs of our international groups in house.

Many of our guests find traveling to Manhattan to be very easy as we located near an express line which just 3 streets away allowing for quick access to Manhattan hotspots as well as one stop access to the Barclay Center recently named the #1 area. As we do have parking available at the hotel we do inform all of our guests of the free local street parking available in the area.

We do hope you chose BPM again for your next travels to New York as we continue to improve and work to be very travelers favorite hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall, the hotel is fine; however, there were a couple of things that keep me from giving the htoel a stronger rating. The good news is that the manager was empathetic and handled our issues with respect and professionalism...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBPM, Brand Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Heather,
We are happy to hear that our team at BPM Brooklyn was able to assist you in your matter. We currently changed management and hope that this transition did you effect your stay with us. We would love to have you back with us again. Feel free to reach out to our AGM Ms. Roldan at rroldan@hotelbpmbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

A little out of the way but worth the effort. The friendly, gracious staff were most helpful and outstanding in every way. Parking is very limited. Short walk to the subway. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBPM, Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Rob S,
We understand some travelers may feel we are a bit in an odd location being luxury and modern hotel. We however love it, and see it as an escape from the crowded streets of Manhattan allowing you to relax after a long day out. I am happy to hear that you found us to be worth it being away from your travel areas. I am very happy to hear our team here were very helpful. We are look forward to see you again. We have a new restaurant and bar opening soon as well for you to enjoy during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Convenient location, three min walk away from metro, takes about 20 minutes to get to Manhattan. Nice and clean room and great shower, though no safe in the room. Very friendly and helpful receptionists. Wish u guys have more breakfast choices, other than that enjoyed my stay in New York very much!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenlin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBPM, Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Wenlin,
Thank you for the great review we hope that us not carrying safe's in our rooms did not stop you from giving us that 5 star review. You will be happy to learn that we will be re-doing our breakfast menu to offer free and paid items as well and starting a lunch and dinner service as well. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
0.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
2.4 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BPM Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BPM Brooklyn

Property: Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Address: 139 33rd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel BPM Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where music meets hospitality; Hotel BPM (inspired by the music term "beats per minute", referring to the pace count of a song), is about redefining the travel experience to a new generation of travelers, this lifestyle brand, focused around music entertainment culture, offers it's clientele a modern minimalist feel with upgraded amenities & aspects of music lifestyle mixed in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel BPM Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing