We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel BPM Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel very clean and only 10 subway to Central New York. The staff where outstanding willing too help with absolutely everything and came too your room every evening to make sure you had everything you needed or if they could get anything for you. I would 1000% stay there again when I visit New York. Only thing is the walls are thin and hear most things but didn't bother me in the slightest. Best hotel I have ever stayed in made my first New York experience even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    243
    128
    60
    60
See reviews for
129
249
85
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for almost one week. Half was for business in Brooklyn, the rest was for pleasure. No need to mention the rooms, they were great and others have described the rooms accurately. The breakfast was okay, free so I can't complain too much. The service at breakfast was slow, not because of the lack of effort by the staff, they were wonderful. They just needed more people working. Our waitress was running around serving everyone and apologizing for the slow service, but you couldn't blame her. She was great about it, she just needed help.
Ironing board - get one early if you think you'll need one. I asked for one and they were all out so I ended up getting one the next day, after asking again. Umbrellas at the desk, they ran out during a major rainstorm. Desk staff were amazing, friendly, helpful.
What I didn't like about the hotel was the location. During the day it was convenient to take the subway to midtown, but it's a trek if you want to go back to the room after a long day, and then head back out on the town. While I was there, there was work being done on the subway line that takes you into mid-town so you had to jump off and wait for another train, then sometime you would have to get back on further down the line. This was only in the evenings, so check this before you book. After everything, it was good value as the price was about half of what the hotels were charging in Manhattan. It was just a bit frustrating with the subway. I ended up taking taxis at night ($28 from lower east side to BPM). Oh yes, free drinks at night on the weekends was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itrvl4work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a decent, clean comfortable hotel in Brooklyn, which is a great value alternative to the pricy hotels in Manhattan. Rooms are fairly spacious, bathrooms nice and beds comfy, and the hotel is about 3 or 4 blocks from a subway station for good links to other parts of the city. The only problem we had was that the breakfast room is tiny, so you have to queue for a table, and when the food comes, they get your order wrong, or it doesn't come out at all. On our second day, they had run out of eggs by 8.30am, (therefore half of the menu was off). A bit ridiculous really, especially as there are a few shops around the corner...surely somebody would have had the bright idea of dashing out to buy some eggs. In summary, a good hotel, but don't get your hopes up for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markusl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel and it is always a GREAT experience. Everyone at the hotel is very helpful. It is a great location, close to the subway and downtown Brooklyn. I Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank shandaw11236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for two nights, a little tricky to find at first since we're from out of the city. We had a groupon for our stay which seems like we were able to slash our price in half, in comparison to their normal rates. Room was decent for the city, was expecting to be a bit larger. No where to really hang things (wet towels, clothes) besides the shower door or a small hook hidden behind the armoire. Bed wasn't all that comfortable, and the walls in our room desperately needed to be washed or repainted. There were dents and scuff marks on them, and the room felt a little drab. Everything in there was white, all it needs is a pop of color some where (the armoire would look amazing with some color on it). The bathroom was probably the best part of the room, especially the shower head! I loved the deeply frosted glass on the door to the bathroom and the porthole-esque window from the shower to the bedroom. Overall the hotel served its purpose, and the free drinks in the hotel are a great benefit, but needs a little TLC in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corebore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Got a great promotional deal through Tripadvisor; I LOVED Loved loved the BPM, had a wonderful stay. Room was beautiful, linens were comfy and fluffy, decor was restful, staff was helpful, breakfast the next day was exactly what I'd wanted. The front-desk person even helped me print out my flight reservation info, which I'd misplaced. Yes, this isn't Manhattan and the hood is... somewhat hood'sh. But I walked the neighborhood, shopped, ate nearby, found the historical (giant) park-like Green Wood Cemetery, walked further to Prospect Park, went to numerous boutiques, music stores and restaurants in Brooklyn. This hotel is just excellent for travelers who would enjoy getting to know the New York that lies beyond Broadway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel BPM for 5 nights in September. Our room was a king on the 3rd floor.

On arrival, the reception staff were friendly and courteous. Our room was a decent size for NY and had some clever design touches - the frosted glass window to give natural light into the bathroom; the speaker that allowed you to hear the TV/iPod dock to the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the mini bar and snack selection were well chosen although there wasn't any alcohol. Our room didn't contain a safe - we were told none of the rooms do despite the room descriptions on some hotel booking sites but they did offer to hold our valuables at reception. Design wise, the room was quite basic but modern.

The area where the hotel lacks is more in the details. The room was a bit scruffy with black marks on the wardrobe and small holes in the plasterboard walls. When we pointed this out, they sent someone to try and clean the marks but didn't offer us another room. The first night, one of the towels had a large hole in it. The second night, one of our glasses was chipped. When we pointed this out they took the glass away and didn't replace it. One night we'd have a bath mat, the other night they'd take it away. The rain shower was nice in principle but the water pressure was too low for us to actually use it - we had to resort to using the hand held shower to actually wash.

Breakfast was pretty good (if for some hot dishes clearly pre-prepared) and service was generally friendly, but you'd often have to wait to get a table as the staff weren't clearing tables fast enough. The breakfast room also coupled as the bar area, but a sign in the lobby informed you this area isn't open to guests outside of breakfast even when you'd see disco lights on and music blaring.

Location wise, the area was a mixture of liquor stores, delis and petrol stations. It felt mostly safe day and night and subway connections were good. We were around a 15 minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Park Slope.

Overall, the hotel was pretty decent for its price but needs to focus more on the details to be a good hotel. I'm surprised to see it ranked so highly for hotels in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laalaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#24 of 72 in Brooklyn
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#45 of 72 in Brooklyn
394 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BPM Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BPM Brooklyn

Property: Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Address: 139 33rd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel BPM Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where music meets hospitality; Hotel BPM (inspired by the music term "beats per minute", referring to the pace count of a song), is about redefining the travel experience to a new generation of travelers, this lifestyle brand, focused around music entertainment culture, offers it's clientele a modern minimalist feel with upgraded amenities & aspects of music lifestyle mixed in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel BPM Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing