We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as good as it gets for pizza in NYC...”

Forcella La Pizza Di Napoli
Reserve with OpenTable
Forcella La Pizza Di Napoli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #605 of 5,418 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened in 2012, Forcella crafts each pizza with style, grace, and top ingredients. It all begins with Caputo 00 flour and ends in a big, domed, wood-burning oven to pump out perfectly blistered, pillowy crusts like clockwork. The warm, rustic dining space is simple but comfortable, with a welcoming bar that offers a great view of the pizzaiolo performing his magic. You can create your own pizza with any number of fresh ingredients, or try one of their signature pies, like the Montanara, a unique house specialty that's fried, then decked with creamy fior di latte and slid into the oven for finishing.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets for pizza in NYC...”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Forcela comes in 2nd place to Don Antonio in NYC for pizza. Busy, loud, young and oh so amazingly good pizza. Almost pita/bread like...Brooklyn's finest!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitchell_cutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great pizza even for a. pick sicilian”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

i had the lunch offer salad and margerita 10$. while the salsd was good anf fresh the pizza was great. i also love the music... nyc is lucky to have places like this

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb pizza and ambience, reasonable price”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was really a good find. Best in class pizza, good house wine ($11 per 500ml). Small intimate environment and attentive staff. Well done! Will definately return and recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smaragdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Went there with my parents this weekend and it was an amazing meal.

-The service was incredible
-Ambiance very pretty and clean
-Burrata - AMAZING
-Pizza Frite - delicious and like nothing I ever had
-Tiramisu - best I ever had

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego and New York City
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pizza Lovers Paradise”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

So in a city that has excellent pizza, Forcella is a standout.

Mmmmm....Forcella, just thinking about it makes me yearn for another trip to Brooklyn for their exquisite pizza. So yummy - we actually ordered one of the fried dough pizzas which was incredible. Simple margherita pizza but when each of the elements are perfectly prepared it comes together like a little symphony of tastes and textures. The fried dough was amazing, crisp and tender with a lovely chew and not greasy at all.

We also started with a croquetta and an arranccini - not sure I spelled either of those correctly but the potato in the croquetta was super tender and the arranccini which I've always loved was delightful - well balanced in the rice, meat, cheese and just a hint of tomato sauce. The appetizers are small so make sure you order plenty if you're hungry!

We also had a nice mixed green salad that also featured some sweet corn which was a nice change especially in the summer.

The dough was so good that we even ordered their dessert of fried dough strips with nutella. It was a bit of an overload on the dough but we figured we wouldn't eat fried food for the next week!

Also you can bring your own wine and their coffee is we were informed not very good so we passed :-(

I would heartily give Forcella 5 starts - food and service were great, but I'm taking off one star for the crowd. I like eating at all kinds of restaurants and am fine with hipster joints. I don't care what kind of eatery you're in, if you're in public and unless you're at the beach or pool, you should keep your shoes on.

When we first arrived we were going to be seated next to a table where this fellow had removed his shoe and had his naked foot on the seat next to him. The tables at Forchella are rather close so we would have had to sit mere inches from this guy's wiggling toes! We asked to sit at another table and our waiter told us he'd asked this rube 3 times to put the foot down and back in the shoe. I can only surmise that since they'd drank a few bottles of wine and looked like they'd only ordered very little food they were just too drunk to realize they weren't home.

Other than that, unless you're very claustrophobic, if you enjoy great pizza and a lively atmosphere you'll love Forcella.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoannaJoySeetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forcella La Pizza Di Napoli also viewed

 

Been to Forcella La Pizza Di Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing