We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas lights banazaa”
Review of Dyker Heights

Dyker Heights
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Dyker Heights Christmas Lights Tour
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Christmas Lights in Dyker Heights Brooklyn
Ranked #11 of 225 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
Attraction details
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas lights banazaa”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have never seen anything like this! I felt like I was in a movie set with the INSANE amounts of Christmas lights and decor. It was very cool, but traffic was insane. It was warm enough for people to walk the neighborhood, but I would recommend taking a car.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smcguiremulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    92
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Christmas tradition”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Takes about an hour. You don't need a tour. Over the top competition among neighbors in this Italian American neighborhood,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dyker Heights Christmas Lights”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I saw the famous Dyker Heights Christmas Lights on TV here in the UK a number of years ago and always wanted to go and see them!
We looked into the tour available but it seemed very pricey for something that you could easily do yourself.
We were spending Christmas in New York on our honeymoon so it seemed fitting we visited on Christmas Eve.
We caught the subway from near to our hotel in Times Square and to be fair it was a long way. We got off at the last stop on the line as far as I can remember and then it was still quite a walk. But if you go early enough and are happy to walk you can take in some of the sights of Brooklyn.
We stopped for a huge piece of $1 pizza which was delicious and then we soon were on our way to see the bright lights!
We saw some houses a little decorated but as you go deeper in to Dyker Heights the lights get bigger and brighter, the police were there keeping the traffic moving. There were some great houses, one collecting for childrens charity and the house was full of kids characters.
Nearby was the house where it all started, it looked amazing and Santa was there too with the kids, it was all very OTT but very magical.
We were lucky enough to have a few flakes of snow and of course no trip would of been complete without a trip to MonaLisas for a hot chocolate and a cannoli!
If you are considering taking the trip to see the lights, consider making your own way there on the subway as it will save you a fortune!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Monalisa363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grew up here”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a neighborhood of unique Brooklyn homes where the people pull out all of the stops during Christmas time. People come from all over the New York area to see the decorations which are just amazing!! I grew up in this neighborhood and it will always be dear to my heart!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nylady315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience !”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If u are in New York City and its around Christmas time you should definitely go to see decorated houses in Dyker Heights .. Kids will love it for sure... It's free and u can do this any time at night..the area is not that big just couple of blocks/streets ... Probably you will spend an hour just walking around and taking your pictures ...

Helpful?
Thank NinkiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyker Heights also viewed

 

Been to Dyker Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing