We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas season you will never forget!”
Review of Dyker Heights

Dyker Heights
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Dyker Heights Christmas Lights Tour
Ranked #11 of 223 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Christmas season you will never forget!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are a tourist in New York City, it's worth renting a car and driving to Brooklyn to visit this residential neighborhood. You can also ask your hotel if there are tour buses that go there. It's easy to get to and even Scrooge will get into the Christmas spirit.
Every year families decorate their houses for the holidays. It has become a form of competition and the families try to outdo each other. It is truly a wonderland! Block after block is filled with music, lights, and the most amazing animations. It will bring out the child in all of us!

Helpful?
Thank Athanasia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    92
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Christmas lights”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our friends took us through Dyker Heights to see the holiday lights. Dare I say we've never seen a neighborhood more over the top in decorations - it was great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best part of our trip to nyc!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family of 4 absolutely loved this tour! after a few days of walking around busy manhatten, it was a real treat to relax on the bus and listen to the tour guide chat about our surroundings while driving to Brooklyn. The tour was very informative and casual. Being able to get off the bus several times during the tour, and walk the neighbourhoods was a real plus. The lights were magnificent! the creativity shown in these displays was breathtaking. Just a marvelous way to spend the evening. Our teenaged girls loved the tour also, took many pictures. I highly recommend this tour. We also enjoyed a lovely visit to the italian restuarant for hot choc and cannoli!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank local guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
535 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Do not miss it!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Christmas lights out of this world!! Went with Slice of Brooklyn tours. Great guide, great tour and great cannoli. Do not miss this experience next Xmas season. Even in the rain it was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank gorlinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A "glowing" Review”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My family & I went on the Brooklyn Lights Tour through Hampton Jitney from Southampton. The trip was very popular, as we had a full bus of 50 passengers. Our 1st stop in Brooklyn was L&B Spumoni Gardens for dinner. This is supposed to be an authentic "old school" style Brooklyn restaurant, and judging from the very busy take out area, it must be a local favorite. Our dinner was very good, it started with delicious pizza and then an assortment of different pastas. For dessert they gave us Spumoni, which I have never tried before & was excellent! The tour guide from a slice of Brooklyn met us at the restaurant, and we went touring from there. The guide was very friendly & extremely knowledgeable. We first drove through By Ridge, with the guide pointing out some points of interest along the way. We then parked the coach and was able to get out & walk around a little if we chose. From there we went to Dyker Heights with the guide again sharing some of his Brooklyn knowledge with us. In Dyker Heights, we again parked the coach and was able to walk around the entire neighborhood. The house were all lit spectacularly, each house more over the top than the last. The feeling of Christmas was truly in the air, we were even able to buy some light up Christmas hats from the street & you could take pictures with Santa for a donation to the Make a Wish Foundation. Once we re boarded the coach, we headed on to the Mona Lisa Cafe. Part of our tour included a cannoli and a hot chocolate. The perfect way to end a fabulous trip! I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyker Heights also viewed

 

Been to Dyker Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing