We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baisley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 56 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

On the 20th September 2011 my sister and I arrived full of hope and expectation at the Baisley house, which we had booked for 5 nights. We were met by Jessica who was managing the business while Harry was away on business. The front door had still not been painted from 2010 and the whole place was very dusty indeed. The shared bathroom had not been cleaned - and was only going to be cleaned weekly by Jessica! In our rooms on the 2nd floor there was vegetation growing up from the ground floor and IN through the window frames - we were advised not to open the windows as they might fall out of the rotten frames. My sister found the remote control to the TV in the sheets of her bed - indicating that the sheets may not have been changed. There was no information or advice on the fire exits (I asked), the only exit appeared to be down the wooden staircase. Where the carpet had worn through on the stairs the owner had stapled the torn bits to the wooden steps. The smoke alarm bleeped all night. We lasted one night. I have lodged a formal complaint with the New York BBB complaints service in attempt to get the 50% deposit I had paid back. I would not recommend anyone to stay there under any circumstance!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Harry makes the Baisley Guest house in to a home. From the second you walk through the door you are aware that you are in something a little bit special.

Yes the house is old, it has creaky doors and a shared bathroom however it also has the warmest hospitality, an impeccibly thought out interior and a rose garden to die for in Brooklyn.

The beds are really comfortable and the air conditioning works really well, which is important in June in New York.

Harry was very accommodating and there was no problem with us coming and going at odd times although I did worry about waking other guests with the creaky door.

If I could afford to stay here all the time I certainly would. It is most definitely the way to see New York and for those people visiting America and thinking that Brooklyn isn't a place to go - You're wrong - It's the best bit of New York. Sleep and Eat in Brooklyn and sightsee in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickdanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were in Brooklyn due to a business trip. This B&B was close to the client and it was easy to take the F train into Manhattan. We knew we were in trouble when we got dropped off by the taxi at the address of this B&B and we thought the taxi made a mistake because the front door of the B&B was old and the paint was peeling off it. We rang the door bell and it was truly the B&B. Harry showed us to our room which was on the second floor. The carpet on the stairs were worn and frayed. We were in a double room. The room was very dark even with the lights on. The worst part staying at this B&B was there was one bathroom for three bedrooms. Five people had to share the one bathroom. We did not get a good night sleep because one of the other bedrooms had a major squeaky door, which was opened a few times during the night. Since this is an older house walking on the floor is also squeaky. The breakfast was lame. There was orange juice, coffee, an egg and a piece of melon. Not even some toast. The one good thing Harry did for us was gave us subway directions to my client and arranged a limo driver to take us to the airport. Even the morning we left for the airport, we left 30 minutes before the 9:00am breakfast call and Harry didn't even have a cup of coffee waiting for us before we left. We had to buy breakfast at the airport. If you like staying at a B&B that needs repairs, sharing a bathroom, and eating a lame breakfast at the cost of $175 per night, then stay here. Otherwise STAY AWAY!! We would never go back to this B&B again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Staying in a brownstone in Cobble Hill was an excellent way to visit New York. You can easily hop into Manhattan, but then come back to the slower pace (and excellent restaurants, bars and shops) of the neighborhood. It was also a great base for visiting Park Slope, Prospect Park, Coney Island and the neighboring beaches.

The house is decorated in high-holy Victoriana - dark woods, thick frames, heavy curtains, grandfather clocks and portraits with eyes that seem to follow you. Bright and cheerful it is not, but very comfortable. Breakfast is served outside in the beautiful garden each morning, and the host is incredibly friendly and full of local knowledge. Tired of staying in a tiny, loud, box of a room in Manhattan? Stay in Brooklyn!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffNewHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I have stayed at Baisley House numerous times over the last 4 years and love it. If you like the impersonal, expensive and mechanical atmosphere of regular hotels this is not for you. However, if you want comfort, an intimate home-like atmosphere, a taste of real New York--of the timeless Brooklyn of Walt Whitman--call Harry the next time you travel to the Big City. You'll find European comfort and hospitality, finely prepared breakfasts, feather pillows, duvet and feather bed, and you will be transported back a 150 years: it's quiet, peaceful at night, roses climbing from the garden outside your window, birdsong... All this for 1/5 the cost of staying at a boutique hotel in Manhattan where fire engines, trucks and exhaust invade your room all night. Try it. I'm on my way there next week--don't even consider other accommodations anymore.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank censeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I have just spent 4 nights at this wonderful B&B it was perfect for me close to transportation shopping and the wonderful numerous eating establishments Of Court and Smith streets. also a short trip into Manhattan.Harry The owner and Host is as friendly as can be , and he also serves a healthy and hearty
and well prepared breakfast the weather was beautiful so he served in the garden it was all just perfect .To my surprise I found out this was the childhood home of the actress Susan Hayward.Harry is a Decorator so the furnishings are so pretty and it is all so Interesting .I am so happy I found this Lovely brownstone in Wonderful Brooklyn
Thank You Harry for your all suggestions on getting around and where to eat I loved it all

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Baisley House for nine nights during our first stay in New York. We choosed a Brooklyn-located hotel because of the price since we are both students. We found it very hard to find an OK place to stay in Manhatten that wasnt to expensice. After some looking around we choosed Baisley House.

It's a nice B&B with a very welcoming and friendly host. Makes breakfast every morning that changes from day to day. Some days it pancakes, next morning its omelette with bacon. He has also an enormous knowledge of the city, especially Brooklyn, so use it for all its worth! The B&B is over the top victorian style, but really cozy with squeeky stairs etc. Shared bathroom, but not a big problem. All the other guests were also very nice, and you end up chatting around the breakfast table.

This B&B is located in a nice part of Brooklyn called Carrol Gardens. Brooklyn are becoming very hip these days, and you can feel this in this area. Smith Street is full of small and cozy cafees and restaurants. You can choose from whatever you like, and the diversity is very cool. Young people, black people, white etc. etc. Its all mixed here in Brooklyn.

Its a pretty long subway trip in to manhatten, varying from 15 - 30 minutes depending on your destination. You'll survive, but after 9 days you get pretty tired of beeing so dependent on the subway. It can also be hard to find a taxi that drives you to brooklyn, and we even got scammed by one taxi that drove all over the place. So beware.

But all in all i would recommend this B&B. The host is great, its personal and it's in a really nice area. If its your first time to NY and you can afford it, you might try to find a place in manhatten instead.

  • Liked — Price, host, area around hotel
  • Disliked — Far from manhatten
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Erathol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#12 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Brooklyn / Park Slope Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baisley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baisley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baisley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 294 Hoyt St, Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn, NY 11231-4908
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Baisley House Hotel Brooklyn
Baisley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing