We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Youthful, energetic, fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
McCarren Hotel & Pool
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very reasonably priced and in a terrific location near the top of the Bedford Street restaurant and street scene. Modern, well appointed, clean and decidedly hip. In my mid-50's I definitely felt like I was one of the oldest visitors - a feeling which was accentuated when I spent a few hours on a warm afternoon hanging out by the pool. It's a party atmosphere with music and a mostly a tattooed, artistic 20-30'ish crowd poolside. But everyone is very friendly and chill. There will be a few young families with kids, but not many.

Continental breakfast in the lobby was adequate but not inspired - though they are working on the downstairs restaurant, so dining will certainly improve in the near future. There is a rocking bar on the rooftop which has amazing views of the Manhattan skyline.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool hear a hint of poolside music, but it's nothing obtrusive. I'd go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was nothing but pleasant! From the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the moment we stepped out the door to leave, this place was very nice. Would definitely stay again! All the staff was very pleasant and helpful to us. The bed was superb, so comfortable and very soft nice linen.
The lobby has opened back up at Memorial weekend, after remodeling was completed. The rooftop bar was great and a must see at night...a beautiful view of the Manhattan skyline. The pool is lovely and clean. Every morning we were there, the staff washed the deck around the pool, it was evident of the care taken to maintain this area. There is no ice machine available to get your own ice. But with just a phone call to the front desk, it was delivered quickly to our room. The continental breakfast was great, with items such as yogurt, fruit, pastries (these were from the famous Balthazar bakery from Sex and the City! YUM!), hard boiled eggs, and other items.
A perfect location...many restaurants to choose from. Try BECO, it is a Brazilian restaurant. The filet Mignon sandwich was excellent! It is just several blocks away.
Our shower did not splash water, as in other review, it had a glass shield in place that kept the water inside the shower. Room was small but very nice!
Stay here, you won't be disappointed! Go to the hotel web site for really good deals for advance booking, and you can cancel without penalty if you give a 24 hr notice.

Room Tip: the rooms with street view had the balconies, but view is only of the trees across the street. Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spent one night there in May because my son lives in the neighborhood and wanted me to spend more time there,(not just in Manhattan), and I loved it!
The staff was terrific, I wanted to know a place to get coffee before heading into Manhattan and I loved the recommendation of the desk person He suggested Kasia's and it was great. There was construction at the hotel but they made up for it by offering free breakfast and also wine and beer( which I didnt check out). The room was nice, clean, quiet and very comfortable.
The neighborhood has a great vibe, reminds me of the Village when I was in my 20s.
For my next visit to see my son, I plan on 2 nights there and 2 in Manhattan..Thanks for such a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visiting my son in Williamsburg....he found this hotel.
Minimalist decor in wonderful greys.
Breakfast in the entry/bar area.
Situated in the most wonderful eclectic part of Brooklyn...Williamsburg.
Full of the old and new cultures ....with Geat Bars and interesting boutiques.
Walk to everything.
I will certainly stay here one more time.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank 12Honey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We felt pampered in this sleek hotel while visiting our son and his wife who live in Williamsburg. We could walk to their apartment through the lively streets of the neighborhood, which is filled with excellent spots for dining. The hotel staff was accommodating, helpful and very professional; we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (which was light and healthy) and the evening complimentary drinks and snacks. The view of New York City at night from the rooftop is spectacular, and the room was quiet and very comfortable. It will be our #1 choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdermurdermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The staff is what makes this hotel special. Everyone is exceptionally nice, Isha at the front desk, the door men, housekeeping, everyone. The rooms are big for NY standards, though there is no closet so to speak and the bathrooms while big are sloppy - whoever designed showers with only a curtain that does not reach the floor to keep water must have never taken a shower before. What a mess! But you get by that.

The neighborhood is very interesting - full of young people, artists and tourists, there are at least 3 restaurant per block, each offering something different, really fun way to spend a weekend.

However, don't bring a car, the hotel still doesn't have a arrangement with the parking lot next door and the rates are high - street parking is confusing, you are sure to get a ticket and maybe even towed!

When we stayed the restaurant, roof top and pool still were not open - we sneaked a peek and they are beautiful though.

If you are planning to visit Manhattan, I would suggest staying in Manhattan for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had my parents stay here while visiting us in Brooklyn. I'm not sure why I am surprised when EVERYONE at a place of business is as helpful, friendly and polite as they were at King and Grove. From the doorman to the front desk, they were all wonderful. After we checked in they sent us to the room with complimentary glasses of wine and suggestions for dinner.

The room was beautiful and modern and my folks said the bed was comfy and they slept great.

It's located in a great part of Williamsburg, just a half block from Bedford Ave where all the cute shops and restaurants are. And if you're traveling by train it's only a 5 minute walk from the Bedford L stop.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 73 in Brooklyn
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 73 in Brooklyn
681 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wythe Hotel
Wythe Hotel
#15 of 73 in Brooklyn
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,487 reviews
2.8 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 73 in Brooklyn
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool

Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1127 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $168 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing