We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, newly renovated, and spacious (for NY!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCarren Hotel & Pool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McCarren Hotel & Pool
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Good location, newly renovated, and spacious (for NY!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whether you are looking to spend a weekend exploring Brooklyn (especially Smorgasburg for big time foodies) or head into Manhattan, location wise this is a great jumping off point with more room to breath than many tiny hotel rooms in the city. The modern design in the rooms was nice and clean, and I appreciated the balcony overlooking the park. There were also some nice pluses I hadn't been aware of when booking - in the evening there's a free happy hour that runs until 11, and in the morning they do a nice continental breakfast. The staff was helpful, there is free wifi, and it's not a far walk to the Subway. Overall a good find! Just watch out on weekdays if you typically sleep in, as there is construction during weekdays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King and Grove W, Front Office Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Megan S,
Thanks for your review of King & Grove Williamsburg on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to see that you like the hotel and are a fan of Williamsburg. The neighborhood has some of the best restaurants in NYC and are more than fit for foodies. We now have a package called When in Williamsburg which highlites many of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to enjoy the incredible addition to the hotel and Williamsburg our new restaurant The Elm which opens in early Summer. The Pool will open on the 25 of May and the Roof Deck will be open on June 1.
See you soon,
Best, JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    219
    98
    56
    41
See reviews for
199
283
73
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medan, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The King & Grove is in the heart of trendy Williamsburg, with restaurants and cafés a step away. It's a 15-minute walk to the subway, but just one stop out from Manhattan, so ultimately was very convenient. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and the room was quiet and comfortable (it faced onto McCarren Park). When the pool is open in summer I imagine the lobby bar will be packed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King and Grove W, Front Office Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to read your enjoyed your stay with us.

Many people don't realize how close we are to Manhattan and what a fast metro ride it is to the hotel, I am glad that you feel the same way.

We look forward to seeing you soon as our Pool, Roof Deck will open in late May and our Restaurant The Elm opens early summer.

Best,
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked 3 nights at the hotel. The area was fine. On the morning of the day after our check-in we were woken by jackhammers. It was about 9am. I went to speak to staff on the 6th floor and found them unsympathetic. I stayed for breakfast. The coffee carafe was empty as well as the milk. The woman working the meal was sweet but clearly not trained. When I asked for a spoon she took a dirty one and quickly ran it under the faucet. Gross. We decided to get out of the hotel to escape the din. We then found that the only exit was through a demolition zone. The workers were wearing hard hats, hearing protection and masks. The air was thick with the dust created by the work. No arrangements were made for the guests. My black sweater had a fine layer of the dust at the end of the day. We checked out and headed to a hotel in Chelsea. Relief at last. Don't stay here. Train your staff. I'm sure that there are agencies that might not approve of the hotel operating under these conditions. Frankly I have spent enough time writing this review. Will warn all.

Room Tip: I'm not knowledgeable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King and Grove W, Front Office Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Stephanie 1,
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.

As our Manager discussed with you we were so sorry for your unhappy experience. Unfortunately the construction team damaged the panels on the glass floor and we had to make temporary changes immediately. We are so sorry that your stay was interrupted.

Fortunately, for other guests the temporary entrance is in full operation.

We look forward to your return and hope that we will be able to change your impression of us with the new Lobby designs.

Again, we apologize for your inconveniences during your stay and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Best,
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're planning to visit New York during summer, this is the perfect hotel. I visited in march, and the pool was closed, but during summer this must be awesome. The neighborhood is not nearly as crowded as the city, not as hot, not as touristy. And still, you are a 20 minute walk from Manhattan and only 1 stop with the subway.

The hotel is artsy, but still not over the top. The rooms are large with awesome bathrooms. There is free wifi in the entire hotel without password. In the hotel theres a flat screen tv, and a iphone dock. The staff was very friendly.

The area is full of art galleries, second hand shops, bars and scenes.

Should I wish for more - I would have wanted a slightly fuller breakfast. They serve pastries, granola and fruit - with 4 different fresh juices and coffee/tea. And I would have wanted an even better view - although they have a great roof top terrace with a awesome city view.

You will love to stay here.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turbotoddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Caifornia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

THere are really only two recommended hotels seving Williamsburg (so far) and I've stayed in both. First there's the Wythe Hotel (see my other Trip Advisor review!)

The King and Grove was also an original pioneer and arrived under the name of the "Williamsburg Hotel". I stayed there several years ago and now returned just recently. Since then, this hotel has joined a small chain called the King and Grove Hotels, and the inside scoop is they are about to build another, larger (300 rooms) nearby, but it will not be available for several years.

As for this hotel, it is currently a no-frills small, boutique hotel with few amenities. Two years ago they boasted a new restaurant... and as recently as March, 2013 they are still talking... but not delivering. The standard rooms are quite small, but spotlessly clean and modern. "Breakfast" is included, but consists of pastries, juice, and coffee from a hot pot. They add hard-boiled eggs and a muesli cereal, but it's a modest effort, displayed on the small bar, combined with the reception desk.

The good news is the rooms are often lower priced than their competition at the Wythe; so, for a secure, clean sleeping room it might be all you need. The beds are first-class and the linens are excellent. And the location is terrific. It's one block off Bedford Avenue, the main drag through (classic) Williamsburg with lots of little shops, eateries, "third-wave" coffee shops and boutiques.

The staff is first rate and provide great service, concierge advice, private cars and taxis, and directions. In contrast to the hipsters at the action of the Wythe, this is a perfectly acceptable and quiet urban retreat and a relative value for Williamsburg.

Once they actually do complete the restaurant it it will be all the better, especially during winter months for those that want to eat in. But the proximity to the excitement of Williamsburg's new wave, combined with their location, value and courteous your staff make this choice quite acceptable, and for some a calm and better choice.

Room Tip: Ask to face the courtyard/pool, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorgon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King and Grove W, Front Office Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was very happy to read you had a great experience with our staff.

As of this week, our guest room redecoration is complete. We have added decorative pillows and extra towel hooks and towels to the rooms. The wall coverings and other room enhancements are now complete.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring. The Pool @ King & Grove opens on May 25. Our Roof Deck opens on July 1 and our new Restaurant The Elm opens early Summer.

We are sure after these new additions to the property we will become your favorite hotel in NYC.

Best,
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed overnight at the King & Grove to see what hotels are like in Brooklyn as opposed to NYC, now that Williamsburg is so in fashion and because I had an event in Brooklyn that night. There is no sign in front of the hotel, so make sure you know the address. The staff is courteous but not engaging. They seemed as bored with the place as I was. It was indeed very slow there as told to me by a few staff members.

They upgraded my room, clearly because it was empty and the room was nicely furnished with a king size bed, large flat screen and a small but modern bathroom. (no tub). This is my idea of a hotel room for one because its all about the bed. For two, and if I had real luggage, it would have been a tight fit.

Their restaurant is under renovations and the pool and roof are closed for the season. Understandable. I asked for hot water and tea because there was no kettle in the room and it was delivered with no charge. They ordered me a taxi for my event with no issue. So all seems up to snuff. I guess this place might be more interesting in the summer. Off season, its pretty slow. Good for sleep though. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wabitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

King and Grove is located in a great place in Williamsburg in the middle of nice shopping areas and great restaurants and cafes. The place itself is new and clean, rooms are smallish but comfortable and nicely decorated. The bed and sheets are awesome! The hotel is quiet so you really get a good night's sleep.

Months before our trip and making our reservation we read that some parts of the hotel were under renovation but soon to be ready. This was unfortunately not the case. There was e.g. no restaurant or rooftop place which was a pity since the view to Manhattan would've been awesome from this location. The breakfast was so limited I wouldn't even call it a breakfast. Half of the staff was really nice but half seemed to not care so much about their job or being nice to the guests. However, things happened fast and our requests were always answered in good time. There's very limited space for your stuff in the room which made things a bit difficult. In our room there was only one small closet and one (!) hook to hang stuff, so there was e.g. no room even for both of our towels (coincidentally we only had one set of towels when arrived...).

But in any case, the minuses are so small I could see myself staying in the hotel again and enjoying all the nice things Williamsburg has to offer!

Room Tip: King size bed was truly royally huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#17 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#2 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#3 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.8 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#7 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool

Property: McCarren Hotel & Pool
Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1127 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing