We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brooklyn is great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McCarren Hotel & Pool
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great hotel with wonderful, friendly staff. It is right across from a big park and also a dog park. It is in a good location, close to restaurants and cute shops. We have stayed here twice and been delighted both times.

Room Tip: Stay on the park side. It is fun to watch the soccer and softball games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Arrived way before check-in to find that the room was ready, which was a relief after a flight from London.

I had booked a deluxe King with Balcony, and it was more than spacious enough. The bed was big enough to get lost in, comfortable but the linens left something to be desired, as it was sheets and a duvet in between, not ideal or modern IMO. Could be a higher thread count too for a luxury hotel.

The shower didn't seem to drain right, but actually, it didn't flood the bathroom, so the design is correct. The light switch at the entrance to the room was hanging off, as if it was broken, but did work, something easily solved, and a room that shouldn't have a guest in, if it needs to be fixed.

The room was clean, bathroom spotless, and the balcony useful for a breath of fresh air in the morning. Shame the weather wasn't warmer when I was there.

Overall, I would stay here again, the little niggles are just that, friendly staff, and plenty of greetings as I was entering/leaving the lobby area. Complimentary Coffee in the morning is always good.

Williamsburg is a great location, you're only a short walk from the L train, and the bus up to Greenpoint is right on Bedford Ave outside the hotel. Loads of food, bars, and convenience stores are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4RKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful staff and an extremely clean room. What more could I ask for? Ah yes, a great rate...I got that too. Looking forward to staying here during the hot muggy summer so I can enjoy the pool. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby and the subway station is nearby. Their restaurant wasn't opened yet during my stay but guessing it should be soon. In the meantime, they offer a free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: For families they have adjoining rooms with a main exterior door to the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHaehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely modern hotel with pool, roof deck and restaurant, all of which were unavailable for our stay. Pool and roof deck not surprising given the weather and would defintely return for a summer trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Right off Bedford avenue where all the shops and restaurants are.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite in mid-February. Nice location - close to restauraunts, park across the street and public transportation. Very clean, modern rooms. Quiet!!!!!. Continential breakfast in lobby area. This hotel had a very European feel to it. Only surprise - no washclothes in bathroom. Other than that, highly recommended!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DWR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The only thing that wasn't perfect about this place was some bass drumming in the middle of the night. We were on the 2nd floor and perhaps someone in the neighborhood was ramping it up a bit! Beautiful place and lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

King and Grove is located on McCarren Park in the Williamsburg area of Brooklyn. It is within walking distance of the L and G trains and near many good restaurants and bars. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in the reception area and a small bar is available after 5PM.

Customer service is a priority here and the staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and your needs are met. When I mentioned we needed more washcloths, by the time we got back to the room 15 minutes later SIX extra washcloths had been delivered. Every staff member we met was friendly and helpful but Jessie and Matthew went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided for our 3 night stay we wanted a larger room so we booked a deluxe King room that overlooked the pool. It was quite nice and actually larger than most NYC hotel rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were of good quality. I liked the hardwood floors (less dust and dirt than carpet) and the rain shower in the bathroom was very nice. We really hope management will consider adding towel racks in the bathroom. I hated throwing my towel on the floor but there was nowhere to hang it. Although the closet isn't large, there was adequate storage room for our coats and back packs. The closet also had two large lower drawers that we did not use. Each room has a small rocking chair which was fine for me but a bit too small for my hubby to utilize comfortably. There is also a work desk with lots of electrical outlets and a stool to sit on located underneath the flat screen TV.

King and Grove is adding a restaurant and bar in the basement and we will be looking forward to seeing the new addition on our next visit. We most assuredly will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool had no street noise- That's a huge plus in NY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wythe Hotel
Wythe Hotel
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
660 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,031 reviews
2.5 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#5 of 72 in Brooklyn
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool

Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1127 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $227 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing