We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian and delicious”
Review of Vegetarian Ginger

Vegetarian Ginger
Ranked #654 of 5,415 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Ithaca
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Vegetarian and delicious”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of us including several non-vegetarians went here for dinner. The menu is extensive, its hard to decide what to have. Most dishes are Asian, and everything we ordered was yummy: sesame seitan, moo shoo, vegetarian drumsticks....The meat eaters even enjoyed their food, and the prices are quite reasonable. The decor is nothing special, but you can look out over the street for a little added color.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vegan fare, poor atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're a vegan, this is just one of the options you have in New York. The place has the cheapest lunch deal I've ever heard of (for NY), $5.95, which includes soup and an entree. The atmosphere is not a high point: bare walls, looks like a Communist milk bar. Service is erratic and many of the dishes taste like cardboard. This is unfortunate, as we need more quality vegan restaurants not only in NY but everywhere in the world.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarveyKarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't tell its Vegan!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ok, I had to really talk my family into this place as I usually love vegan. This place was a thumbs up by all of the family. The Seitan with vegtables was a big hit. We came into town to tour facilities headquarters down the street. This was such a nice healthy tasting treat and it didn't take long to get seated or servced. The servers were very nice and helpful too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceEnglandGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Even If You're Not A Vegetarian”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I'm not a vegetarian and have gone to some vegetarian restaurants with friends who are. I have never had a good vegetarian mean until now. This place is a real find in the heart of Brooklyn Heights on Montague Street, near Henry Street. I now go there regularly for lunch, dinner and they deliver, which I often have them do. Delivery is prompt and everything arrives hot.

The restaurant is small and one flight up from the street. The front tables are fun as they overlook Montague Street and are great for people watching on the street below. The place is clean and the wait staff is friendly and efficient. Not only is the restaurant vegetarian but it is also vegan and has Kosher Certification.

As to the food, their Miso soup is one of the best I've tasted. Steamed spinach dumplings are delicious. The mixed vegetables with Soy Protein is incredible. I have a hard time ordering other items since I love this one so much. Every dish I've had here has been great. Portions are large and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetarian Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Vegetarian Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing