We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, nicely appointed”
Review of Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Union Hotel
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stay was late November - cold weather. The bed was comfortable. The AC was kindof wierd, temperature fluctuated 7-8 degrees. They always turned it off when they cleaned the room, then it would be very cold when I returned and took an hour to warm back up. There were no bedside tables - not enough room. There was a tiny desk - big enough for my laptop but not big enough for the laptop *and* the phone, so I put the phone on top of the AC unit. There was enough room, plus a folding chair, to use the desk with the laptop which was nice.

The neighborhood is mostly pretty rough, but very convenient to a subway station that serves the R train, and the Station cafe was good enough that I didn't bother looking around for other places to try. This is the "diner" referred to by birdiegt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Union Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 399 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

several friends and i stayed here for a reunion of sorts in brooklyn. the hotel is conveniently located and easy walking distance to 5th ave shops and cafes and to the union st subway station. the "lobby" (aka desk) and the rooms were really tiny. no place to sit other than the bed. i think the only lighting was one overhead light. no nightstand, never mind a light on the stand! but the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was nice. the complimentary breakfast at the diner down the street was good. i suggest NOT getting a ground floor room as the people passing on the street can look right in, unless you have the shades closed. disappointingly, the roofdeck looked nothing like the photos on the website and was basically just cement, some chairs and tables, no bar (our stay was in early october, but it was about 75 degrees, so it would have been nice to hang on the roof).

Room Tip: don't stay on the ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmf221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to rock climb a few doors down. So the location was perfect and within a few blocks of all kinds of great food and neat little stores. We loved the free breakfast at the diner 2 blocks down! The food came out perfectly and the servers were really nice. The hotel decor was a modern contemporary style, which was unique -bathrooms were really cool and the ipod charger was another plus. We found the staff very helpful when we had questions. Though our room was smaller than what we were used to, it was cozy and comfy. Subway is next to the diner which was also a huge plus. We would definitely return next time for another stay. Prices were better than the other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I made a reservation and received a confirmation no for the 4 night stay. It was for a specific event and reason for location of this hotel was it was close by to where the event was. 1 day before we were to leave I received a call to say there was an error in the system that gave the confirmation for accomodation and that there was NO ACCOMMODATION. When I asked what am I supposed to do and that they should make good on this, I was advised to contact the hotel chain - CHOICE. I emailed them and received an email saying to contact the hotel! This was a let down and unacceptable and it ruined the occasion. To date I've not heard a word, not an apology, a free night or two compensation. My advice to anyone using Choice hotels, DON'T USE THEM! There are more hotel chains with a better customer service credo than this bunch!

Room Tip: Don't use Choice hotels!!!b Period!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
5  Thank FiM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The union hotel is, for new york, a cheap option. The rooms are very small but big enough if you just sleep there. Bathroom is very nice. We did not use the AC.
The walls are thin so you might here your neighbor.
The rooftop terrace is a bit loud and not cozy, but it has a nice manhattan view.

The Location near 4th Street is a bit shabby nut the subway is not far and we did not feel unsecure. Nice area with restaurants just around the corner in the 5th street.
With the Subway 20 min to South Manhattan, 40 min to central park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hugohunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff are very helpful and reasonable in that they understand outisde factors, such as flight cancellations. The general manager is very fair and direct, great experience! I will certainly ise rhis hotel again when time and circumstances permit a trip to Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harleyguy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The neighborhood is in transition, but the hotel is a pleasant surprise and a bargain (especially with the offsite full diner breakfast included in my deal). It's only a 10-minute walk to the new Barclays Center and downtown, and 2 blocks from the subway (and from there a 15-minute ride into midtown NYC). I've read negative reviews regarding room size and noise; this may be true of 1st floor rooms, but my 4th floor room was perfectly adequate size, with very comfortable king bed, great linens, updated bathroom and art deco decor. Free wifi is great. This is a great find for visits to Barclays Center, Brooklyn, or even Manhattan if budget is a concern.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiminVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#18 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,064 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#25 of 72 in Brooklyn
774 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
#40 of 72 in Brooklyn
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Address: 611 Degraw St, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $101 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing