We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable hotel, however very rude staff member IGR (bold man)”
Review of Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Hotel
Ranked #43 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“reasonable hotel, however very rude staff member IGR (bold man)”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are two students from Norway,who took a trip to NYC and stayed at union hotel. The hotel room was small, but we were aware of this, and the free wifi and cosy bed, made up for this. The bathroom was also modern. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast at Station cafe which really made our day.
The reason why we are giving such a bad review is one staff member in particular.Hi recently shaved his head and his name is Igr. First of all, he was not able to assist us in questions about NYC as the other staff was. It was however the last day of our visits which ruined it all. We went to breakfast our last day at 10 am and directly to the city. When we came back at around 13 pm he said that we had overstayed our time and that our check out was 12. However, we were not informed about this when we arrived at the hotel. I was only asked to sign a paper after giving my credit card information. This made me believe that the sign was related to the credit card, not some information about the hotel. However, we were given 20 minutes to pack and leave without paying extra. This was not an option for us so we overstayed until 3pm and payed for this. When we were leaving we simply said: " you should inform about the check out time when we checked in." Then we asked for him to order a taxi for us immediately as we were in a hurry. This is when he became unexpectedly rude. He did not order a taxi right away, and acted arrogantly. He said he first had to do fix some payment. He did not trust we would pay, and this is an insult in it self. He also said that we are responsible for our own problems. He was not co operative even after we payed all. This is not a way to treat a customer. Our stay was fine, however IGR really messed the whole experience up. W e sincerely, hope for others that they won't be in touch with this guy. All the other staff was pleasant and helpful. I reckon, there are others out there who could do his job much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unionhotelbrooklyn, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello,


We apologize with the miscommunication with our staff member. We have a check out time of 12pm which is listed on all of our distributions partners websites and our website. This is actually an hour later than the industry norm of 11am. We also grant all request for late check out until 1pm at no charge. However, if one were to request a 3pm checkout, this would delay the cleaning of our rooms and delay check-ins for the following night.

Best

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    113
    89
    46
    81
See reviews for
57
141
57
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My son stays here when he comes to visit .It's well off the beaten track but if you are looking for a clean bed to sleep in, and a good deal, try it out. It's close to the subway (about 20 mins to Manhattan) about a 10-20 minute walk to BAM,Prospect Park,Park Slope and the Barclay Center. One gets a vioucher for a nearby classic Brooklyn Diner breakfast. The rooms are very basic, but if thats all you are looking for give it a try

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulieinBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

It Looked kind of nice on the web, but what a bummer. Dirty sheets, noisy appliances and unfriendly people. No good value for money. Fortunately we only stayed there for one night. My advice: avoid this place

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank GerardFS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My room was the size of a cardboard box, the hotel staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. I would have been better off staying in a hostel! The only thing good was the breakfast at the cafe. Overall I would never stay here again. When you enter the room, the door hit the bed. The room was very hot and the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbbank84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unionhotelbrooklyn, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello,

This gentleman booked a cozy room which is spaced economically. This was reflected in the price as well as the room description. All of our doors open properly and fully. We ask for all guests to read our room descriptions and pricing carefully before booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Union Hotel does some important things well but falls short on some small, annoying issues that would be relatively easy for them to correct.

Lets talk about the good stuff first. The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated in a simple way. Housekeeping was excellent. My bed, linens and pillows were extremely comfortable. I did not want to get out of bed. The neighborhood is pretty quiet and I never noticed any street noise. You will definitely get a good night of sleep here. I found no sign of bed bugs.

Breakfast is included. They have a deal for this with Station, a nearby diner. You will have to walk a few blocks to get there, but its right next to the Union St. subway stop where you are probably headed to anyway. If you aren't cool with walking a few blocks then maybe New York City isn't the right destination for you. Breakfast is very good -- much better than the usual crappy spread in a hotel lobby. It is a real meal cooked to order. Even though the meal is included with your stay, please be sure to tip the waitress.

Now here is the bad stuff. Little things are missing from the rooms that wouldn't take up much space. There is no box of tissues. The bathroom is lit by a lone, tiny bulb way up on the ceiling and you can hardly see yourself in the mirror. There is no bedside lamp and you have to get up out of bed to get to the light switch. There is no place in the shower to put a bar of soap. No iron or ironing board. Even the toilet paper doesn't have a proper holder. Its like someone designed a hotel room to look nice but never actually spent a few nights there to see what its like as a guest. The wifi was mostly ok but crapped out on me now and then and slowed down work a lot. Over the course of my three night stay this stuff got to be very grating.

I asked at the desk for a street map of the neighborhood or of the city and they didn't have anything. The place is very difficult to find on the street. There is literally no sign out in front and the small entrance looks like the front of an apartment building. I walked past it three times without realizing that it was a hotel. Finally a deliveryman set me straight. Local cab drivers have never even heard of it. I don't know if they have a reason for wanting to keep a low street profile but they sure did succeed.

All of that said, the Union Hotel is a good deal for the money in NYC. Compare their prices to any place in Manhattan that isn't a bug-ridden flophouse and what they are offering is a good price. All it would take is a little bit of attention to some of these details and the Union Hotel could go from being a good deal to a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steamrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unionhotelbrooklyn, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello,

We appreciate you taking your time out to post a review on Trip Advisor. We have taken your comments into consideration in order to improve our services.

BEst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steelton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We would like to stay here but we have this unfortunate unresolved issue.
When making the original booking thru agoda, my husband was asked to re-enter the credit card info. Evidently that's when the date we entered (Sept 2) was changed back to the site's default dates (Aug 24, 25).
We discovered this error upon reviewing the confirmation email.
All attempts to remedy this have failed(agoda/priceline/union hotel).
The credit card company's efforts on our behalf are outstanding.

While we are sympathetic to the issue of customers making plans and then changing their minds, thereby creating reservation nightmares for hotels-that's not what happened here!
We did not ask to change our date- we are asking for the hotel to honor our original request. This error was not of our making. Both agoda and Union Hotel have not acknowledged that a technical error on their website created what they insist- is a nonrefundable charge.
Our intent is to find the perfect hotel near our family who have recently moved to Park Slope.
We hope to stay here many times in the future and would welcome any communication to that outcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you're a high-needs traveller, then the Union Hotel is not for you. However, if you're after a clean and moderately priced hotel which provides comfortable beds to crash after a full day of exploration - this is the hotel for you. The hotel is in an excellent location to access the subway, shops, cafes and restaurants. The rooms are small but comfortable. The room we stayed in for the two nights, had a large bathroom and the room was air conditioned. The staff were extremely pleasant and most accommodating in answering our enquiries. The free breakfast is provided at the Station Cafe, and offers a hearty breakfast as well. Getting around is a breeze with the subway Route R just outside the cafe. We had no problem using the subway as our preferred mode of travel. I would not hesitate to recommend the Union Hotel. As we were travelling with suitcases, we found it more convenient to arrive at the hotel from the airport by taxi. The taxi fare from JFK to Brooklyn: US$50; from Brooklyn to Newark: US$60.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in faced Degraw Street...yes, the hotel is located in a light industrial area - g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WhollyCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The LOOK hotel, Red Hook, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#24 of 72 in Brooklyn
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Property: Union Hotel
Address: 611 Degraw St, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing