We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant surprise”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Friendly staff, quiet room (some street noise, but no hall noise), good breakfast (although room was too small and TV too loud), and interesting neighborhood -- largest Hasidic community in North America. Safe walking, about 45 minutes to "downtown" Brooklyn. One route is along Myrtle Street, which is diverse and intriguing. The other is along Flushing, past the old (but currently being revitalized) Brooklyn Navy Yard; fascinating!
Brooklyn is on a human scale, and the Williamsburg neighborhood (where Pointe Plaza is) elevates the humaness by about ten-fold. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on the Franklin side will have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bigskies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Williamsburg is a very diverse neighborhood and thank you for taking the time to acknowledge. Brooklyn itself is very trendy and hip a lot of the local neighborhoods are up incoming and growing in popularity. We also pride ourselves on great customer service and to hear that are staff is delivering friendly and outstanding service is music to our ears. It would be our great pleasure to have you stay with us again. Please visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 778 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

First negative. We booked a suite for 5, my husband, myself, and 3 kids (16, 14, 10). Frankly, this was the major reason I booked this hotel - so 5 of us could be in one room. The room we were given had two double beds but no pull-out couch. When I called, I was told this was the suite - no pull-out included. Then they sent up a "cot" composed of aluminum legs covered by the same material as our trampoline at home, attached with the same sort of clips as the material of our trampoline. In other words, no support. No mattress either!

Second negative. There is nothing near the hotel as far as food, entertainment. I would describe the neighborhood as marginal. The closest subway is a 15-20 minute walk. We walked to the metro on two mornings. (The advertised shuttle is offered only once a day at 9:30 AM - not at all on Saturdays - and 9:30 was too late for us) The first morning it took us 1.5 hours to get from that station to the 9/11 Memorial. The next morning it took us over 2 hours to get to the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island boat dock. We watched express train after express train pass our Brooklyn outpost before a local finally stopped - and this was at a further metro than the "closest" one because the further one was a more direct line to touristy things in Manhattan.

Third negative. One rainy evening we asked the front desk employee to hail us a cab to get pizza (again, nothing walking distance). The cab service the desk person called did not appear "official" - the car had no meter! We went 2.2 miles to DUMBO for pizza and he charged us $22! Coming home we hailed a yellow cab it it cost us $9.

Overall view: The hotel was clean and the employees appeared pleasant enough, but given the disappointing suite which only slept four, the disappointing continental breakfast, the inconvenient shuttle service, the overpriced taxi we took thanks to the front desk and, most importantly, the inconvenient location in a marginal neighborhood, I would not recommend it, especially if your primary goal is to visit Manhattan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginiamom729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Happy New Year and thank you for letting us know how your stay was.
I am very disappointed that our guests went home with these negative experience.
This does not sit very well with our conscious and I want you to know that we care.

First of all, If you have given a wrong room type, some type of adjustment is in order.
Please expect my call, we will definitely address this.
About the area restaurants, there are so many, especially on Myrtle Ave. within 3 to 4 blocks.
There is an area restaurant guide at the front desk and a binder in your room which has 7 selected restaurants who also deliver. I am puzzled that we missed all that.
Yes Subway station is 4 blocks from the hotel and you do not have to walk these 4 blocks if you don't want to. The B57 bus from the corner takes you to the subway station.
Yes, our Shuttle service run once a day. We settled with 9:30 am because it is the most popular time guests wanted. Settled by guest survey.

About the Taxi ride, very unfortunate, usually these car services are reliable and reasonable. of course there are always exceptions. We will be sure to verify price ahead of time. Just so you know, We can not call a yellow taxi, they pass by when they pass by. For rapid service, we call car service for our guests.
About your delays to certain destinations, there really is no certain formula. Keep in mind, you were here during holidays, Subway services are little slow because they run on holiday schedule, combine that with rain, not a good mixture.
Sorry you have experienced the delay, please allow me to tell you New York City Transportation system is really efficient given the volume they handle. I just hope your next trip changes everything you have experienced this time around and we will be fortunate if .we can play a positive role towards that. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Staff was very helpful, accommodating, and knowledgable about the area, transportation, etc. A clean and pleasant environment. Would stay again. Hotel also provided convenient parking for hotel guests. Only draw back was distance to nearest subway stop.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Happy new year.
Thank you for taking time to wright your experience. Your comments help us improve and give us satisfaction for what we do. We appreciate your praise and we will keep improving.
Hope to see you soon, welcoming back a happy guest is the best reward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've stayed at this point Plaza Hotel before ~ as in the past the service, accomodations were fantastic ~ our daughter joined us this past time ~ she goes into Brooklyn throughout the year and said she will definitly stay there on her next visit ~ as will we ~ Great Place, very friendly and wonderful facility.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

So glad to hear you enjoyed your return to our hotel and that you would stay with us again.
Your kind words about our staff and hotel go a long way and are greatly appreciated.
Please feel free to come back again soon and tell a friend , you are always welcomed here at the Pointe Plaza Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2013. (I am just getting around to writing a review.) We were very pleased with our stay. First of all, we had gotten such a great price online for our one night stay. When we arrived, the desk clerk was very kind and welcomed us graciously.Our room was spotless and attractive, although small. We did not eat breakfast the following morning so I am unable to make any comments about it. Parking is a problem in this busy residential neighborhood; we circled the block a couple of times and finally found a parking space. However, the hotel offers parking in a lot down the block for a fee of about $20, if you choose to not want to park on the street.We felt very safe in this predominantly Hasidic Jewish neighborhood. We will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalendaMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hello and Thank you for offering us a review, better late then never. As you mentioned in your review , the third party sites affiliated with our Hotel offer great rates on our behalf and I am very glad that you found us. In addition , you mentioned that parking is $20 dollars when in fact it is actually $15 , what a steal right? We know how difficult parking can be in New York City so we try to offer our guests the best alternatives. I hope that you will be back with us in the near future. Remember that whatever you have experienced here at the Pointe Plaza Hotel , we can always top that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Fantastic hotel, my first time staying at Pointe Plaza, they provide a very very clean room normally I could find something to complain about not at this hotel the concierge her name start with the letter S and Anna treated me like I was family with, I love the customer service which was EXCELLENT from the housecleaning lady and the lady that provided the great breakfast not to mention everyone continue smiles, I truly appreciate the entire staff at Pointe Plaza and will make this hotel the only one I stay at when traveling solo or with my family, Thanks Pointe Plaza your the GREATEST :)

Room Tip: All you have to do is show up and Pointe Plaza will do the rest. I can not thank everyone especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MROCKO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hello and Thank you so much for expressing how you felt about our hospitality. Truthfully , reviews like yours make us happy and motivate us to go out of our way.
It was our pleasure to have you and we promise to live up to your expectations
whenever you decide to visit us again. I also want to thank you for recognizing our cleanliness, it is something that we take great pride in.
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with all of us and hope to have you back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed for a week in December. We really liked it here. The room was very big. The hotel is Clean and quiet. We were impressed by the very helpful staff. The breakfast was ok but we mostly just grabbed a coffee there and ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience at the Point Plaza hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and pointed out our great staff , cleanliness and spacious rooms.
We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#14 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,013 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 72 in Brooklyn
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
933 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $130 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing