We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I had cause to revisit Pointe Plaza last week and found a change of management and if anything an improvement on our earlier visit
New Manager Imam made us very welcome and made a point of the fact that we were returning clients
The services and facilities never fail to impress and the 'breakfast included' and the daily courtesy car into Manhattan is something nobody else does to my knowledge--Keep up the good work and many thanks again--here's to the next time

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

I could not be happier that you came back and noticed that we improved.
Your satisfaction means the world to us.

Thank you very much for your generous comments, We are looking forward to your next visit.
Be sure to tell your friends and family that we treat extra special our returning guests.
New addition, the fitness center will be open by end of this month.

Until next time, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 781 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Pointe Plaza recently for four nights. Many pros and just a couple of cons!

First the pros:
* Location. The hotel is in a Hasidic Jewish neighborhood, so it's fairly quiet and it felt safe walking back from the subway at night. The neighborhood residents in their interesting garb made it feel like I was visiting another country.
* Excellent customer service. Every request or question we presented to the front desk was quickly and cheerfully handled - suggestions on where to eat, request for car service to the airport, etc., etc., etc.
* They surprised us with a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Very spacious rooms with a skylight and a full kitchen.
* Excellent value. Much cheaper to stay in Brooklyn - especially when pre-paid through Orbitz (with a 15% off coupon!)
* Free shuttle to Times Square 6 days a week.
* The most amazing deep soaking bathtub I have ever seen in a hotel! That tub got a workout at the end of each day!

Cons:
* Location. Yes, it's cheaper than being in Manhattan, and quite safe, but it is quite a trek (4 long blocks) to the nearest subway station. So be prepared to walk! There are also no good restaurants nearby. When we asked for a recommendation at the front desk, they sent us many blocks away. (Great food, but a very long walk.)
* Bed linens. The beds are covered only with a duvet. So there's no easy way to adjust your sleeping temperature -- when the duvet was on, I found I would get too hot. The only other option was to sleep with no covers at all. It would have been nice to have a sheet and blanket instead.

In the end, all I can say is the the Pointe Plaza is a great bargain in Brooklyn -- especially for those who are not afraid to walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

We appreciate you taking time and letting us know how your stay was.

thank you so much for the nice comments and pointing out the cons.
This is a great tool for us to improve.
We realize the distance between the hotel and restaurants, that's why we have arranged room service for our valuable guests. Here on, you are able to order (from 7 different types of restaurant and Menus} room service and dine in your comfortable room.

It's your comments what keeps us going.
Hope to see you again and very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this place is fairly close to the action but also slightly nestled away in a very safe and pretty quiet hasidic neighbourhood. My room had a skylight, the ceiling were higher than I have ever seen in a hotel, beds were absurdly comfortable and the linens soft. The manager Imam was so amazing and helpful and every single staff member I met was super accommodating. I can't believe how great the service was. travel for work and see a lot of bad hotels with bad service - these guys do it all right. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for dishes if you want to cook - there are none in kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Buffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

What an amazing reward for our hard work!
We loved your generous comments.

Thank you very much. Can't wait till you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I chose the Pointe Plaza because the overall reviews seemed positive. Unfortunately I did not have the same luck. The first night I was put in a small room with no TV. My travel plans had changed and I spoke to the manager and he agreed to refund one of the nights of the 3 nights I had purchased. He agreed that if he was able to sell both nights he would give me back a refund for both nights. later on that day when I called the hotel, they had not sold the hotel room. I figured if I had to pay for it anyway, I stayed the 2nd night. When I was leaving the hotel clerk assured me they would give me a refund for the 3rd night. I thought that was a fair thing to do. Unfortunately upon my return home, I found that they charged me for all 3 nights. When I called the manager, he was evasive and ultimately lied to me and was very rude. I am very disappointed in the outcome. The rooms are nothing special and given the poor service, I would recommend that you stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chewie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your comment and sorry that you feel negatively about how it turned out.

May be I can explain you better this way.
The room you booked was an economy room at a low price. That's the reason why you have no TV in the room. I am surprised that you were surprised that there was not a TV in the room. It was clearly mentioned.
On the other point, you had additional 10% discount for booking a non refundable reservation. I think we all know the meaning of non refundable (it means can not be refunded).
You changed your plan. I did not have to refund you anything. But out of kindness and make an exception and I told you, if you are checking out now (after staying 1 night), of the 2 next nights, I will refund you one of the nights.
Then you changed your plan again, You came back that night to stay one more night, At that point, you know, all deals are off. I would refund you one night if you were to loose 2 nights,

Hope you understand where I am coming from.
On the phone you threatened me, if I don't refund you the night you did not stay, you will give me a bad review. Thank you for living up to your promise
Please know, I can not compromise upon threat of a bad review. It would be unethical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner and I spent a night in Pointe Plaza before a business trip, and found the facilities to be very adequate. We had a problem with the curtains not closing properly, and were promptly moved to a new room with minimal fuss and apologies from the management. It was an entirely satisfactory experience, and considering the price, exceptional value for money. A minor disappointment was that the breakfast provided was really more of a snack bar, and we instead opted to grab something from a restaurant as the selection was quite minimal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kousies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking some time to let us know.
Also thank you for recognizing the value.

Your breakfast suggestion is well taken, We will work on that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights in April 2013 while a family member was hospitalized in Woodhull. I was very pleased with my stay. The hotel was immaculate and the rooms incredibly spacious (think Embassy Suites), though sparcely decorated, with unequipped kitchens. The free continental breakfast was very nice, with great New York bagels and pastries (rugulach, black and whites). There is free coffee in the lobby 24 hours. Most important, the staff is the nicest and most accommodating of any New York area hotel I've stayed at. When I checked in, they even offered to show me two rooms so I could pick the one I preferred!

The hotel is in the heart of a large Hasidic Jewish community--fascinating, but local shops cater only to them--there is no nearby newsstand, for example. I felt perfectly safe walking around, including to Woodhull and the Pratt Institute area. The only downside is there are no nearby restaurants or subway stops (and taxis don't wander Brooklyn), so be prepared to walk. There is a kosher supermarket a block away, and the area around Woodhull has many fast food places. It would be nice, though, if the hotel offered some simple meal (say soup and sandwich) for guests too tired to go out for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a fifth floor room--they have skylights which make them brighter and more cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking some time and letting us know how your stay was. We appreciate your thoughts. Which helps us improve.

Your comments about breakfast is generous. We try.
We take pride in great service. It means the world.
Your recognition is our inspiration.

Hoping your next visit will have nothing to do with Hospital and you can enjoy New York and Williamsburg a lot more. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Now we all know how pricey some NYC hotels can be. If you can find a decent deal which I would say is around 150/night then by all means go for it.

The hotel is in your typical Brooklyn neighborhood. It can look rather congested but shouldn't bother you if you're a seasoned travel veteran.

The front desk is very friendly and helpful and very accommodating. No complaints about that.

Hotel has a couple vending machines and coffee maker downstairs if needed but there is also a large market a block down the street.

The room itself has very high ceilings, was clean and the pillows were comfortable. Thing is the bed was a full bed made up from two single beds put together but that didn't really bother us. TV has cable (channels aren't desireable but its not like you're gonna be watching TV all day or night). Bathroom was decent and all in all the room was clean.

The continental breakfast was on the top floor in a small room. It was VERY GOOD as all the breakfast basics were provided.

PARKING is available for a small additional fee and is one block away. The Pointe Plaza is definitely recommended if you're planning to see the sights and sounds of Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 671RC671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We are very happy that you had a great stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel.
Also happy to see that you recognized the value.
Very moderately priced and we offer a lot. Such as VERY GOOD breakfast.
Thank you for pointing that out.

Your feedback is much appreciated.
It was our honor having you here. We hope you are a frequent guest here
as so many of our loyal guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#22 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,010 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
615 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#11 of 73 in Brooklyn
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 73 in Brooklyn
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $114 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing