We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Quiet”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a great hotel. The rate was reasonable for NY. What you get for that rate is quite a value. Immaculately clean rooms. Like you are the first person to stay there, really. The guests here tend to be quiet anyway, but the room insulation must be good as well, because I never heard any sounds from next door, or above or below me.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Always a smile and greeting when you come in. They have reasonable parking nearby if you need it.

My only quibble is the free breakfast. It is good enough, but not great. Food they can pick up at the supermarket, like boxes of donuts and yogurt. The bagels are the best thing, proving that even cheap New York bagels are pretty darn good bagels. And there is plenty of fresh fruit, which is a plus. The coffee is decent, especially for hotel coffee. Hey, it's a quick breakfast and you are out and on your way, so I can't really complain.

The Flushing Ave G train station is about a half mile east, through a very safe Hasidic neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time and letting us know how your stay was at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. As always, your opinion is key to our improvement.

We are always improving and our free continental breakfast can also have room for improvement.
Your Your next visit will be the time you can see how much we have progressed.

Looking forward to host you again and soon. Please don't forget to mention you are a repeat guest while making the next reservation for your additional discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    255
    91
    30
    30
See reviews for
262
166
50
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Large rooms with high ceilings. Receptionist very helpful. Location good for bus and subway. Kid safe hotel and local area. Close to Laguardia. Recommend for families. Not much for activities in the immediate area, unless Orthodox Jew, but safe area to walk around and easy access to bus, taxi and subway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your honest opinion and recognition of the value we offer at The Pointe Plaza Hotel.
We hope you will return soon; just for your future reference, we do offer a free shuttle to Times Square every morning from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed for a week for business at the Pointe Plaza Hotel and I have nothing but great things to say about the ownership, management and staff at the hotel. Iman, the manager was very gracious and Analie was great to work with! Fidel, who worked the night shift, always greeted us with a smile and even parked my car for me a block and a half away!

They were ALL incredible to work with, very accommodating and super friendly everyday, no matter what we requested. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the sleeping room suites are spacious and cozy. Additionally, we used the Ballroom for the majority of the week and the staff was great in helping us with set up and providing snacks for our events. They were truly amazing the entire week!

With free breakfast, reasonable parking and great rates, you can't go wrong with this place! The subway is just a few blocks away so it is easy and cheap to get into Manhattan. Plus, you'll learn about a culture (Hasidic Jewish community) you may not know much about, which is one of the great things about traveling, whether you're on the road for work or pleasure!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th and 5th floors have high ceilings are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jengon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for expressing how you felt about our hospitality.
Honestly, reviews like yours keep us going and motivate us to go out of our way.

It was our pleasure to host your group and we promise to live up to your expectations
whenever you visit us again. I also want to thank you about recognizing the great value we offer.
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We (4 people) stayed at Pointe Plaza Hotel back in May for 5 nights. When we arrived we were welcomed by Anneli, a very friendly and helpful receptionist. =) She provided us with city maps, bus maps etc. Then everyone of us received a welcome gift, a bag with little snacks like chips, bottles of water and more information about New York City. That was very obliging!! The rooms were very modern, we had twin beds (each queen bed sized) with separate kitchen and bath. After the first night the chambermaids missed to clean the floor in the bathroom, but during the rest of our stay they cleaned our rooms perfectly. When we went to have our first breakfast, we were kind of speechless because they use plastic tableware and, of course, they throw it away and don't reuse it. In our view that's just very pollutive and living in Europe we are used to ecological awareness. Also, the breakfast itself was totally unhealthy and not as extensive as we had hoped. Mainly there were sweet dishes, the milk didn't taste like milk and the jelly should be replaced by a high-quality marmalade. The only thing that tastes the same all over the world is toast. So we ate toast every day. There was one other thing that disturbed us during the breakfast and that was the lady at the door who was responsible for refilling. She was totally unenthusiastic and busy writing short messages with her mobile phone. When asking her where to find this or that she wasn't really willing to answer. Concerning the area: The nearby metro station is Flushing Ave which is reachable within 10 min. The hotel itself is in a Jewish residential area. The first night there was a big jewish festival, but that wasn't disturbing at all, it was rather entertaining. Beyond the horrible breakfast we had a wonderful stay at Pointe Plaza Hotel and would stay there again, but next time we will go and have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laadywaashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto GTA ON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good place well run bright, high ceilings,modern and very airy.
Included in room charge hotel offers well stocked healthy ,varied self serve breakfast
choice.
Parking is available in a close by secure compound --half block away( $15 for 24 hrs).
Every staff member we encountered were quiet , caring, welcoming and more than
patient with directions.
Driving to Manhattan is a bit challenging . Allow extra time for traffic.
Public transportation links are also a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BENTOGTAON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take much pride is making sure that all of our guests feel comfortable and secure during their time here. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Pointe Plaza hotel very much. The rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. The breakfast is very good. What makes the difference are the people at the front desk/lobby who were extremely helpful and friendly, even before hurricane Sandy hit NY (we arrived on Oct. 27). Especially Analie is to be mentioned, as among other things she organised the transport to the Newark airport inspite off difficulties in finding a car due to the extreme petrol shortage as a result of Sandy. Instead of 3 days as booked, we finally had to stay 8 days in the hotel because of the postponement of our flight. Many thanks again! We highly recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans-Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.1 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Property: Pointe Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing