We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Large rooms with high ceilings. Receptionist very helpful. Location good for bus and subway. Kid safe hotel and local area. Close to Laguardia. Recommend for families. Not much for activities in the immediate area, unless Orthodox Jew, but safe area to walk around and easy access to bus, taxi and subway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your honest opinion and recognition of the value we offer at The Pointe Plaza Hotel.
We hope you will return soon; just for your future reference, we do offer a free shuttle to Times Square every morning from the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Pointe Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 774 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed for a week for business at the Pointe Plaza Hotel and I have nothing but great things to say about the ownership, management and staff at the hotel. Iman, the manager was very gracious and Analie was great to work with! Fidel, who worked the night shift, always greeted us with a smile and even parked my car for me a block and a half away!

They were ALL incredible to work with, very accommodating and super friendly everyday, no matter what we requested. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the sleeping room suites are spacious and cozy. Additionally, we used the Ballroom for the majority of the week and the staff was great in helping us with set up and providing snacks for our events. They were truly amazing the entire week!

With free breakfast, reasonable parking and great rates, you can't go wrong with this place! The subway is just a few blocks away so it is easy and cheap to get into Manhattan. Plus, you'll learn about a culture (Hasidic Jewish community) you may not know much about, which is one of the great things about traveling, whether you're on the road for work or pleasure!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th and 5th floors have high ceilings are very spacious!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jengon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you so much for expressing how you felt about our hospitality.
Honestly, reviews like yours keep us going and motivate us to go out of our way.

It was our pleasure to host your group and we promise to live up to your expectations
whenever you visit us again. I also want to thank you about recognizing the great value we offer.
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We (4 people) stayed at Pointe Plaza Hotel back in May for 5 nights. When we arrived we were welcomed by Anneli, a very friendly and helpful receptionist. =) She provided us with city maps, bus maps etc. Then everyone of us received a welcome gift, a bag with little snacks like chips, bottles of water and more information about New York City. That was very obliging!! The rooms were very modern, we had twin beds (each queen bed sized) with separate kitchen and bath. After the first night the chambermaids missed to clean the floor in the bathroom, but during the rest of our stay they cleaned our rooms perfectly. When we went to have our first breakfast, we were kind of speechless because they use plastic tableware and, of course, they throw it away and don't reuse it. In our view that's just very pollutive and living in Europe we are used to ecological awareness. Also, the breakfast itself was totally unhealthy and not as extensive as we had hoped. Mainly there were sweet dishes, the milk didn't taste like milk and the jelly should be replaced by a high-quality marmalade. The only thing that tastes the same all over the world is toast. So we ate toast every day. There was one other thing that disturbed us during the breakfast and that was the lady at the door who was responsible for refilling. She was totally unenthusiastic and busy writing short messages with her mobile phone. When asking her where to find this or that she wasn't really willing to answer. Concerning the area: The nearby metro station is Flushing Ave which is reachable within 10 min. The hotel itself is in a Jewish residential area. The first night there was a big jewish festival, but that wasn't disturbing at all, it was rather entertaining. Beyond the horrible breakfast we had a wonderful stay at Pointe Plaza Hotel and would stay there again, but next time we will go and have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laadywaashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good place well run bright, high ceilings,modern and very airy.
Included in room charge hotel offers well stocked healthy ,varied self serve breakfast
choice.
Parking is available in a close by secure compound --half block away( $15 for 24 hrs).
Every staff member we encountered were quiet , caring, welcoming and more than
patient with directions.
Driving to Manhattan is a bit challenging . Allow extra time for traffic.
Public transportation links are also a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BENTOGTAON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hello and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take much pride is making sure that all of our guests feel comfortable and secure during their time here. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Pointe Plaza hotel very much. The rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. The breakfast is very good. What makes the difference are the people at the front desk/lobby who were extremely helpful and friendly, even before hurricane Sandy hit NY (we arrived on Oct. 27). Especially Analie is to be mentioned, as among other things she organised the transport to the Newark airport inspite off difficulties in finding a car due to the extreme petrol shortage as a result of Sandy. Instead of 3 days as booked, we finally had to stay 8 days in the hotel because of the postponement of our flight. Many thanks again! We highly recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hans-Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I ended up a resident at Pointe Plaza hotel due to hurricane Sandy. My power was out at home and my flight had been cancelled. Pointe Plaza's staff was more than accommodating, and even lowered their rate when I had to extend my stay. The rooms are spacious with a kitchen, dining and sitting area. My room was a corner loft suite with high ceilings with great views. The hotel provided complimentary breakfast...I never made it downstairs in time...blame it on the comfortable beds. The only complaint or issue that may arise for guests is the limited supplies in the kitchen. Preparing a meal will prove to be a challenge. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again and I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5daygetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was clean and in a safe area, although it was an orthodox jewish community, they didn't bother anyone eventhough they did look at you funny. The best thing was the girls in the front desk. Those girls are GREAT!! I mainly dealt with Monica and she was extremely helpful in every way. She gave us directions as to where to go and what to do and recommended a great place to eat of which we went and it was delicious. She also gave us instructions as to where it was safe to travel or not. The service was excellent and I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to New York, eventhough its not in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Felicia1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hello!!! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and your family. I'm glad that you all enjoyed the sights and restaurants that I recommended. We really do try our best to make everyone feel comfortable and at home during their visit. We hope to welcome you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,007 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
602 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,064 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 72 in Brooklyn
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $131 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing