We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE, GREAT STAFF”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE, GREAT STAFF”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Excellent! I really liked this hotel. My family (Two kids 9 and 12, my older kid, 24; my husband and I) stayed 10 nights + one thanks to Irene the hurricane. No luxuries but you have what you need, including TV. The rooms are really comfortable and the beds are the best; clean linen and towels every day and breakfast is included.
The location is very good, close to everything in New York, they have a shuttle at 9:30 every day, and if you miss it, the subway station is 5 blocks away; it is safe to walk all around the neighborhood, we came back late many nights and walk from the subway to the hotel without problem. There is also a grocery store, and a catholic church nearby
I was a little concern about the Jewish population as I didn’t know so much about their religion but, there is no problem with them. They are really nice people.
I have to remark that the hurricane didn’t touch us; we just saw the water falling by the window.
Take advantage of this hotel, it will become more stars and therefore more expensive; we have stayed at 5+ star hotels and have to say that found more comfort and cleanness in this hotel.
For sure will stay again at the Pointe Plaza in our next trip to New York and recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives. The staff is great! all of them.

Excelente! Realmente me gusto el hotel. Mi familia (dos niños de 9 y 12 años, un joven de 24, mi esposo y yo) estuvimos 10 noches mas una gracias al huracán Irene. No es lujoso pero se tiene lo básico. Las habitaciones son muy cómodas y las camas son lo mejor; lencería y toallas limpias todos los días y el desayuno está incluido.
La ubicación es buenísima, cerca de todo en New York, tiene transporte a Manhattan todos los días a las 9:30 y si no lo alcanzan, el subway esta a 5 cuadras; el barrio es seguro, nosotros llegamos tarde varias noches y caminamos desde la estación del metro hasta el hotel sin problema. Hay una iglesia Católica una cuadra más allá de la estación del metro.
Me preocupaba un poco la población Judía ortodoxa porque no conozco mucho de su religión pero, son muy buenas personas y no hay ningún problema con ellos.
Debo resaltar que no sentimos el huracán, solo vimos la lluvia caer por la ventana.
Aprovechen este hotel, va a tener más estrellas y se va a volver más caro; nosotros nos hemos hospedado en varios hoteles de 5 estrellas y debo decir que este es más cómodo y limpio. Se los recomiendo.
To improve, Lo que se puede mejorar.
The wifi didn’t work properly all the time, the breakfast is self service and there are only two tables and 8 chairs at the breakfast place but you can take it to your room, there is a dining table.
It would have been good to have a hair dryer in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSaavedra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dearest Guest .

Thank you so much for taking the time and write us such a beautiful review.
We really appreciate that and it was our pleasure having you as a guest.
we looking forward to welcoming you again.
Just a little note, we had problems with our internet network that period of time and we now changing to another network , also hairdryers should be in all rooms in case there is no, we always have in stock more just call the front desk.

yours truly

Davy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    259
    94
    31
    30
See reviews for
266
168
50
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had a beautiful Shabbos at the Pointe Plaza. The rooms are beautiful and spacious.
i would deffinitely recommend the hotel to a friend!
A family had a shabbaton there and the coffee room was locked because the family ate the seudah there. I couldn't get hot water for bottles. otherwise, i had no complaints.
looking forward for another stay!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a couch or loveseat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Couldn’t be better!!!

I am usually not the type of person to write reviews after my stay at a hotel but this time I decided I will write and the reasons are as follows.
This hotel is a new hotel opened up about a year ago and you can feel and see how much effort is been putting in there to make it work to a 110%.

Here in this boutique Pointe plaza hotel you don’t feel like just another number every guest gets a feeling like you are the one and only one, from the moment you check in.

Always you pass the front desk you get a warm hello and when you come back from your day out you get welcomed again with a warm hello and asked how your day was and what we can make it even better with info like where you can dine out or if you need the closest grocery shop to buy anything or if you just in the mood for a good ice cream from a shop near by…

The rooms for itself are very comfortable we had a nice spacious room with high ceilings. We just loved it.

They have the most comfortable and clean beds we ever experienced in any other hotel with quality duvet covers and very comfortable pillows.

The sheets were so clean and fresh (we even saw it arriving one morning from the cleaners how beautiful packed and rapped) that when you fall into this fresh bed after a day out, no words can describe those comfortable feelings.

They also serve a healthy and fresh continental breakfast.

We also loved the shuttle service going to Manhattan every morning that was just so convenience for us.

All together we loved it this hotel is sooo clean you can see how they put in an effort and attention in every little detail.

We thank you again for our pleasant stay !!!

The Schorstel family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Pointe Plaza in May for 5 days and we loved our experience! Being students, we were looking for a nice place that wouldn't ruin our budget and this hotel was perfect! Compared to other hotels on Manhattan, Pointe Plaza offered much nicer and bigger rooms, all in a brand new building and for a decent rate. Upon our arrival, we were given a warm welcome and the receptionist provided us with maps of the city and informed us about the Manhattan shuttle service, which was great! Also, as previously mentioned, the subway is about a 10-minute walk away from the hotel and it took from 25-45 minutes to get into the city.

Our room had high ceilings and was very clean and spacious. We didn't use the kitchen, which does not include utensils or plates, but it was nice to have a fridge to store some snacks and leftovers from restaurant dinners. The internet outlet in our room was not working at first but as soon as we mentioned it, they immediately sent a technician who fixed the problem in a matter of minutes! The next day, wi-fi was installed which was even better!

Our room was always cleaned and everything was in place. A couple of times we had to ask for some extra towels and soap but it was brought to us quickly and with a smile. The bathroom was very complete but it would be nice to have a hair dryer.

The breakfast was very good! They offered fruits, different breads and cheeses, cereals, cookies, yogourt, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc.

We recommend this hotel to everyone! The building is beautiful and the service is great but what makes Pointe Plaza special is its staff! The receptionists always welcomed us with a warm smile regardless of the time of the day and the manager, Davy, was always ready to help us in any possible! With a staff like that, this young business can only thrive! We will definitely be back, thank you for everything! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Don't stay here we had a room full of bugs they were everywhere biting us, and when we told the front desk they said they knew about it and it would be taken cared of, that is unacceptable we were never offered a refund or a different room we also spoke to other guest and they said there were huge bugs in the eating area, what a downfall. Me and my fiance will never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrenchBaker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
We can find no record of this incident, and it certainly is not a issue that was ever brought up to our attention at any time . We urge you to contact us directly to discuss.”

Davy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel was great. Found it while they ran a "Brooklyn Special". So clean and suite rooms. Very clean. It's a little off the beaten path but taxi or walk to subway is worth it. I walked via Williamsburg Bridge. It took an hour to @ 24th and 5 Av area. A must consider hotel. Value

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Last minute change to this accommodation proved to be a wise choice. We had adjoining rooms with our 4 children and grandparents across the hall. Would never have gotten this set up for this reasonable price in Manhattan! Hotel is 2 years old, clean, and comfortable with soft duvets on the beds. Air coniditioning throughout.

Pointe Plaze is situated in the heart of an Orthodox Jewish community in Brooklyn -- about 20-40 minutes car ride just over the bridge from Manhattan. Area is older, but very safe with mothers and babies in strollers walking on streets well into the evening. The hotel is situated on a busy street corner, so did hear traffic at night, but not sure you can escape this in New York!

Free healthy breakfast served daily consisting of toast, muffins, waffles, various cereals, fruit, yogurt, juice, and coffee. Also, free shuttle into Manhattan each morning (except Sunday) was a great perk! Must find ride back to hotel from Manhattan -- taxis varied in price from $22-35.

Rooms equipped with essentials, although had to ask for more toilet paper and cups which were readily given to us upon request. The rooms have kitchenettes, but there are no dishes, cutlery, or pots and pans to cook. A hot plate/pot can be obtained from the front desk upon request.

All staff were sincere, friendly, and helpful, particularly the manager who went out of his way to offer personalized service, asking us each day how things were and if we needed anything.

We felt very fortunate to have found this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone, but particularly families who wish to see NYC on a budget and are willing to stay outside of Manhattan. (We discovered some great restaurants in Brooklyn!!) The hotel is very clean and safe and the staff are conscientious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 11Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

Davy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,004 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,056 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 72 in Brooklyn
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Property: Pointe Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing