We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Heaven ---- But”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Traif

Traif
Ranked #104 of 5,320 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
232 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven ---- But”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

As a prelude to riding the Five Boros bike ride we made a reservation for my wife and family at Traif. Both my sons live in Clinton Hills so it was a short ride to the restaurant. My younger son recommended we try the tasting menu. We asked if the kitchen could stress courses with fish or shellfish and the kitchen was more than happy to accommodate. We had an amuse of pea soup and then prawns, scallops and fish as part the eleven courses. The only meat was delicious barbecue ribs. There was not a miss from the salad to the dessert. My only complaint was the wine policy. I did not call ahead to check if outside wine was allowed. I brought some old wines from my cellar only to be informed wine had to be purchased from the list. There was an eclectic selection but not many older wines to choose from. I must comment about the wonderful Schott crystal the wine was served with. However, because of the wine policy I probably would hesitate to dine at Traif frequently even though the food was excellent and the tasting menu a true bargain for New York.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank napman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    23
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Noisy but totally worthy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

One of the best food ever tried worldwide!
The mix and match,salty and sweet in a perfect and totally creative way makes it the perfect place for people who loves every kind of food and love to experiment new tastes! They have small dishes so that you can taste more of them sharing the food with your friends.
The more you try the more you want to go back there ASAP.

Helpful?
Thank Lululullina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“can't judge a restaurant by etc....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The small and yes very noisy space belies the friendly and professional service, unique food, (one dish was better than the next) and is an excellent value. That tiny kitchen is amazing. What else could a foodie want?:-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Wow, amazing place... The food was way more exiting than many michelin star restaurants i've been too. We had the 13-course tasting menu, priced at 45 dollars...!!!!
Perfect service, perfect atmosphere, perfect food. Would go back any day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeppeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the choice of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I came here on a last minute search and ive always wanted to come here based on the reviews and the pictures and it didnt dissapoint. The food here is very fresh and unique. I also sat at the bar after a pretty long wait but i went for drinks they called me back and i came back. Reservations are a must of course if you want to sit down but after 10pm you should be okay. While sitting at the bar you see the chefs there making the food and it was great to see them prepare everything. I ordered the soft shell crab, the tuna and the ribs, and the artichoke wow they are all amazing. I do wish the plates were a bit larger but the only minus i would say is the wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traif also viewed

 

Been to Traif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing