We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Missing Lantern
Ranked #42 of 59 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the James Amistad suite. It was clean and well appointed. The only complaint I have is that we could not regulate the heat and it was HOT in there. Thank goodness there was a fan that we plugged in, which helped to cool us while we slept and drowned out any street noise. We live in a very rural area of Maine and are used to silence at night.
We felt very safe in this building with 4 coded locks to get in. The neighborhood seemed fine too. We walked from our son's apt. on Franklin back to our suite at 10 p.m.
Parking was an issue in the evening and not knowing what the nearly non-existant paint on the curb meant earned us a $110. parking ticket for having the nose of our car in a bus stop.
Missing Lantern is very convenient to the subway, too.
As long as our son stays in Brooklyn we will be back again another time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at the missing lantern guesthouse for two weeks and I really enjoyed it. The suite was very spacious and very cozy. I had my own private kitchen and bathroom. Free Wifi and cable. The staff was great and very helpful. Although I checked in late, getting in my suite was a breeze. I would definitely recommend this place to others and I will definitely return to the guesthouse whenever I am coming to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for the Tropical suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked an apartment here last fall, immediately when we got there we wanted to get out. Ther room was very dark, with dark furniture. And the room was in the middle of the night crawling with cockroaches. We compained and got an insecticide immediately. Staff was friendly, but not pofessional. We ended up sleeping with 3 people in 1 bed because of the roaches. Never ever again. The neighbourhood is rough, the local store on the corner ripped us off. Very bad stay.

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank An J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I had nice stay at the guest,the area was good.The room was better than i expected it was very warm and cozy.You would more likely to see me again and yes i would defenitly recommend this guest.

Room Tip: beautiful stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the wonderful missing lantern Guesthouse. I stayed in the new suite (9) which is the asian suite and it was amazing. I was shock to see how they decorate the room with chinese umbrellas in the ceiling and the colors were fantastic. I would definitely come again. The staff was excellent and ver helpfull.

Room Tip: ask for the Asian suite or the Blues room. Those two suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyP602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the missinglantern. I had to check in late because of my flight and it was not a problem becuase it is sort of a self check in. Free Wifi and I had my on kitchen for two days with a nighborhood store right on the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abington B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

It was kinda weird. We arrived at the address on the original email and there were signs up directing us to the appropriate address across the street and 10 doors down. And all locks were keyless with punch pads set to your home phone number. The room itself was really nicely done with hardwood floors, a small kitchen including fridge, and a bathroom with interesting decor. So needless to say, we loved the room.

The neighborhood made us a bit nervous and we are seasoned travelers. We didn't get hassled at all, so maybe it was just our perception. The distance to the subway was a bit of a walk, maybe 6 blocks, but a little intimidating in that area. The wait for the subway, we used the A line mostly, was always longer than expected.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sofia Inn
The Sofia Inn
#9 of 59 in Brooklyn
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
At Home In Brooklyn
At Home In Brooklyn
#4 of 59 in Brooklyn
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sankofa Aban BnB
Sankofa Aban BnB
#8 of 59 in Brooklyn
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Missing Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Missing Lantern

Address: 1156 Dean St, Brooklyn, NY 11216-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range: $162 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Missing Lantern 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, first class, fully furnished, studio apartment suites, in a Brooklyn brownstone. Our stylish suites include a luxurious bath, one queen sized and one full sized bed, with elegant sheets and plush pillows, atop an irresistible mattress. All suites include a microwave, refrigerator, cable television and coffeemaker. Our suites are also self help if you desire to prepare your own meals. We are also conveniently located near local restaurants and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Missing Lantern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Missing Lantern Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing