We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At Home In Brooklyn
Ranked #4 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here with my family, 7 in total, so we booked the whole house for a week. Don was very welcoming and hospitable, with useful advice about Brooklyn and New York. The house is very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Much more space than we have ever had in a New York hotel. It is very easy to get about and explore all the city from here - 20 minutes and you are in Mannhatten. There is also lots to do in and around Park Slope which is a very attractive neighbourhood, with lots of good and reasonably priced bars and restaurants.

Taking over the whole house was also a real bonus as it provided a great base, where we felt comfortable and very much at home.

The breafasts were excellent and set us up for a full day exploring.

The art deco bathroom on the 2nd floor is a marvel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsLad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
17
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This house abounds with books, original artwork, readily accessible bottles of chilled water, yogurt, and friendliness. There's a DVD library and daily newspapers including the New York Time, New York Post, and the Wall Street Journal. The breakfast table was full of lively conversation about families and politics. Many of the guests were regulars and had family members from Brooklyn dropping by to join them for breakfast. And you can't beat the location. A few steps from Prospect Park, the public library, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, and the Brooklyn Museum, the location offers plenty of activity. There's also a beautiful patio if you'd rather read a book and relax. Home away from home doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: The suite on the 3rd floor has a private rooftop patio and large soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I'll be honest. B&B's sometimes give me the creeps. I sometimes feel like I am intruding into someone else's space or they are intruding into mine. Not so At Home In Brooklyn (AHB). Not at all. My wife and I stayed booked a room at AHB to get a feel for the Park Slope area as there really aren't any hotels by Prospect Park. What a nice surprise when we arrived to find ourselves in a beautiful building in a terrific location and such gracious, non-intrusive hosts. Don and Marco could not have been nicer or more informative or just plain interesting. We got the room overlooking the park and a bed that I wanted to take home with me it was so comfortable. The breakfast was perfect, fresh everything. Felt like home, felt like we were among friends. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Though the room overlooking the park is beautiful, there is some noise from the street at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Excellent B&B, perfect room and long delicious breakfast. Thanks Don and Marco, I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here in October and I have been meaning to write a review ever since! At Home in Brooklyn is a lovely place to stay, the rooms are beautiful and the location is great for exploring Brooklyn or getting into central Manhattan. Don and Marco were great hosts and really could not do enough for you, from lending umbrellas to arranging admission to MOMA - nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend At Home in Brooklyn to anyone who wants a bit more than the usual soulless Manhattan hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piranha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central tx
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Have stayed there last three or four years and enjoyed each stay.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My husband and I travelled to New York for a business/pleasure trip and decided we wanted to explore Brooklyn. We had previously always stayed in Manhattan. What a welcome change. From the moment we arrived, Don and Marco made us feel so comfortable and welcome. The bed was exceedingly comfortable and the location could not be beat. The house itself, a fully restored brownstone mansion, was in and of itself a true gem. The breakfast each morning was phenomenal with Marco making some tasty treats and fresh smoothies. Don gave recommendation for some of the best food I have ever eaten at local eateries. I would stay at At Home In Brooklyn again in a heartbeat. Next time I will be taking our two children (aged 4 and 6) along with us too..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wagmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
1.5 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In Brooklyn

Property: At Home In Brooklyn
Address: 15 Prospect Park W, Brooklyn, NY 11215-1705
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home In Brooklyn is a luxury B&B and Inn in a townhouse on Prospect Park, surrounded by nearly 600 acres of park and a broad avenue of landmarked grand Victorian mansions dating to Brooklyn's golden age in the 1880s. Short walk to subways to Manhattan, the Brooklyn Museum, Botanic Garden, BAM, and Barclays Center and 5 wedding venues. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing