We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bed ever!!!”
Review of The Condor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Condor Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed July 21, 2013

the bed at the condor is the best bed i ever slept in. it's like sleeping on a cloud!!!!the rooms are big and the bathroom is great...if you have a bath enjoy it!!!it is so big...there is easily room for two!...
the staff at the condor is so friendly! John is great! he did everything to make us feel comfortable. even when i asked him for plates and cutlery at midnight ( we had a midnight feasttakeaway from vanessa's dumplings) he didnt hesitate and got it straightaway.
the breakfast is good i loved the bagels! i just missed my waffles.. and even if you don't want to sit at the big breakfast room you can take your stuff up in your room and have brekkie in bed in front of the telly ( we mostly watched dr. phil)
the staff is always there if you need help. the station is around 15 minutes walk and easy to find. I must admit that i would prefer this hotel to any hotel (even the plaza or hilton) because it is just "my"condor...it was a great experience and at the end i really really wished i could stay. thanks to the lovely cleaning ladies too!!! i think they deserve a big trophy for cleaning our room!!! (especially my side..but that is a different story)
the hotel is so good that we sometimes just stayed in instead of going clubbing...and i really wouldn't change anything about my great holliday (except i would have liked some waffles =P))
staff was great even when we booked the hotel and there were probs with the money on my account. they just waited paitently..thanks condor for my condor moments!!!

Room Tip: ask for a bathtub!!!!and don't feel afraid to ask the staff...they are always nice and friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hathorvondendera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am so delighted that we were able to deliver our 5 star commitment to you during your recent visit to NYC. Your valuable feedback is so unbelievably helpful. Thank you for sharing all of this.

Our staff is happy that the beds, rooms and bathrooms met your expectations. By the way, all of our rooms have a bath! John and our staff are so proud that they made such a positive impact during your stay. We have the best staff in NYC and I am glad you felt so at home and taken care of. Our cleaning staff is also ecstatic that they delivered their 5 star commitment to you as well!

Come back again so we can recreate those "Condor moments."

Thanks agains,

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

I loved staying at the Condor. I'm a Manhattan girl and I usually stay midtown when I'm in nyc but this trip was an emergency and I couldn't afford the 1000+ prices for just 2 nights. The Condor wasn't exactly cheap but it was a great deal. The hotel was really clean which is the #1 thing I look for. The rooms were contemporary, and look just like they are advertised. They were extremely roomy for one person and would be very roomy for two. They also were great checking me in and the front desk staff was pleasant. The morning breakfast was easy and quick, and perfect before running out to accomplish what I needed to. The only thing I would complain about was the location...it was a little hard getting to Manhattan where I had to do most of my business but the neighborhood was safe and peaceful. Which is a good change from staying midtown. If you dont mind staying in south Williamsburg, then u will LOVE the condor. I still very happy with my stay and I will be returning to the Condor in two weeks :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle_C_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Isabelle,

I am sorry that you found yourself in an emergency situation on your recent trip to New York City. Our staff and I are very honored that you have decided to join us again in two weeks even though all of your previous stays have been in very expensive Midtown Manhattan hotels. I am very glad that you experienced what our guests experience when choosing our hotel and that is kind, helpful staff, clean, spacious and contemporary rooms with a fine complimentary breakfast. I am disappointed that you did not find our hotel to be as close to your work location. Perhaps our front desk can research a quicker route. We are here 24/7 for our guests so please let us know what we can do to help (no matter what hour of the day or night).

Thanks again for choosing us and we can't wait to see you again in 2 weeks!

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was in on business, filming in Brooklyn and wanted a place close to our studio. I am very delighted to report the hotel was clean, stylish, comfortable and had a very helpful staff. It had all the amenities of larger and finer hotels, but most of all, my room was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed! During the crazy heatwave, the AC was a fantastic lifesaver! I definitely recommend this place as a "find". You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Thom,

Thank you for choosing the Condor Hotel for your recent film production trip. I am proud that we delivered a 5 star stay. Your feedback in regards to our impeccable hotel cleanliness, style and staff as well as your very positive experience with our spacious rooms, comfortable beds and refreshing a/c is very helpful to us. My staff is delighted that their hard work during your stay made your stay so enjoyable.

We can't wait to see you again and encourage you to book direct for your next stay.

Until Next Time,

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights last week. Easily the best hotel I have been to in NYC and I have been coming to New York since 1998. The room was comfy, pleasantly air conditioned and had a handy mini-kitchen which was very handy for traveling with a small child. There was even a private screened in patio paved with soft rubber bricks perfect for a unsteady toddler to explore. The room had a energy saving system that cuts the electricity unless the key card is inserted- I especially appreciated that thoughtful feature. We were able to find street parking easily and we were in walking distance to a number of restaurants and stores. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Brooklyn and we can't wait to come back. We would like to say a special thanks to John who helped us upon check in and Drew (I think that was his name) overnight.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeletonkeys555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to NYC. Your feedback is extremely important to us. We are humbled that you feel that The Condor Hotel is easily the best hotel you have been to in NYC since visiting here frequently since the late 90s. All of the positive points you have pointed out are so helpful to us and very descriptive for our future guests.

Thanks again, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had only stayed in Manhattan during our trips to NY, but this time we decided to beat the Manhattan prices and give Brooklyn a try! Condor Hotel is unbelievable! So clean, so accommodating. The location is a bit of a walk from the subway, but it is totally worth it. Andrew, David, and John have all been so helpful. Every time I come to NYC, we will be staying at the Condor! Great hotel for families!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for joining us with your husband and three kids from Evangston Park, Illionois. We understood that you have always chosen Manhattan as your hotel destination on your past trips and are honored that you decided to give us a shot. My staff and I want to thank you for your very valuable and honest feedback. We work 24/7/365 to assure that our guests get a level of service that they would not find at any other hotel. You noticing this really lets us know that we are doing out job.

Be sure to call us directly for your next booking so that we can give you our best possible rate.

Thanks again!

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

stayed at the Condor for two nights with my Mother and sister and were very pleased with the hotels ammeniites. very effficient use of space; modern rooms with comfortable bedding and adequate storage space. we were especially happy with the kitchenette (microwave, fridge, sink, wine glasses). Gentleman at the lobby was extremely helpful and friendly. its not too far from the subway either so it easy to get into the middle of town. The only problem we had was with our air-conditioner which was faulty and so very loud (my mother was unable to sleep properly the first night) However, this problem was rectified IMMEDIATELY by the hotel manager, David (my new bestfriend haha) and he refunded a nights stay! not only that, we were given a room to rest while we waited for our evening flight even though checkout is 11am! Furthermore, we were given cookies and lemonade everyday! The nice gentleman from earlier and David gave us a nice sendoff with more lemondae for our taxi ride to the airport!
Will definitely be staying at the Condor next time i'm in New York and would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Nicole,

I am so glad that you enjoyed the fresh cookies and lemonade that we sent you off with! Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such valuable feedback. It's feedback like yours which helps us grow and become better every day we come into work. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the issue you faced with the a/c unit while you were here. Bringing it to our attention immediately allowed us to respond immediately.

It sounds like you really enjoyed our modern rooms, comfortable bedding, adequate storage space, standard suite-like kitchenette (with microwave, fridge, sink, wine glasses) as well as our staff and central location.

We hope you keep in touch and join us again soon!

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had looked at the reviews before we went and were glad we booked here! Our room was on the first floor. No view but lovely and quiet! It was very clean as well which is always a "must"for me especially! The staff were extremely helpful with directions. They were also very helpful with our check-in as we also had our bikes with us that they stored for us when needed. The breakfast was in a lovely room downstairs . The staff there were also very friendly. They also have a lovely garden that is so pretty and private and quiet at the back. We really enjoyed having our coffee outside. There is also a lovely sitting area with a TV just off of that. We were within biking distance to the Brooklyn Bridge which was great. We felt it was a reasonable cost and the parking was just across the street. Very easy to access.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, the main floor worked well for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Nancy,

Your positive review is really appreciated. I am very happy that you enjoyed a quiet sleep. Our night staff makes sure to keep the building extremely quiet. Our housekeeping and front desk team is going to be so happy that they were able to deliver on their 5 star commitment to friendliness, helpfulness and cleanliness. We recently upgraded our breakfast so I am very happy to see that you enjoyed it. I am very glad that you enjoyed what all of our other guests enjoyed including our one-of-a-kind garden, lounge, easy parking and great access to all parts of Brooklyn and Manhattan.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to share your experience and feedback with my hotel. Be sure to call us directly for your next booking so we can set you up with our best rate!

David Margolies
General Manager
Condor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.8 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,049 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 73 in Brooklyn
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 73 in Brooklyn
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#12 of 73 in Brooklyn
939 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#22 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Address: 56 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $149 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing