We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Condor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Condor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Someone from my family has stayed at The Condor twice since November, 2012. Both experiences have been nothing less than wonderful. The staff is capable, friendly, thoughtful and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We particularly liked the proximity to Pratt Institute and enjoyed the apparent safety of the neighborhood. The Yiddishkeit was much appreciated, also, as was the diversity of clientele.

Room Tip: Corner room are almost always quieter--in any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you mfz56 for taking the time to write and share your experience with others. We are glad both of your stays were wonderful and look forwarding to hosting you again on your future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    198
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
247
185
94
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a business trip to Brooklyn and stayed 3 days in Condor Hotel. Everything looked great. Great service and decent rooms. The only negative is that it has no subway nearby and i had to take a taxi to do all my work.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you Jessica for taking the time to write and share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again on your next business (or pleasure!) trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

a cold day in January, we needed a hotel to stay for 2 night, we have a 5 year old, and a newborn, we booked the condor we got an upgrade to a suite which was very nice, room was clean,


we had 4 rooms total of we all check out happy,

p.s. if you walk in the bathroom with out shoes you feet will get very cold,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yossi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you Yossi for taking the time to write. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at the Condor January 2013 for the night before and of my wedding in BK. The single worst hotel experience of my life. The night before my wedding we had NO HOT WATER, and were told that there was nobody available to fix the issue at that time (and that this was a recurring problem). I was unable to bathe the night before my wedding & had no reassurance that the issue would be fixed. I had referred all my wedding guests to stay in a hotel that had no hot water & was mortified, as well as frantically planning how I was going to be able to bathe/etc prior to my wedding all night instead of getting any sleep. So stressful & the exact opposite of how I wanted the night before my wedding to be.

By the next morning, the day of my wedding, the hot water issue was fixed & although I had zero sleep I was at least able to shower before my bridal party arrived to get ready.

The next issue was while I was gone from the suite. I was informed by my maid of honor that while I left early to take my wedding photos she noticed a leak & that the BATHROOM WAS FLOODING. She had to spend her getting ready time prior to the wedding watching someone fix the leaking toilet & prevent us from returning to a flooded out room on the night of the wedding! DISGUSTING!

The morning we checked out the hot water was on & off, but at that point we had completely given up on anything going well here.

We recieved a full refund for the money we paid since the stay was a total disaster, but I am not impressed, as American Express would have ensured my refund regardless of the hotel's response.

Save yourself the headache & STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NurseMel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
As I have already expressed to you directly, we sincerely apologize for your experience during your stay. As the rest of the reviewers here on TripAdvisor can attest, this is not a normal experience for our guests; just as in any other hotel (or home for that matter) sometimes things happens that are out of our control. As you mentioned in your review, we did do everything in our power from repairing the hot water system on your floor overnight to issuing a full refund without argument.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was so hesitant about staying here intially because the reviews were very hit or miss. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a nice hotel. Pros: the decor of the room(minus the heating/ac unit) was very chic and the light situation was pretty cool, the staff were extremely helpful, free wi-fi, discount parking, Cons: the "king" bed are two twin beds pushed together, it is very far from the subway, no GYM or swimming pool, most balconies face a brick way so try to get a room facing the front of the street. All in all if it were a short stay and you have a car yes, but if you have no car be prepared to walk or pay for taxis.

Room Tip: There is a deposit of $250
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you Brittany for taking the time to write. We appreciate each review as it helps us constantly improve for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very very clean hotel near where we needed to be in brooklyn. (son's wedding was at a hall on the next block). we arrived very late on a saturday night & they treated us very well. They offered to move us to a less conspicious spot for the next night, but we didn't need to budge for the next night.

everything was new & sparkling.

continental breakfast was a nice surprise -- all of it was kosher!!!! we were able to find on-street parking so didn't have to pay for parking.

definitely would recommend this place. everyone that we met in the hotel were great -- there was a computer in the lobby & they let us print out from the main desk. we were able to use the breakfast room past the "breakfast time to work on place cards". also, the bakery across the street has wonderful smells....wish it was a retail outlet, not a commerical.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Jane for taking the time to write and thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at The Condor for a three day weekend in January, visiting our son, who lives in Brooklyn. The good points were that it was clean, the beds were comfy, and the staff was friendly. The caveats were that subways were few and far between, the only hot item on the continental breakfast was a waffle machine, and we each had only one towel per person. Also, Thursday night was fine, but Friday abd Saturday nights we were awoken at four a.m. to the sound of heavy pitter pattering of feet or something that sounded like it, above us. We toughed it out on Friday night and told the front desk person Saturday morning. After it happened again Saturday night(Sunday morning), we called the front desk to inform them. After about thirty minutes, it subsided. Needless to say, we had to get up at six a.m. for a six hour ride back to Virginia, and were pretty tired! Upon check out, the front desk person asked me about it and told me the manager would be calling us about it either that day (Sunday) or the next day. He said he went up to check it out after we called the front desk, and heard nothing. We are currently thinking, for lack of a better explanation, that the hotel is haunted - LOL! Needless to say, it is now three days later and we have not heard a peep from any Condor staff. Probably won't stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Lisa for taking the time to write a review. We value all feedback and aim to constantly improve the guest experience. I can assure you that the hotel isn't haunted (it was built in 2010!) and that noise complaints like yours are not common.

Our Front Desk Manager did try reaching you a few times in the days after your departure and has left you a detailed message as well. Due to the fact that you booked through a third party we do not have your email address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.7 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#8 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 70 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Property: The Condor Hotel
Address: 56 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing