We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Meats is true to it's name.”
Review of Prime Meats

Prime Meats
Reserve with OpenTable
Prime Meats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 5,363 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Prime Meats is true to it's name.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The BEST roast beef sandwich I ever had, with a scrumptious peppery mayonnaise sauce that I ate for lunch. Dinner gets even better. A great wine and cocktail selection.
You have to go here. The waitress seemed a little out if it, or maybe she had too many tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    47
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
jarvischas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great local eatery”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from a city break to New York and by chance discovered Caroll Gardens, Brooklyn and in particular Prime Meats restaurant. This is a great little neighbourhood and if Prime Meat is anything to go by well serviced with neighbourhood restaurants.

We started by having a couple of cocktails followed by dinner for two. The bar area is very stylish with a barman who knew his way round his drinks and how to mix cocktails both off and on the menu. The wine list was also extensive with some good choices, but would have like to seen a longer list of American wines – simply as the choices for USA wines in the UK is limited.

The food was excellent, Steak Tartar and Pork Chop for me, while my partner had Black Bream. This was rounded off with a simple desert of burnt cream. The service made you feel special, attentive but not in your face. It was just the right type of atmosphere for a low-key Monday evening. Although I reckon Prime Meats would also be great place to go for a special weekend dinner too. Since leaving the restaurant I have raved about it to anyone who will listen I felt at home there and wish it was my local neighbourhood eatery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jarvischas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming place with too few menu options.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The place is very nice. The wait staff pleasant. There are not enough choices on the menu. This would actually stop me from returning anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msjanehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Average Brunch but Good Beer Selection”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I can only speak for their Brunch, as I hear Dinner is a whole different ball game, and it was a very average Brunch. Came here with high expectations as it is a famous place with a good reputation, but was disappointed. The atmo is really cozy, with seating options of booths or open tables. We came on a Saturday and were seated quickly; the service was ok – but they did not rush with our drinks. The menu did look more appealing than the actual food. I ordered a ham and Swiss cheese sandwich; the ham was greasy, the poached eggs were runny, but the butter biscuit was good. They do serve a nice variety of beers. I would not recommend Brunch there but a stop for a refreshing beer will work.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent first experience”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Just back to the States and with biorhythms still on Paris time, we wandered down Court Street wondering where to find a somewhat early meal before crashing. We had been in Prime Meats once before for a drink, and had looked at the menu and thought it might meet our needs. We were richly rewarded.

We kept it simple with a salad of flawless greens with a vinaigrette nicely informed with a whiff of wasabi. We both had the steak frites which was a plate fit for the gods. The strips (billed as 12 oz on the menu, but a lot closer to 16 oz on this night) were some of the nicest dry-aged beef we had had in a while, cooked to exactly the rare doneness in the interior we had negotiated with our personable waiter, and with a lovely slight exterior crust. The frites were thin hand cut fries, cooked in oil the food police would probably frown upon, and totally irresistible.

The wine list is oriented to uncommon and engaging offerings, and there are decent choices by the glass. Our waiter was most patient and professional. The Grateful Dead bootleg live concert playing in the background somehow made sense.

We are eager to go back and explore the more complex items on the menu the next time we are in town. The menu suggests a hip Alsatian bistro spin (sausage, pork schnitzel, foie gras, baked marrow bones etc.)

Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Meats also viewed

 

Been to Prime Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing