We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, quiet and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent 3 nights here and feel satisfied - friendly staff, room clean, modern and quiet, tasty breakfast and this everything just 1 minute of walking from "R" subway station. The only think I didn't like was breakfast area which was too small and overcrowded. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie A, General Manager at Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Knyta,

I wish to thank you for your nice comments regarding our hotel and staff. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I cannot however take credit for the 1 minute walk to the “R” line subway station, but consider it a perk myself for I utilize the “R” line subway as well.

I apologize that the breakfast room was crowed during your stay. Just so you know for your next visit, we do have a second breakfast room close to the first with additional seating for our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,

Charlie Alfano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
There are newer reviews for Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent 4 days in Brooklyn with my friend, we had a very nice room (not big but we had everything we needed), the coffee machine was not working properly but we didn't mind. The bathroom was very nice, with bath and shower. The breakfast was free and excellent, you have a lot of options to choose from, maybe the breakfast room is a bit small and if you arrive after 9 you have to wait to get a table (which was not a problem, we were on holiday anyway). The only disappointing thing was that when I gave my credit card to pay at the end, the receptionist entered the details and then told me that I did not have enough money, and the card was denied. He sounded quite judgemental, and I felt quite embarassed and worried that something happened with my card. Although I knew I had enough money in that card, I paid with a different one, and as soon as I got back home I called the card company to check what happened. They told me the person who took the payment entered the wrong expiry date, that's why the card was denied. So just a little advice for the receptionist, next time be more careful when taking a payment!!! The other members of staff where extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilagalf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Initially, was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.
.
VERY reasonably priced for a best western in NYC - booked via booking.com this hotel is situated in Brooklyn BUT it is right outside an 'R' subway line...and a few blocks away from another subway with the quicker 'N' line.

Staff were very friendly on arrival.

Room was fine - clean, but small. Free WIFI in the rooms :)

Heating didnt seem to work ...read another review about this as well...seems as though it may be a problem? but we didnt complain about it (couldn't be bothered).

2 things let this place down...

1) Breakfast.
The selection of breakfast was no less than I expected (from previous stays in NYC) ... cheap & cheerful bagels, cereal, pastries, waffles etc.

Breakfast was also included in our room price which was also good :) :)

...but the whole breakfast hall had about 6 tables -- it's too cramped in there !!


2) At the end of the trip we were in a rush to get to JFK airport so asked the hotel to order us a taxi.....the receptionist rang the taxi man who quoted $55 ..which seems VERY excessive. I was expecting about $40 including tip etc. (which is what I had seen on the internet) but we had no time to query this. The receptionist informed us that this was a 'flat rate' from Brooklyn to JFK.


... what i later realised when we were in the taxi was that this cab was unlicenced. There was no photo ID to prove he was a cab driver. He drove like an absaloute MANIAC on the highway to JFK, dodging traffic from one lane to another constantly throughout the journey, must have been going about 100mph at times.


MY ADVICE - do NOT trust the receptionists !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2shots3089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie A, General Manager at Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear 2shots3089,

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with your trip back to JFK. The car service we use is fully insured, and licensed by the New York Taxi and limousine commission (TLC). The cars are not marked with “taxi” since they are a private service, and cannot be flagged down in the street like a yellow taxi that you can hail in Manhattan. The rate quoted is correct, and is our negotiated discount rate with them so you were not overcharged.

I will speak to the car service owner on your behalf to inquire as to who the driver was that transported you, and let them know about your experience.

I hope the next time you visit us from the UK, you will consider staying with us again, and we look forward to being of service to you.

Regards,

Charlie Alfano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western for a short trip to New York. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly which makes writing this review a shame. The room was small which I can live with, when in New York no one typically stays in the room. However, the heat did not work, we were in the room underground level; so we had no cellphone service and we were by the breakfast room with a door which started to slam closed constantly starting around 5 a.m. I got the weekend rate which was 356.00 including tax etc., plus $18.00 a night to park at the hotel. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the underground level room. You will not have phone service.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllis_M255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie A, General Manager at Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Phyllis_M255,

I would like to apologize for your less than perfect stay with us.

Due to the strict building requirements of the City of New York the structure on the lower level is quite thick which hinders some cell service. Some carrier signals are stronger than others so depending on what service you have, the signal can be low. All rooms are equipped with a telephone for guest use however.

I do not know your full name so cannot determine what room you were in that had the heat issue, but will instruct my Chief Engineer to check the lower level rooms to diagnose what the issue may be.

I am happy that you found the rooms clean and that my staff was friendly.
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor, and hope you will give us another chance.

Regards,

Charlie Alfano
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Razaf_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlie A, General Manager at Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had a friend stay at this property and he recommended it to me when I told him I was going to NYC for my birthday. He gave me the heads up that the room he had was small but overall the hotel was great.

I booked the hotel and stayed from 12.06.12 - 12.09.12. As soon as I walked in my party and I were greeted by the front desk staff. Check-in was a breeze and the clerks even helped us w/ party scene information.

The hotel overall is very cozy and clean. Since its December they had a christmas tree and menorah in the lobby area. The room was spacious enough for my party (we had 2 double beds for 3 guests). The bathroom was big and extremely clean. Our room was on the 10th floor and we could see a great view of Downtown NYC. I felt right at home!

The location of the hotel is great. There's tons of little restaurants and marts walking distance and the subway station is half a block away from the hotel. It only takes 20/30 mins. to get to the city.

In the morning we took advantage of the free continental breakfast. I thought we would just get the regular muffins, coffee and juice but they offered hot items too. They even had a waffle station! It was the perfect amount of food to start the day.

When we returned to our room in the afternoon the room was serviced and we had fresh towels. Housekeeping serviced the room as if we were checking in as new guests.

Friendly staff... Clean hotel... Good location... Free breakfast... Free WiFi... I would definitely return to this hotel and I highly suggest it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VlXxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We needed to stay near Prospect Park for a road race, so this was the most convenient - and we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel was immaculate -- the staff was among the friendliest I have ever encountered in my 40 years of traveling to NYC.

With a subway stop at the front door, we were in the city in no time when we needed to travel. There's a market and Dunkin Donuts in the same block, and a few blocks away is the Bagel Factory. Plenty of neat eateries, and a short subway ride to the Brooklyn Bridge and DUMBO area.

A word about the breakfast: Stick to the breads/pastries/yogurt, forget the hot stuff, just trust me on this one. And get your coffee at Dunkin across the street.

Otherwise, this hotel just moved way up my preferred stay location when I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank rml01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#18 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,064 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: 764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $132 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built in late 2010, our centrally located 99 room hotel provides perfectly appointed accommodations with sweeping views of the Brooklyn and Manhattan skyline. With On-Site Parking (additional fee) you can park, relax and take advantage of the New York City Subway System literally right outside our door, within minutes you could be anywhere in NYC and surrounding boroughs. Start your day with a complimentary Full American Breakfast and end your day from Manhattan or Business in our Sauna. Come see why the Best Western Plus Prospect Park is the right choice for you, your business and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing