We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great hospitality in Brooklyn”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brooklyn, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
nellis477
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in Brooklyn”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We needed a place to stay in Brooklyn near my sister. Since there are no hotels in this area of Brooklyn, we were in luck to find this rental. The pictures did not disappoint. The owner greeted us upon our arrival and provided breakfast essentials. Therefore, that was one less meal to worry about for a few days.
The place was clean. The pull-out sofa in the living room worked out perfectly to accommodate my 11-year old and 6-year old. Plates/bowls/silverware/and pots and pans were also provided. There are places nearby to eat and two grocery stores within walking distance.
We were able to walk to Prospect Park to visit the zoo and there's a subway near the park, or you can enter on Lincoln Street. We walked around at night and no one bothered us.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning Valley NSW
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands)
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SebiFreqT...
Basel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from Home, but in Brooklyn”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

“Going to NYC is often quite cheap, but staying there can cost you a fortune.” This is a correct statement if you think of a Manhattan hotel. Even shabby 3 star establishments will ask for more than USD 150 or 200 a night.
The perfect alternatives are B&B: Located in residential areas, where you experience the “real life” and not the artificial touristic window. John & Fraulein’s “Lefferts Gardens Suite” is such an excellent option, which I can only highly recommend:
(a) Spacious flat, located on the ground floor of a historic “brownstone” building, one dormitory with a double bed, a living room with a second couch bed, also very comfortable. The kitchen is between both areas, fully equipped (just the dish washer is missing, but you will not cook there huge dinners). Behind the house is the garden with sitting area and gas-fired barbeque stove.
(b) The “Lefferts Garden Suite” is on the not so posh side of the Prospect Park/Brooklyn. You might be surprised when leaving the metro station “Prospect Park”, because the main street – Flatbush Ave. – is the home of lots of immigrants from Jamaika, Dominican Republic and other West Indian isles. You do not imagine that you are in NYC. But the area is fully safe. On the other hand, the side streets (approx. 200 yards from Flatbush), where the “Lefferts Garden Suite” is located, look like an upscale residential area, where all houses are between 50 and 100 years old, everything is tidy and well maintained.
(c) John and Fraulein are living on the first floor; the kids are grown-ups, which have left the house. We were very nicely & perfectly treated. The B&B is not a classic B&B with breakfast prepared in the morning. Fraulein does it differently and better. The large fridge is filled up with every- and anything you might need for a healthy (cereals, milk, yoghurt, fruits, juice) and not so healthy (bacon, eggs, cream cheese, jam) breakfast – plus a wide selection of Brooklyn bagels. Wi-fi: Worked well in the flat (in the garden: depending on the weather, weak signal). Everything is well designed & clean. AirCon is available (we did not need it (last days of August, beginning of Sept.)).
(c) The subway station prospect park is in walking distance, 10 min., approx. 500 yards. On Faltbush (200 yds.) you find several grocery stores, fruit stores, an upscale deli with a wide organic selection, several basic restaurants (mainly West-Indian kitchen).
(d) Upscale bars, restaurants, live jazz: Park Slope area, two stations with the subway and then approx.. 5 to 15 min walking – depending on the place you are interested in. Park slope is real “Brooklyn”, locals dominate, tourists are a minority.
(e) Manhattan, mid-town: 20 – 25 min. by subway; JFK airport: 60 min. by subway (or taxi USD 50 – 60); taxi to La Guardia USD 40 (30 – 40 min.).
(d) Prospect Park is an ideal jogging ground, the distance to the park entry is about 500 yards (jogged 6 min.); one round in the park is about 40 – 45 min.
We were two, me (middle age) with a student, who lives in my house in Switzerland. We enjoyed our stay very much (1 week). We had the breakfast and night drinks in the nice back yard, no noisy traffic around, quiet, (during the day you may hear incoming planes to La Guardia), cats playing & teasing the squirrels. I am looking forward to my next stay in “Lefferts Garden Suite”.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scotland
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Carolina
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing