We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised. This hotel is very new, very clean and is very modern design. Check-in was quick and the front desk clerk was very nice. The rooms very also very modern but a bit small, but I think this is normal in the NYC area. My only complaint is that the beds seem to be double size not queen size and the center of the mattress is compressed, so when you have two people sleeping it was a little cramped and a bit uncomfortable. The hotel has a real nice rooftop patio with a nice view of the city. It was nice to sit on the roof and relax after a very busy day in the city. Breakfast was very good with all the things one normally comes to expect at a Fairfield Inn. Only complaint is all the hotel guest seem to come down for breakfast at the same time towards closing time, so it gets a bit crowded. Only had one waffle machine, so there was a bit of a wait to make a waffle. Overall found this hotel very nice and would definitely stay there the next time I find myself in the area.

Room Tip: We had an odd shaped end room with a large curved wall with lots of window, so in the afternoon the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150Mark_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    240
    58
    14
    17
See reviews for
218
128
29
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crittenden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

First time to NYC. Great hotel with parking at $25/day, 0.8 miles to Atlantic Station / Center for subway access to Manhattan or about anywhere (Union St R train is closer but access to downtown is closed due to repairs) Free continental breakfast is fantastic with local bagels, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and potatoes. Don't skip the salsa with touch of fresh mango. Plenty of fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, waffle maker too. Service is attentive and pleasant. Room very clean - no B word creatures here. Remember this is NYC so space is at a premium and this hotel is not spacious but gets the job done very well. Neighborhood looks a little rough for this country boy but we walked from Atlantic late night and all was calm and safe. Bright city lights, early east coast sunrise, and very large east facing window made sleeping difficult in spite of pull down window shade. I prefer total darkness but hotels never accommodate me. Anyway stay here Brooklyn is Best.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawallace19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our daughter and her family live in Brooklyn, and we had always stayed at the Marriott Brooklyn Bridge when visiting them. However, April 10-12, 2014, had no rooms available at our regular hotel. A search revealed, to our surprise, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott on 3rd Avenue in Brooklyn. That happened to be less than a 10-minute walk from our daughter's apartment [AND the same walk to the new Barclay Center where the Nets play basketball]. What a surprise and what a treat. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful on all points. The "food court" was on the lower level, but open above to the lobby area of the hotel, so we never felt like we were in a constrained space as we have in some hotels. Our room was clean and properly maintained. When we were ready to head for the airport, the front desk recommended a car service and made all arrangements then, with our consent, included that cost on our hotel bill at less than we had spent for a taxi coming in. We will certainly stay there again every time we visit our daughter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've stayed at this Fairfield Inn on a few occasions and this location definitely steps it up in comparison to others! The service is exceptional each time, the bed is crisp, and I'm greeted by the same staff each time. On my most recent visit I found Elexi at the front desk printing multiple directions for a tourist who was visiting NYC and offering them several travel options. She clearly made the guests feel comfortable and welcome. Rates are reasonable, the hotel is near 5th avenue and great dining, and the roof top lounge is a great place to relax. There's also a view of the Statue of Liberty in the distance!

Room Tip: Room service not available, but there are lots of places to order from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are a good size for the hotels in Brooklyn. Not too far from the Barclay center or the subway stations. The beds are extremely comfortable. Would love to stay there every time I'm in New York but is a little expensive.

Room Tip: If you can use AARP or any other type of discount do so
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have lived in this neighborhood for many years and never realized there was a hotel nearby until we had to vacate our apartment for a renovation. They were stupendous. Every member of the staff is friendly, kind, considerate and professional. My wife works from home and everyone went out of their way to make sure her "office" was set up and functional in our room. Having the hot breakfast on site turned out to be great and having the public spaces in the hotel be so comfortable made a three week stay in an hotel room surprising unclaustrophobic. Once it was nice enough to use the roof deck, the stay turned magical. That alone is reason enough to book the hotel. We actually miss our little hotel family! We hope never to have to have work done on our apartment again (like everyone says after their last job), but may run off for a "staycation" someday.

We don't have a lot of friends and family who need to stay in hotels when they're in town, but its nice to know there is a place walking distance that we can recommend instead of having to give subway directions.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, rooms with two beds are larger, management is very nice about showi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sltosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a great hotel if you are visiting Brooklyn, especially the Park Slope neighborhood. By the usual New York City standards, the staff were polite, friendly, and helpful, the room (1 King Bed) was unusually large, and the amenities everything you might expect and need. Parking was easy and reasonable. The rates were quite good, again given the usual New York excesses. The immediate neighborhood wasn't much but you are literally just a few blocks from the heart of Park Slope. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good corporate citizenship while maintaining cleanliness.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#12 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Address: 181 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing