We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Fairfield Inn in Brooklyn turned out to be a really nice place! We were so happy when we entered the lobby to see such an updated lobby. We did ask for a room on an upper floor after reading some reviews on Trip Advisor and there was very little noise from the street. We have a daughter who recently moved to Park Slope and we were worried that we were not going to find a place close enought that was nice. The Fairfield is that and more! We had a nice walk to my daughter's house and even though it probablhy isn't the best looking area we never felt unsafe.
The one complaint that is minor is that the bath towels were in need of replacing, they were kind of thin!
The bed was very comfortable and my husband really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning!
Thanks Fairfield, we will be back!

Room Tip: The higher floors do not get as much noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    238
    56
    14
    17
See reviews for
215
126
29
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife wanted a trip to Brooklyn for Christmas to visit the Brooklyn fleas so I obliged and settled on this place because we only wanted to stay one night and others had a two night minimum.
The trip to get there, however, almost ended in divorce as Google directions to find it had us hopelessly lost in the Red Hook neighborhood, adjacent, and fiendishly difficult to find your way out of without a lot of help (we don't have a GPS but will probably get one after this experience).
We were very happy with the hotel once we found it, and initially thought the out of the way location would be a horror but we came to appreciate it because that fact meant it was actually quiet and we could get a good night's sleep--something I've found very elusive in most NYC hotels. We did visit the fleas on a glorious Spring day and know we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjg1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay here when I visit my son and his family, who live in the Park Slope section of Brooklyn, only a short walking distance away. It is located in a light industrial area, which can be rather off-putting at first and even a little scary at night when walking by yourself. However, I have never had any problems. The subway station is close by and it's a short, convenient ride to Manhattan. Someone here is doing a good job, since the staff is nicer and better-trained every time I visit. The free breakfast is adequate and the rooms are very clean. Rooms on the lower floors can be noisy though; this time I stayed on the 8th floor and it was much quieter. 5th and 7th Avenue in Park Slope are within walking distance, with lots of fun shops and very good eateries. If you are looking for a more traditional hotel, this is not the place, but it is a well-run alternative to similar places I have stayed in the crazier parts of Manhattan. I do wish rooms included a fridge, a safe, and BETTER READING LIGHTS.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thoralby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel rooms are my home 6 months out of the year, as I travel for business frequently and on an extended basis. I rarely take the time to write a review...

Beautiful modern lobby, clean rooms, free dinner on wednesdays, and plenty of free parking around the hotel. Roof deck is beautiful with a fantastic view of the Manhattan skyline. In addition to the aforementioned perks, the staff here absolutely deserves two thumbs up. They consistently go out of their way to make your stay as easy and as comfortable as possible. I never walked by the front desk without receiving a smile or a quick comment to make me laugh, even at 6 in the morning. Kudos to this Fairfield family, Mike, Dennis, David and Sammy, 5 months from home was a good as it could be!

Room Tip: High floors have great views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominickB282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield for over 5 months and fell in love with the place. Each and every staff member was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean. Guest services always went above and beyond to assist in any way possible. The view from the rooftop is lovely.
With free breakfast, a free gym, free internet, and free printing, I chose to spend my entire stay here even when presented with an opportunity to move elsewhere. Parking was $25/night, which is much cheaper than anywhere in Manhattan, but there was enough street parking that I didn't have to use the lot and always was able to park less than 2 blocks away! Mike at the front desk never failed to make me laugh, and Dennis was always asking if there was anything I needed. The location was far enough away from the city that noise was never an issue, but it was close enough to popular subway stops and shopping areas that I wasn't disconnected from anything.
Even after 5 months of living here, I would stay at the Fairfield on my next visit to New York anytime. I miss that place!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB052210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Fairfield Inn & Suites to attend the A10 Men's Basketball Tournament. We could walk to the games. It is about half a mile. For some who could not walk, a car could be called to give them a ride. (Cost 8 to 12) The hotel was very clean and new. The staff was friendly and gave excellent service. Breakfast downstairs was a nice selection. They had scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, lots of muffins and pastries, etc. View from the roof was fun but it was so cold. Restaurants are a couple of blocks over. We found one we loved close to the Barclays Center. It was Convivium Osteria on 5th Avenue. We also loved Brooklyn Larder for sandwiches. Only negatives were the beds are soft and several times we could hear what sounded like loud drums and howling but that luckily was only during the day. When we checked out they willingly took our suitcases so that we could pick them after the final game. We are glad we stayed at this hotel and would again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is not like any other Fairfield Inn we have been to. It is modern, a high-rise with views of the Barclay Center. Walking distance to that venue is a plus, as are the selection of restaurants on Fifth Avenue enroute to the Barclay Center.

The staff is friendly, the ambiance is good, and you are fairly close to the subway system--less than ten minutes. We liked it!

Room Tip: We used our Marriott points for this stay. Although this hotel doesn't have a swimming pool nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Address: 181 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing